We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Argyll Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Carradale(Campbeltown)
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$157
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Arms Hotel(Campbeltown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Glens Hotel(Cushendall)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
244
64
9
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
64
9
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconservatory restaurantdog friendly hotelislay and jurawarm welcomesandy beachpleasure of stayingperfect hostsstunning locationthe atlantic oceannothing is too muchfish piehomemade jamsfeel welcomeowners and staffamazing viewsboth nightsthree courses
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
307 - 312 of 328 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the Argyll Hotel many of times both in the hotel and the self catering caravans. Loved every minute of it, perfect location as right on the beach.. Both our dogs had a fab time spending the days on the beach. Great service in the hotel.. Meals were delicious and staff were friendly. All in great place.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weedee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were in the area for a charity event, first trip to the area, will def be back. The hotel is cozy and traditional in the main areas but the added conservatory gives some of the best views I have seen anywhere in the world.
The owners are friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The food is great home cooking, Lentil soup almost as good as my Granny's.
The all the accommodation is good and comfortable and suitable for all types of travelers. We stayed in the self-catering, which was well equipped, would only recommend that you let people know what they should bring, ie milk etc, or provide at an extra charge? Would be a handy option. Our friends chose to stay in the hotel and loved their room. Thank you for a great stay. We will hopefully be back asap.

Room Tip: Ask when you are booking what they think would suit you best? They are very honest and helpful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We travelled down to Campbeltown in a motor home, and had experienced an unfriendly hotel, whose manager didn't want to serve us as the van might encourage others !!. There was no need to worry at the Argyll. Dinner was excellent,with good food, well kept beer and friendly staff. The barman went out off his way to help and advise us about parking and local amenities. Breakfast too was excellent in quality and quantity. The views were breathtaking and I would certainly stop there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hotel sticky, tacky, yuckey!!
Staff friendly, manageress very grumpy.
Location and views wonderful. Food good but overpriced.
Hotel passed being tired. In need of complete makeover.
We won't be back and do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeegieGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Lovely conservatory/dining room. Evening meal very nice, but priced up as 'Jubilee special' and they ran out of chocolate fudge cake after being open for diners 30mins! Table staff very good. Room 'tired' needs updating quickly but bed very comfortable.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view(ish) but ours also overlooked the kitchen yard + bins.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews