We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great wee place to stay”
Review of Argyll Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Argyll Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Campbeltown
Glasgow
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great wee place to stay”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My colleagues and I stayed in this hotel and were initially worried as the photos on the website did not exactly sell the place. We had a great stay in a very clean, warm and welcoming hotel. The staff were really helpful and friendly and the rooms were spaciouse and clean (a wee bit old fashioned) but its Campbeltown and not Dubai you are in. I would certainly go back and also recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    22
    10
    8
See reviews for
6
15
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Worst hotel I have had the mispleasure of staying in. Run down, cold, unwelcoming, and the food was terrible. Had to go out for a sandwich after dinner it was so bad. Nearly killed myself in the corridors thay are so dark and dreary. Decor awful, rooms awful, bar awful, food awful but other then that.............

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tmacrory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Campbeltown hotels

stevenston
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Just like to say thanks to Val & Peter for making me feel welcome. Have stayed at the Argyll many times and have always found the staff and managament extremely friendly. Merry Xmas & Happy new Year to you all.

Jim
.

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jim166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

went to a wedding receptoin staff upstairs very nice owner most unpleasant man i have ever met.asked for 2 bottles wine he brought out small bottles when i asked him for 70 cl bottles he told me to make up my fn mind i will never set foot in this godforsaken hole again.rooms tatty carpet filthy wallpaper dark and dingy.dont touch it with a bargepole

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mojo044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My friend and I were on a trip to Campbelltown on our motorbikes. Due to an unfair negative review, we chose to stay in another hotel.However the Argyle Arms Hotel was recommended to us for good food. We paid a visit and met Valentina.She was very sociable and made us feel very welcome. The dining room was fresh and clean and the staff were very friendly, the food was well presented hot and fresh.After the meal my friend and I returned to the bar for more entertaining conversation with Valentina.
We are returning early next year and definately plan to stay in the Argyl Arms Hotel.
The message to you all is dont let unfair negative reviews put you off, go see for yourself

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzukibandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLASGOW CITY EAST
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Having just spent one night in this dark and murky hotel I'm just grateful it was not for any longer. It has to be said that the staff were very pleasant apart from the grumpy old guy that was on reception at night (most unpleasant). Breakfast was excellent and we also had some light snacks on the evening we arrived which was enjoyable and good value. Although I was not ecpecting the Ritz I certainly did not think it would be so dilapidated and would prefer not to have to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlasgowCityEastZena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed at the Argyll arms hotel with 2 friends for 3 nights, Found the hotel quite easily but what en eyesore when we walked through the front entrance. The hotel is VERY VERY dated. We Visited the hotel in the summer of 2003 & were not very happy, but after reading the trip advisor comment from the new owner (Mrs Wemys) which clearly states that they have spent a SUBSTANTIAL amount of money on updating the hotel, I do not see any difference to the hotel in the slightest. The rooms are exactly the same, though the cleaners do work hard to keep the rooms clean.
The wallpaper & carpets are old & worn out. The dining room is very nice but the carpet is in much need of repair!
Food was very nice but the menu is also in much need of updating, I feel the chefs may be creative but are not been given the chace to shine due to the style of the menu, It does not have any unique dishes or something different for people to try.
Staff were very friendly & helpfull, but it is not a good sight to have a cleaner standing at reception for the duration of our evenings chatting to the waitresses, stinking of smoke & drinking juice.
Nice place but a lick of paint & a bit of understanding would go a long way.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missmaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
11.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
209 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Arms Hotel

Property: Argyll Arms Hotel
Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Argyll Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for your accommodation requirements the Argyll Arms Hotel has a vantage location on the Main Street of town. There are 25 en suite bedrooms, all have colour TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and direct dial telephones. At the rear of the hotel is a private car park. The spacious, elegant dining room offers the best of Scottish Fayre. In addition to a cosy lounge bar, the cocktail bar with its associated function suite is the ideal venue for functions, weddings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Argyll Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Arms Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing