We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solway House is a home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solway House B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inveraray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solway House B & B
Ranked #10 of 16 Inveraray B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Solway House is a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We love Marg! She's very cosmopolitan and a bit of Renaissance woman. The king size room is huge. The biggest room you'll probably get in a small b&b in Scotland. The views of the lochs and mountains are lovely. The breakfast is tasty and so filing that we did not need to eat lunch. Marg has wonderful Scottish field magazines for your reading pleasure. There's a nice outdoor deck for chilling out. It's a short, quiet 10 minute walk to the main strip of restaurants. I would fly all the way bak to Scotland just to stay at Marg's place. I want to be her when I grow up!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JordieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
30
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Marj is a wonderful hostess, the house is fantastic, we have stayed in plenty in Australia and the uk and this is far better than most and most are really good, spacious rooms, huge bed, 5 min walk to good pub, pity Rod was away. If back this way would'nt look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We couldn't have asked for more from our visit to Solway House - good location, a warm welcome to a lovely house Marj designed and a great breakfast including homemade bread. The best part was chatting to Marj about everything under the sun! Even my hard to please boyfriend was delighted with my choice of B&B.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just had a lovely visit to Solway House - Marj is the perfect hostess and very friendly and hospitable. Very comfy beds and delicious breakfast. Can't fault the cleanliness and very attractive house. I'll be back - but in a good way!

Room Tip: The front room overlooks Loch Fyne and has a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Many thanks to Marj for a warm welcome and lovely stay at her lovely B&B. She could not have been any more friendly and hospitable and we were treated to a cracking breakfast each morning. The location of Solway House is perfect and the view of the loch from our room was gorgeous. We were packed off with a stack of freshly made bread for our journey home and enjoyed a lovely drink in the pub with our fantastic host. Many thanks to Marj!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Inveraray is a very nice little town and Solway House one of the best B&B we have found in our trip in Scotland. Rooms very large, clean and with a wonderful reception.
I suggest to everybody a stay in this B&B in Inveraray.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent two weeks in Scotland and Marj's Solway House B&B was by far the best place that we stayed. She is the sweetest most accommodating lady and it felt like we were visiting a friend. Upon arrival we did a big load of laundry. We had two typically Scottish breakfasts that Marj made from scratch (including the soda bread and stewed plums). We dined at The George Hotel and ate one of the best meals during our trip. Before taking off my partner and I both had back/neck massages. We were sad to leave the Solway House - but we know we will return again one day! Thank you Marj for everything! :D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montreaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inveraray Inn
The Inveraray Inn
#3 of 3 in Inveraray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brambles Boutique Rooms
Brambles Boutique Rooms
#3 of 16 in Inveraray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
No 15 Bed & Breakfast Furnace
1.6 mi away
Thistle House Guest House
0.0 mi away
Rudha-Na-Craige
Rudha-Na-Craige
#2 of 16 in Inveraray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solway House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solway House B & B

Property: Solway House B & B
Address: The Avenue, Inveraray PA32 8YX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solway House is a recently completed Bed and Breakfast in Inveraray which beautifully combines contemporary design with a tradition feel. The accommodation comprises two bedrooms both with attractive views and en-suite shower rooms, a communal reading area between the two rooms and a striking open plan kitchen diner with access to a south facing decked area. Beauty treatments are also available on site to ensure your stay is that little bit more special and relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Solway House B & B Inveraray, Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing