We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home and a welcoming hostess”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oatfield Country House B&B
Ranked #5 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have recently returned from a three night stay at Oatfield House. The house is a well-loved home and the pride of the owner Lesley in it is very evident. We were lucky to chose room 2 which is the largest of the three rooms (very large) and extremely well appointed. Breakfast is taken in the dining room at a stately table and there is snug tv room with a log fire for colder evenings. We never needed the tea making facilities in the room as Lesley was always quick to bring us a cup to the lounge whenever we arrived back after a day exploring. Cannot imagine that anyone would be less than delighted with a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeflash57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Oatfield Country House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 83 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Large homestead with large rooms. Tucked away about a mile off the road. We were made very welcome with a cup of tea and a snack. The nights were a bit cool and the host and hostess lit the fire for us in the guest's lounge room. Lovely breakfast including home-made porridge. Made very welcome by the family at all times and they respected our privacy. Sad to leave and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The welcoming atmosphere at Oatfield House was second to none, I was treated as part of the family and Lesley and her family were delightful, attentive hosts with extensive local knowledge and tips on all the best places to visit. It was rather rainy weather during my stay, but returning to a roaring log fire, accompanied soon after by tea, coffee and bisuits definitely helped me dry out. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, and there are electric blankets on the beds which must be a real luxury in winter to crawl into a pre-heated bed! The house and gardens were lovely; the sitting room and dining room carefully decorated with antiques, old books, maps and photographs. The breakfast including homemade porridge was delicious and plentiful, perfect in preparation for a day of exploring. Overall, easily the best B&B I have had the pleasure to stay in and would highly recommend, worth every penny.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Lesley and son George treated us like long lost family. They were great host and did a fantastic job taking care of all our needs. Although our room was small it was clean and comfortable. The house is a good example of an 1800s manse.

Room Tip: Choose the pink room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Had a lovely stay at Oatfield, High standard, friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

No evening meals but breakfasts are good and wholesome.
Rooms are quiet and spacious with good views. Stayed several times and would go back again too. Delightful owners and the Shelties love apples and strokes.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but one has bath only so need to check. Single beds also only have soingle duvets...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallacech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight at Oatfield House which is a lovely old mansion house near Campbeltown on the Southend road. Leslie & John are delightful friendly hosts. Our bedroom was large with lots of charming features . Very quiet with no traffic - slept really well Super breakfast with real porridge seated at huge dinning table and served at a time to suit our needs - early. Nice dinner at Craigard Hotel in Campbeltown.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajkedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
2.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
14.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
22.8 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
296 reviews
3.4 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
228 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oatfield Country House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oatfield Country House B&B

Address: Oatfield House Southend Rd, Campbeltown PA28 6PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for something a bit special? Oatfield is a small Scottish Country House set in its own private grounds and enjoying a quiet rural situation, just outside Campbeltown. Built in 1780 for the local laird, it has been fully modernised yet retains a wealth of period features and charm. Fully en-suite. Cosy guest sitting room with roaring log fire. Breakfasts served in an antique panelled dining room. Centrally heated and with free WiFi throughout. A walkers heaven. Private parking. Scottish Tourist Board four star accredited. Sheer tranquility... If you're looking for interesting, comfortable accommodation with a warm, friendly welcome and a great breakfast, you'll be delighted to have discovered Oatfield House! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oatfield Country House B&B Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing