We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goos pub grub, excellent value”
Review of The Inveraray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inveraray Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Mauchline
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Goos pub grub, excellent value”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We recently stayed in Inverary and ate at this hotel for the 2 nights we were there. The George is everyone’s go to in Inverary but on looking at their menu the Argyll was much cheaper and much less crowded. The food was pretty decent pub food. Very reasonably priced and the staff were excellent. Good for kids too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules221974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    231
    171
    93
    60
See reviews for
100
377
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed here last night on a Groupon deal. The hotel was lovely. As expected with an old hotel it could be doing with a bit of tlc but the staff and atmosphere of the place more than made up for that. The room, on the first floor and towards the back of the hotel was warm, clean and comfortable. Clean bedding, towels and extra pillows in the wardrobe. Dinner menu was good for being on a voucher deal and the staff were very attentive. The restaurant and bar were welcoming and friendly, (possible only downside, not a good choice of beers). Breakfast was great, good choice of cereal, full cooked and pastries, coffee and toast. (didn't need to eat again til teatime). We also got a voucher to visit the castle which was interesting to me, not so much to my partner. All the staff were friendly and very eager to make sure we were fine (from the receptionist to the ladies cleaning in the morning and the waiting staff) Would defo go back again. Thanks for our stay

Room Tip: Go with an open mind, cosmetics don't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here as a groupon deal. Was worth the deal for the price we paid by don't think its worth the normal price. We used it as a place to sleep and rest, and was good for that.

The decor was dated and with it being a listed building they have no lifts for people who need it. Our en suite was very used with chips put of the what i presume was porcelain. Not great but was functional. Me and my girlfriend stayed here as a groupon deal. Was worth the deal for the price we paid by don't think its worth the normal price. We used it as a place to sleep and rest, and was good for that.

The decor was dated and with it being a listed building they have no lifts for people who need it. However the staff were really friendly and helpful. Would happily stay again if the deal was avail able was However the staff were really friendly and helpful. Would happily stay again if the deal was available.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Spent Easter weekend at the Argyll Hotel with a group on deal - rooms were a little tired and dated but everywhere was spotlessly clean and the fantastic food and excellent staff more than made up for this. Would stay hear again no problem. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailcrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We got a deal off Groupon and I have always wanted to explore a bit of the Argyle and Bute as it is criminal ignored by a lot of people. The Argyle is an excellent place to base your self for couple of days. I found the staff helpful, approachable and good sense of humour. The food was really good and value for money! Try the Muscles-yum.

Yes the room was a wee bit frayed round the edges, but you are only sleeping there! The bed was comfy, and the shower was hot. That what's matters. The bar is great place to relax after travelling about lochs, glens and standing stones of Argyle. Great Jukebox as well!

My advice is go up to the Argyle and Bute as most people seem to pass through rather visit, you will not be disappointed and wowed by the scenery

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brimcrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Nice enough staff, but this Hotel needs help. Not sure why they call themselves 'Bespoke'? I thought it meant 'luxury' in Hotelspeak. This hotel is far from luxury! It has all the trappings of minimum investment and concern for the experience of its customers. You just feel bad for all those overseas visitors that I'm sure expected much better. We certainly did!

Room Tip: Check your room before agreeing to take it. Our was the size of a broom cupboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Inveraray hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We went as a group of 6 adults on a 2 night groupon deal and value for money it definitely was. The Argyll is over 300 yrs old so its hardly surprising it has wonky doors and slanted floors,,its all part of the character. The views were stunning over the loch, the food was excellent and the service was great. We had 3 different rooms between us, all had their quirky bits but if you look beyond that you will have a lovely stay at the Argyll, I will definitely be going back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddictCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,429 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
12.9 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,141 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
364 reviews
20.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inveraray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inveraray Inn

Property: The Inveraray Inn
Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inveraray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Inveraray Inn is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, The Inveraray Inn is your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Inveraray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray
The Inveraray Inn Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing