We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”
Review of Ardshiel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ardshiel Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed two nights in Campbeltown at the Ardshiel Hotel. Our room was on the third floor, spacious and quiet. We ate both evening meals in the main dining room. Our selections were well prepared and served. Campbeltown is an excellent location for seeing the Kintyre Peninsula, especially the south end. The hotel is within a couple blocks of the downtown.

Room Tip: Check the hotel website for room description.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan36806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 221 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2011

Comfortable and very friendly small hotel - very accommodating, esp. when arriving late or leaving early.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We travelled around the coast of Scotland during May and this is one of the hotels we stayed in - We actually stayed in their overflow hotel 3 doors away called the Seafield. Ah! but actually we stayed in the Seafield's annex. The Ardsheil is a beautiful hotel and has won awards for the best place to drink whisky. Due to that they get very full so have purchased the Seafield as an overflow. At the moment that is being improved but they have already custom built 6 bedrooms in a building at the back. They are all beautifully designed and decorated but a little bijou. We were advised we could eat dinner in either hotel but as we'd had lunch at the Ardsheil and spoken to some extent about whiskies with the owner we decided to dine there which was excellent. Our room rate was reduced as at present we did have to walk the three doors up for breakfast but I feel sure things will be much better and all meals will be available in the Seafield shortly. It really was no trouble to us, especially with the discount and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Stayed here for business in May 2011. Excellent room, food was superb and then had a fantastic lesson on Whiskey drinking. Would highly recommend. Owner and staff are extremely knowledgeable and great company!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed here in April 2011 during a biking trip. It's in a nice area, near the harbour, and the staff were welcoming and helpful, with a family feel to it. It's quite dated in some areas, but the room I stayed in was fine, and clean, with en-suite bathroom which was clean and adequate. It isn't luxurios by modern standards, but sufficient for the price.

Despite being a Tuesday night, there were quite a few locals choosing to have an evening meal here, as it seems to be one of the best places to eat in town. I found the food to be very good, and reasonably priced.

In summary I would defintely this hotel, and from the looking around I did, it is one of the best in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broomthundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Nice hotel with a great bar and wholseome food in the restaurant. Staff were very helpful and friendly. But if you get a room on the top floor, it's a steep climb with heavy suitcases and, as so often in scotland, there's no lift.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttonwoodwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here in January 2011 to play golf at Machrihanish, and we were lucky to have picked one of the better hotels as far as Campbeltown was concerned. The town appears very run down and desperately in need of re-generation, can I also say that I can make that comment to some of the other hotels in the area, especially on the high street (White Hart & Argyll!). The proprieters Flora And Marion were very helpful and made us very welcome, the newly refurbished bar had an impressive selection of over 300 malt whiskeys. When we went down for a drink we were told that the restaurant was fully booked for a Saturday night by mainly local clients which in my opinion spoke volumes about the standard of food. They mananged to fit us in for a meal and the food was first class and very reasonable. The room was spotless and had a newly refurbished en-suite (room 6) bathroom with stunning views across Campbetown Loch. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was pretty had to fault also. There are no 5 star hotels in Campbeltown so if you want to stay over can I suggest that you will not go far wrong with the Ardshiel Hotel, it definately is one of the better hotels in the town, ideally located just off the main street.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRainman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.2 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dellwood Hotel
Dellwood Hotel
#11 of 19 in Campbeltown
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardshiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardshiel Hotel

Address: Kilkerran Road, Campbeltown PA28 6JL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: $66 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Ardshiel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardshiel Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing