We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & service, shame about the decor.”
Review of Argyll Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Argyll Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campbeltown
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Stayed at the Argyll arms hotel with 2 friends for 3 nights, Found the hotel quite easily but what en eyesore when we walked through the front entrance. The hotel is VERY VERY dated. We Visited the hotel in the summer of 2003 & were not very happy, but after reading the trip advisor comment from the new owner (Mrs Wemys) which clearly states that they have spent a SUBSTANTIAL amount of money on updating the hotel, I do not see any difference to the hotel in the slightest. The rooms are exactly the same, though the cleaners do work hard to keep the rooms clean.
The wallpaper & carpets are old & worn out. The dining room is very nice but the carpet is in much need of repair!
Food was very nice but the menu is also in much need of updating, I feel the chefs may be creative but are not been given the chace to shine due to the style of the menu, It does not have any unique dishes or something different for people to try.
Staff were very friendly & helpfull, but it is not a good sight to have a cleaner standing at reception for the duration of our evenings chatting to the waitresses, stinking of smoke & drinking juice.
Nice place but a lick of paint & a bit of understanding would go a long way.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmaryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 84 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2009

We booked a few rooms for a group of 15 for 2 nights. OK the rooms may be on the small side and a bit dated, but are in the process of upgrading.Friends got the last available room- the honeymoon suite- and wow it was huge with a huge bathroom.The rooms are so clean as is the ensuite. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept on in a hotel. Breakfast was typical scottish fayre and plenty of it. We ate in the dining room on the second evening and the food and service could not be faulted. The dining room was busy with locals too, so that tells us it is good. OK this hotel may not be the "Hilton" but for the price it was really good value. Only negative was some of the rooms are over a public bar, which at weekends can be noisy at "chucking out time". We would certainly stay here again should we need to visit Campletown again. It is great to visit a hotel where all the staff are locals. We all had dogs with us and they stayed in our vehicles and the hotel were happy to allow us to do this and let them out in the car park.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinaW, owner at Argyll Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2009

We were very pleased to read your review.
Thank you very much and we are looking forward to see you again in the Argyll Arms Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Third visit, it keeps getting better & better.

Food excellent, good location, great when the sun shines (which was nearly every day). Hosts very helpful, a super mini break.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabsNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2007

hi, just stayed at argyll arms, four of us, for two nights. hotel clean food excellant, staff helpfull. doing transport road run 2008 dumfries- campbeltown, in september, have booked whole hotel, for our entrants. good luck to new owners maggie ross

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

stayed here while away with work. charged £47 for a single which compared with others in oban which charged half that it was terrible. its very old and run down though must have been quite a place in it's day, some 300 years ago. is worth going to see the wallpaper in the hallway on the first floor, felt ike i was in the shining and on acid!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: choisissez plutôt des bed and breakfast pour cette destination
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank memoleDolceMemole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
11.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
590 reviews
8.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
233 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dellwood Hotel
Dellwood Hotel
#11 of 19 in Campbeltown
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Campbeltown
Price Range: $102 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Argyll Arms Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect place for your accommodation requirements the Argyll Arms Hotel has a vantage location on the Main Street of town. There are 25 en suite bedrooms, all have colour TVs, tea/coffee making facilities and direct dial telephones. At the rear of the hotel is a private car park. The spacious, elegant dining room offers the best of Scottish Fayre. In addition to a cosy lounge bar, the cocktail bar with its associated function suite is the ideal venue for functions, weddings and conferences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Argyll Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Arms Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing