We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a look.”

Auchindrain Highland Farm Township
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Inveraray
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Auchindrain is the only surviving example of a Highland Farm Township that was not abandoned or modernised, and is now preserved as a museum and run by an independent charity. The 21 acre site offers visitors a fascinating insight into life and work in the past. Auchindrain is a conservation project in progress, and we pride ourselves on being true to history. We're not a theme park or a glitzy commercial attraction. If you don't like the idea of gritty realism please don't visit us and then leave a bad review because we're not something we don't claim to be.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our visit was somewhat marred by the simultaneous arrival of a busload of schoolkids who noisily commandeared virtually every part of the attraction. As there were classloads, we literally couldn't enter some of the exhibits as there were so many pupils inside. We were offered a refund to be fair. However, on return to the cafe / shop unit to get the refund, we again, were met by dozens of schoolkids queuing to buy souveneirs. The lady in the cafe proceeded to serve every one of them before she attended to us (even though she had been informed by a colleague that we were waiting for a refund). This took some 15 minutes for her to deal with all the children. When we did eventually get her attention, we declined the refund but accepted the offer of free cuppa instead. Sadly, even the coffee was cold when it was served. Not, therefore, impressed with the level of service we received. The place itself is fairly good. Wouldn't bother buying the catalogue - all the info thats contained in it is duplicated on the walls of the exhibits as you go round anyway, so only buy if you want a keepsake. There are highland cows, sheep and hens within the compound too - we were lucky enough to get up really close to the cows and hens, neither of which seemed fazed by human presence at all. Entry fee is £6 per adult.

Thank alfakitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuchindrainTownship, Manager at Auchindrain Highland Farm Township, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We are extremely sorry your visit was disappointing in the way you describe. We knew at the time you were unhappy, which is why a full refund and free coffee-and-cake was offered on the spot.

For the record, you were here at the same time as a group of 36 primary school children and four teachers. They were undertaking pre-planned learning activities within three of the buildings, but these buildings were not closed to other visitors. We said this, and indeed encouraged you to join the peat-fire baking demonstration organised for the school, but appreciate your reply that you had not expected the place to be full of school children and did not want to be around them.

The school had come a considerable distance and they were working to an extremely tight timetable. I am certain this is why, in the Visitor Centre, the children were allowed to make their souvenir purchases before you were attended to, but do accept you consider this to have been inadequate customer service and feel you should have been given priority. The member of staff concerned has been firmly advised to this effect, and apologises for the poor judgement-call made in the pressure of the moment.

The information contained in the guidebook is actually not reproduced in the buildings. The boards in the buildings offer a great deal more for those who want it, whilst the guide is a summary designed to read as one moves around, with a little bit for each point you reach.

On some days Auchindrain is quiet and peaceful, with very few visitors. It is unfortunate that you came on a day when we were really quite busy, and it is hard to know what more we could have done to please you. Our offer of a full refund, which you declined, remains open - please do contact us to claim this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 141 of 181 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great cafe, great stocking fillers and safe to stop if kids snoozing in car. The staff were so charming and helpful.

1  Thank damseloli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

A|s open air museums go not the most spectacular but probably the most interesting. Nothing brought in from the outside, everything is how it was when people lived here. There's also a good cafe.

1  Thank GordonStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a special place. You are allowed to roam freeling andtake your time to try to imagine how life must have been not that very long ago. I garee, more could be done, but understand completely howdifficult it is to have a place like this going with little funding. So, it might be worthwhile a plea for diverting a bit more money to projects like this - it's so much easier to let history come alive in natural surroundings than by looking at photographs in museums! And in reaction to another review, I find it difficult to understand why kids should get bored in a place where they can enact living in the old times, without a guard restraining them in every corner!

1  Thank MK1Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great, unspoiled and peaceful place. Walking into the township, following the map, and looking around the houses, which are named after the previous tenants, you can still feel and imagine the lives of the people who lived and worked here. Makes you reflect on how they used to live, compared to our lives now. The staff were friendly, a good selection of goods in the gift shop, and lovely art exhibition, and a welcoming large pot of tea on a cold day. The only inhabitants now are the sheep and chickens. Would love to come back when they have an event on and people dress the part. I wrote a blog post about my visit: http://creatingruth.wordpress.com/2012/10/03/homes-of-our-ancestors/

1  Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auchindrain Highland Farm Township also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Auchindrain Highland Farm Township? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing