We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please dont go”
Review of The Inveraray Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Inveraray Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The first building you see as you approach Inveraray over the bridge is The Argyll Hotel, please don`t stop there for a drink , a coffee, or a meal
The building is sad , in need of refurbishment, and a deep,deep clean inside
We stopped for a drink in the lounge bar The Hotel has an unenviable position overlooking the Loch but the conservatory at the front of the hotel is no more than an entrance and does not have a comfortable seating area, just dining tables and chairs with tablecloths, no cutlery etc ,it is starkly lit,and uninviting, a great opportunity missed to tempt the weary traveller.
Whilst I went to the bar to get drinks, my wife sat in a chair at one of the windows to have a look over the views of the loch The windowsill was covered in dead flies and wasps, the paint was flaking from the windows ,which were difficult to see through they were so dirty, the dust on some of the chairs was so thick it had , had to have been there for months.
There were 4 chairs ,2 tables and 3 coasters in the small area in which we were sitting with sticky surfaces all around, AND the carpet was covered in debris, we left soon after arriving !!!
Take my advice don't stop at the Argyll ,keep on driving ,there are other places to eat or drink

Room Tip: Cant comment on rooms etc as we did not stay Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (709)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 709 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

I recently had a DBB stay at The Argyll Hotel in Inverary. There were eight of us in three double rooms and a twin. From arrival, we were made to feel very welcome by the reception staff. This continued throughout our stay. As we were a little early for the check in time, we were able to leave our bags while the rooms were being prepared.
The hotel has started an upgrade and our four rooms were in various stages of refurbishment but it's plain to see that it will be very nice when completed.

The public areas are pleasant and very comfortable. There was a good choice on the dinner menu and food was well prepared and presented. Breakfast was also very tasty and offered a variety of hot and cold buffet.

The situation of the hotel is ideal, overlooking Loch Fyne and providing wonderful views, peace and tranquility. I would recommend a stay at The Argyll Hotel as you will be made welcome and will definitely get value for money.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a loch view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Room was a bit dated but this isn't a new hotel. Problem with heating in our room was quickly addressed to our satisfaction. Staff couldn't be nicer and actually recommended the entertainment at a rival hotel!. The service and food were excellent. Cost of drinks was reasonable too. Our deal included a visit to Inverary Castle which I'll review separately. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Booked this hotel for trip down memory lane with voucher which assured us we were getting a special half price deal. However when we arrived the room turned out to be in a small annex called the cottage which meant the room was as small as was possible to get basic double bed to fit with heavily combed ceiling and a dirty broken window. Access was up a narrow stair and furnishings were old and poor. On the plus side we did find the second pillow hidden in the wardrobe.
The dining room looked dull and so we ate in the bar which was better with reasonable pub food Staff were friendly but overall the hotel very tired . Would not recommend,and do not expect to get a room in the advertised hotel rooms if you go on a special deal. Very very disappointed and delighted to be home.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

got this deal online £79 plus we paid an extra £10 for a loch view please ask for first floor, we had a lovely room it wasnt huge but big enough for a weekend, sheets and room was very clean, we got shown up right away after arriving about 3.30pm, dinner was 7.30 or 8pm as there was a wedding on , we prefer t eat later so 8pm was fine. I really enjoyed my meal pate then salmon and desert, my husband paid £8 more for steak and he isnt a fussy person but the steak was nearly raw !! when he asked for medium, what let this hotel down was the staff in the dining room who did not have a clue they put a steak down to my husband then realised it was for someone else and whisked it away just as he was going to put his fork in it. so dont pay the extra for the steak, wine was superb we had a red cant remember which one but was about £18 we then went out to the George a livier pub and got chatting to a couple. great thing about this deal was we got vouchers for the castle and that would have cost us £20 !! so in the morning we got up for breakfast large selection of fruit juices cereal fruit and also the buffett hot meal, when something ran out they were quick to replace it and i only needed to wait 2 minutes on a fried egg, also there was sausages which i did not like, bacon was good black pudding yummy beans tomatoes and fresh toast brought to your table with jam and marmalade and a pot of tea each. on a whole the breakfast was good value considering what we paid, and also the late check out at 1pm, if you dont want breakfast stay in bed or get it to your room haha, i went back thinking i could go back to sleep but couldnt but it was nice and relaxing not having to rush to go away, husband got newspapers and sat downstairs and had a nice read then off to the castle, got home about 5pm, a great overnight, i might add the receptionist was brilliant she was foreign but i dont know from which country, but the staff they have in the dining room some spanish i think were not on the ball, which did waste it a bit, we had to ask for our wine just before the main course came

Room Tip: i dont think this has a lift so i would ask for a loch view first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arabia1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked our wedding lunch here. From the time of enquiry until the actual day we experienced professional and friendly service. We had contacted other venues and their very slow and disinterested attitude made the decision easy. Robbie, Margaret and all the other staff made our day extra special. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced as the portions were very generous. We will always pop in when we visit Inverary, Great staff and food!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight on a Glasgow's Great Deal. It was well worth the money for the deal as the food alone was excellent. The staff are all lovely, polite and friendly but the the hotel itself is in need of an overhaul. Our room had everything we needed but was small and dated. Our dinner was faultless and even though a surcharge was added for the mussels and the steak, it was worth it. The hotel is ideal for an overnight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inveraray
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,532 reviews
12.8 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,236 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Creggans Inn
The Creggans Inn
#1 of 1 in Strachur
444 reviews
8.5 mi away
Taychreggan Hotel
Taychreggan Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kilchrenan
396 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#1 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inveraray Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inveraray Inn

Address: Front Street, Inveraray PA32 8XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Inveraray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inveraray
Price Range: $76 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inveraray Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally designed and built in the 18th Century. The Inveraray Inn is one of the finest and most historic hotels on the west coast of Scotland, located in the Royal Burgh Inveraray. The hotel offers traditional quality accommodation with 36 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. Whilst sitting in the conservatory, you will witness spectacular views over Loch Fyne. With welcoming friendly staff, stunning views and delicious food, The Inveraray Inn is your perfect getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Inveraray Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Inveraray
The Inveraray Inn Argyll And Bute, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing