We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good points, some bad...”
Review of Ardshiel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardshiel Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I see there are quite a lot of mixed reviews about Ardshiel on this site and I would agree that there are some very good points which are well worth mentioning, however, there are some bad points too. I always aim to write a fair review so here goes:

Good points first! The hotel is very close to town and harbour and there is parking available. The waitress/bar staff were very attentive and polite, going out of their way to be nice and welcoming. The breakfast was lovely, the full Scottish breakfast was plentiful and tasty. The check in and check out process was straight forward and fast. Evening meal was reasonable and I particularly enjoyed smoked mussels for starter! They have excellent selection of whisky available and their house red is very nice. The bar area is very nice and they have a lovely garden. Our room had some nice views.

Now the negative points...we had room 9 and although the room was clean and had everything you would need, it was very small with low parts to ceiling. If you are tall then this room would be difficult to move around in. The bathroom was also extremely small and had no heater. The room was in need of an update. Also, we came home one afternoon at 4.30 in need of a shower and freshen up to find our room wasn't serviced even though we'd gone out at 9.30. However, this was promptly sorted when it was pointed out. I thought it was quite expensive per night.

All in all this is a nice place but I'm sure there are better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL_Apple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 221 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Popped in for evening meal with friends while visiting bonnie Kintyre recently and was surprised to see how altered the decor is inside. I enjoyed many a meal there in the seventies while living in Campbeltown and used to love the relaxed atmosphere, all delivered by friendly and welcoming locals. It was wrong to believe that it would have remained so, but to have changed so much for the worse? The soul of the old building has been ripped apart and replaced by a decor that is more suited to a city centre chain. Don't get me wrong- the owners appear to have spent an enormous amount of money on it, but they would have been better investing their money upgrading the existing fittings and they would have retained the warmth and character of the place. The owners themselves, while welcoming, appeared a little untidy and uptight. The waitresses, all young girls, were friendly enough and said the right things but it felt forced and unnatural. We were asked if we enjoyed our meal before we had barely time to start. As for the food, I hear you ask? I remember traditional, good quality bar food of the unpretentious type, steak pie, haddock-and-chip-type meals with good, honest portions and not overpriced. Again I was to be disappointed. What is on offer now is food that is anything but tasty or honest. To look at the varied menu, we thought we were in for a treat, but alas that was not to be. As someone who loves cooking, I chose sea bass-my friends, salmon and lasagne. All dishes even novice cooks can produce with relative ease. Not so here. The sea bass, which was filleted and contained no more than two mouthfuls for a man like myself, was accompanied by half a dozen "prawns,"- actually, mass produced shrimps. The lasagne was "globular" and as far away from a traditional lasagne as I've ever seen, and the salmon was overcooked and dry. The accompanying potatoes were akin to marbles and the frozen chips hard in the middle. The unimaginative and bland vegetables were not much better. All this for the price of an upmarket city restaurant! Perhaps I expected too much. Things never remain the same, I hear you say? There seemed to be others at tables around my party who appeared content with the fayre, but I believe anyone who enjoys good, honest food at home in a relaxed environment would be wise to avoid the Ardshiel nowadays- they'd be better saving their money and enjoying fish and chips elsewhere, before going on to one of the many local bars where they'll be made welcome and feel relaxed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just back from a lovely weekend, booked into the Ardshiel hotel the staff were very friendly and they couldn't be more helpful .The food was excellent and so was the service. The hotel itself is lovely very clean and in the rooms you have clean towels every day . They have a fantastic whisky bar and staff are very knowledgeable . The hotel has gorgeous view and a lovely garden at the back. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definatley be returning .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Was very privileged to hear Archie McAllister and friends play in Ardshiel Hotel on 17 August 2012. Got a rare treat to hear the best of Scottish Traditional Music in a wonderful setting next to the famous whisky bar. Disappointed with lack of attendance with such esteemed performers playing.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank drumlemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We selected this hotel so the men could sample the best single malt whiskey selection that we have every seen anywhere and not have to drive afterwards. The hotel is located in town within walking distance of everything. An upgrade is needed to the rooms, however, with peeling paint and a musty smell in ours. It’s an old lady of a small hotel, perfectly acceptable but showing its age with lots of wear and tear. The staff is accommodating and go out of their way to please. Just don’t expect American style polish or décor. The new hotel in town at multiple times the price will provide that if you really want it and is wihin a few hundred yards of the Yardshiel bar. But, you will pay the price for the rooms and this hotel will do if you're not fussy about the wear and tear.

Room Tip: If you're tall, stay away from rooms under the eves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

stayed here for two nights recently and with the exception of reception desk when we signed in everything was top class. Room was huge and well furnished, breakfast was excellent with good scottish friendly service, and the bar was the best stocked malt whisky bar I have come across. The loch view was outstanding and the hotel is excellently positioned within the town.

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had asked for a room with a view of the loch and indeed that's what we got. However the room smelt of cigarette smoke - not engrained in fabric but the previous occupant had ignored the 'No Smoking'. we reported this to the on duty manager who apologised profusely and was very angry. We were immediately offered another room still with a loch view but not quite as good. The room was very large and well furnished. The hotel itself is near the harbour just a short walk from the centre of the town, the garden was welcome as we had some nice warm weather. Plenty of car parking. The bar, which specialises in whisky has a Scottish theme but not OTT and over 400 different whiskys. The manager was very knowledgable and able to describe the different whiskys to suit your palate. The restaurant service was excellent with a good selection as good prices. If I had to have a suggestion it would be none packaged muesli (not Alpen) and more fresh fruit for breakfast. we would definately choose this hotel again. Well managed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.2 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dellwood Hotel
Dellwood Hotel
#11 of 19 in Campbeltown
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardshiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardshiel Hotel

Address: Kilkerran Road, Campbeltown PA28 6JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: $66 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ardshiel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardshiel Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing