We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend break”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have been to many hotels in Scotland, but the first in this area, and it was the most welcoming one we have stayed at. Ian and Nick were great hosts and you just felt you had been there many times you were treated like old friends. The hotel position is amazing, it will be lovely in the Summer with the views. Rooms were cosy Breakfast ( freshly made to order ) was great. We had Ruby the dog who had a very spoiled holiday and made 2 new friends with Ian and Nicks beautiful Dalmations. If we are up that way again we will certainly go back to the Argyle.
.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lincluden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the past, mainly due to its stunning location on the beach with the most amazing views.
What a surprise I had this time!! With new owners, Ian & Nick, I got a lovely friendly welcome and the new re-decorated interior is superb!! Warm, welcoming, comfy, clean and very tastefully done.
I would recommend anyone to stay here.........the food is fabulous and if you have dogs they get as warm a welcome as you will!!
Well done boys!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballyr0nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My experience of Kintyre is considerable - mostly caravan holidays from the late 60's til the present at a nearby site, well within striking distance of the Argyll Hotel. I have been a frequent visitor over the years, whether bed and breakfast, lunch, dinner or just a pint and a game of pool. I have always found the hotel at least satisfactory but that has changed now. From the personal friendly welcome from the guys, to the change in decor in the pool room, the new layout in the conservatory or the much needed update to the bedrooms, the feeling is one of a modern, trendy hotel as opposed to the friendly pub type atmosphere of previous times. The difference is marked. As a professional musician my view of hotels tends to be a bit biased but when an old favourite gets a re-vamp like this, you just have to sit up and take notice. For anyone visiting this beautiful and oft neglected part of the country - go and try the Argyll. You'll only want to go back to this outstanding hotel, and congratulations to the boys for making a great place perfect.

Room Tip: I think that anyone staying here would be very satisfied with any of the rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

A warm welcome from Ian & Nick overcame the wintry Atlantic winds hitting this historic Hotel, dramatically sited at the edge of the ocean. The two new owners are revitalising and renovating this wayside inn, providing good food, an interesting cellar, and comfort for long and short stays.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Taking over/opening a restaurant in Kintyre encounters problems at the level of both supply and demand. Supply because of the distance from markets and the difficulty in engaging properly trained staff; demand because the population base is low and the tourist season, such as it is, comparatively short. It is these problems which have seen the demise of many enterprises and ensured the mediocre quality of many of those that have survived. And simply throwing money at failing or defunct businesses does nothing to address these basic weaknesses. I am, therefore, a cynic when it comes to trying out the local hostelries. I was, therefore, pleasantly surprised today with my lunch at Bellochantuy where I encountered good food and genial service, not to mention - o rarity in this part of the world! - decent real ale. The solution adopted here is, of course, the only that could possibly work in these circumstances: the total dedication of committed owners. But what dedication is required! How many will have given up after toiling for a while in such conditions. One can only wish the two chaps all the best, and also remind them, if they need it, that they have only just started. Much remains to be done to convert the old place into a first class boutique hotel. But the promise is well and truly there. Go for it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelTait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Have been travelling to Kintyre for over sixty years and have stayed at the Argyll a handful of times in the past where it could only be described as mediocre bordering on poor.
Under the new ownership of Nick and Ian this hotel is absolutely transformed to a complete gem of a place to stay in a stunning location. The welcome was warm, personal and friendly. They are not just "dog friendly" but positively "dog welcoming" and even our neurotic mutt chilled out within minutes of arriving and stayed that way for the 24 hours we were there.
The location is breathtaking with the Atlantic crashing on the shore 30m from the patio area and dining room windows and a great sandy beach to walk on and stunning views over to Gigha, Islay and Jura. Our room was comfortable and clean and the lounge and dining area was welcoming and atmospheric.
The dinner menu was simple but gave a good choice and the food was just delicious. Cost of dinner was very reasonable (£17'ish in total for three courses) and the service was seriously good - friendly and helpful. Breakfast was out of this world - big plateful, well cooked and topped up by home made marmalades made by the owners (try the red grapefruit and mandarin marmalade). The Argyll is a hotel where the owners actually want you to stay and be part of the place for the duration of the visit.
Turn left at Lochgilphead and make for Kintyre - it's a stunning part of Scotland - and make certain you stop at the Argyll. It is a real gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: For dog owners whose dog doesn't like stairs, stay in room 9 - first door on left just in the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AilishhII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was a visit to celebrate our recent birthdays and again the Argyll doesn't disappoint.
The hosts Nick and Ian go out of their way to make you feel welcome not just as customers but as friends.
The menu is varied and the portions are just right with the locally sourced food cooked to perfection.
The prices are reasonable and the overall quality is good making this venue one not to miss.
The view from our window table in the dining area was stunning and will take your breath away in all weathers.
Visit on a Sunday to see those shorts and smile :)

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Sciroccogt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
8.2 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
24.8 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
280 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
233 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
296 reviews
8.0 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 19 in Campbeltown
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: $98 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Argyll Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Argyll Hotel sits on Bellochantuy bay, 10 miles north of Campbeltown on the beautiful Kintyre peninsula. It is a small hotel with eight bedrooms, most boasting sea views of the Atlantic across to the islands of Islay, Jura and Gigha. The conservatory restaurant and lounge area give panoramic views of the ocean and islands too. A great place to chill and relax and of course to eat, with lunches and dinners served daily. Sit on our outdoor terrace and listen to the waves cascading onto the white sandy beach of the curved bay. The terrace leads directly onto the beach where you can walk off your dinner or build up your appetite before dinner. A great place too for children to play or to walk your dog. The hotel dates back to the late eighteenth century when it was built as a coaching inn and has remained as a hotel to this day. Modernised over the years, the hotel still retains the feel of an old west coast hotel with is cosy snug bar, but has the modern conveniences of en suite rooms with TV, free wi-fi access and an affordable restaurant meaning you do not have to leave the comfort of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing