We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“connect fest stay”
Review of The Inveraray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inveraray Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Aproached our stay with trepidation after reading mainly poor reviews on this site. However,these fears proved unfounded, and I cant thank the management and staff enough for making us feel so welcome on what was probably their busiest weekend of the year. We were lucky to get such a great room with fantastic views over the loch and castle,despite the entire town being booked out a year in advance.
We were made to feel welcome right from check-in,and our late nite drunken returns were always greeted warmly by the exceptionally cheery nightporter. Breakfast was smashing,never missed one! Staff always courteous and proffessional in manner -hope we get back in again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennymGreenock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 716 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

After reading very bad reviews on Trip Advisor about this hotel we planned to avoid it completely, however it was the only one available, so we resigned ourselves to arriving at Faulty Towers. How wrong and delighted we were to find that this hotel more than exceeded our expectations.
We arrived on Friday 25th July and stayed in Room 214, an executive room which was huge. The large double bed was very comfortable, had soft fluffy pillows, and the bed linen was crisp and white.
The bathroom was beautiful with marble tiled floors and shampoo, soap, bodywash etc. supplied. Excellent power shower and large bath.
There was a T.V. hairdryer, and tea and coffee making facilites with not only tea and coffe, but shortbread and hot chocolate.
The dining room was large and airy with views of the loch and table were again bedecked with beautiful white linen tablecloths.
Breakfast was excellent with the usual cereals, fruit, juices and yogurts etc. and whopping amounts of bacon, sausage, beans, mushroms, tomatoes, black pudding, eggs and fried potato scones. Table service was prompt, friendly and efficient.
There is a cosy little bar with a good selection a Scottish malts and very friendly staff and we also found Michael on reception to be friendly, helpful and professional.
The location was absolutely perfect and so quiet we could have been on another planet.
I am in agreement with previous reviewers in saying the hotel could do with a lick of paint and perhaps the installation of an elevator and if we were paying £150 per night then we may have expected that but the rate we paid was £79, less than £40 each and right in the peak of the season. We would have no hesitation in recommending and returning to the Argyll.
Bethspoon.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bethspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

Never risk the lottery of the Argyll. Just back from 2nd stay, after the 1st was a total nightmare. 2nd visit was a freeby as compensation, but was awful. Was told Cottage 1 on the ground floor was lovely but infact, is filthy, very dated and needs totally gutted. The room carpet was so dirty that my girlfriend wouldn't walk around with her bare feet. On the final morning, just to top things off, we arrived back at the room after breakfast to find the ceiling in the bathroom was leaking from above. The one good thing we could find in the place were the staff who were friendly and helpful. We put it all down to lack of management. Over both trips we never saw a single sign of any manager showing interest in the running of the hotel. We were promised that everything had changed and improved but in actual fact, nothing at all had or is likely to change.

However, we loved the town of Inveraray and would love to go back one day, but never ever to the Argyll.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank Edinburghlad39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We were really disappointed that this hotel was far from what we were expecting (the images on their website really built up our expectations!) Whilst the receptionist who checked us in was very professional and friendly enough, this didn't compensate for the freezing cold room (with broken heater), which was really small and in need of some refurbishment (very 80's chintz). We requested to move to a room with heating, but were told the hotel was full and given an electric heater, this was great until there was a power cut in our section of the hotel - the room was sooooo cold we slept in jumpers and couldn't even use the shower as the bathroom was like antartica. To top it off breakfast was very mediocre and nothing to write home about. Not a great experience and certainly not worth £70 a night.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank JoeGBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2008

The location of this hotel is wonderful and the views of the loch are great as we had a second floor room. The receptionist confirmed that they had no lift and that we would have to carry our own cases up the two flights of stairs, rather dangerous as they are of the spiral type, no help was available. However (room 205) which seemed OK at first had a floor which went up at one end by at least 9 inches. It was a family room with a double and one single. The single bed was at the high end of the room and the double at the low end but the bedside table between was at quite an angle and the television was just about managing not to fall over. You really don't think to ask if the floor is level when booking a room! As I was with my sister, who has meniors disease, we had to change rooms the next day even thought we only planned to stay two nights the tilt on the room was just too much for her balance.

Apart from the floor the windows were nailed shut which was rather frightening and we had carpet in the bathroom and a rather suspect insect which came from the fan!!

However, are new room on the first floor which also had a wonderful view of the loch was much better and the floor was level. The staff are very nice and the breakfast was lovely, but we were the only people in the dinning room. On the second day two gentlemen arrived at reception and they were invited to view their room but we were not given this opportunity!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbeyHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Arrived at the Argyll Hotel after a long drive to find that my reservation had been cancelled and I had been 'bumped' to a B&B on the edge of town (which didn't do dinner). The reason given was that they were fully booked with conference guests. Didn't they know this when my company booked the room? Oh, it was an 'administrative error', sorry. To add to my woes on a dark, wet November night, they gave me the wrong directions to the B&B!

I retold the story to locals next day and they were amazed that we'd booked into the Argyll in the first place! Try the 'George' next time they advised.

btw the B&B 'Creag Dhubh' was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Thank mistahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2007

The room i booked which was an executive double ( room no. 215 ) was described on the website as having stunning side views over Loch Fyne when in fact the view was a car park, no site at all of Loch Fyne. Also the Cupboard which you can hang clothing in had a really strong smell of dampness, although the room was very clean as was the bathroom which had an excellent shower. The staff were pleasant although communication can be a bit difficult as they are mostly foreign, but that set aside our stay was enjoyable as some of the walks and sites are stunning. This is a really gorgeous part of the country. We were given a complementry drink on arrival which was nice and the food was nice.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank ParadiseMunrobagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,555 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
12.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
449 reviews
20.4 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
8.5 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inveraray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inveraray Inn

Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range: $92 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inveraray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Inveraray Inn is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, The Inveraray Inn is your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your The Inveraray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray
The Inveraray Inn Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing