We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Argyll Arms Hotel(Campbeltown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Argyll Arms(Campbeltown)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Saddell House(Saddell)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gigha Hotel(Isle of Gigha)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Farmhouse(Cushendun)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (294)
Filter reviews
294 results
Traveler rating
212
64
12
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
64
12
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe black sheepsuperior roomsister hoteloverlooking the harbourlovely hotelcullen skinkmachrihanish dunesreception staffhigh standardhaggis nachoslocal stafffine hotelcorner roomfirst classugadale hotelfirst floorplenty of free parking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 294 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

hi. stopping in Kintyre. been to the royal twice now mainly for its proper yorkshire beer, the black sheep ale, brewed 14 miles from home in the yorkshire dales, realy pleasing to find a proper pub serving proper beer, not chemical lager. and real nice bar food to boot, the staff are a credit to the establishment, friendy helpfull and willing to help. thanks for two lovely bar meals and a reminder of what we are missing back home- proper ale. cheers from a true yorkshire man, "strong in t arm and thick in t head" kevin and family thirsk north yorkshire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norman848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were over playing golf at the fabulous Macrihanish Dunes and staying in the cottages at the golf courses. We decided to go to the Royal for dinner where we were not disappointed. We were welcomed by friendly staff in the bar for a few pre dinner pints. We then went through to the restaurant where there is a nice setting. There was a lot on the menu to choose from with all types of food for all people. On choosing the steak I was far from disappointed when it came. A great night was had by all and would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We were overwhelmed by the Royal in Campbeltown. It was so fresh and new, renovated about a year ago, but still smells like a new car. So many excellent details in the very large rooms. Beautiful cabinetry, huge windows did a great job of insulating any street noises. Very comfy bed. They gave us a fan on request, since we get warm at night. Huge bathroom with separate shower and bath tub big enough for two. Period plumbing fixtures were admired. Fantastic service like a 5 star hotel. Free shuttle to one of the recognized golf links courses in the world, also shuttle to airport 10 minutes away. 2 blocks from Ferry Terminal. Excellent views of the bay available. Enjoyed the restaurant so much, we ate there every night. Included breakfast with full menu, not just continental. They had an attentive staff that excelled with professionalism and charm. Overall among the many hotels we have enjoyed worldwide over many years, this would be in the top 5. Small town with a big heart, so I rate it a top-tier hotel.

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. Lots of sunlight in the corner rooms. Fireplaces in some rooms of the 1907 remodeled structure. Just ask.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed two nights in The Royal Hotel in Campbeltown, Kintyre, Scotland. The superior rooms are very good. Spacious, good beds, nice views and a good bath room. We celebrated our daughters 13th birthday here, and they made her a very nice birthday cake. Very good. Also lunch and dinner in the pub (The Black Sheep) and their restaurant was very much OK. The only downside was the breakfast. The cooked breakfast is very OK, but the continental breakfast is too poor, when you take in consideration the price of the rooms and the positioning of the hotel. No fresh fruit platter (only some very green bananas and hard prunes). No other choices for on toast but jam and marmalade. There's a point for improvement. But overall, nothing to complain. A very good choice when visiting Kintyre.

Room Tip: Did't see the other rooms, but superior rooms are worth the price.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

I want to thank you and many others for your kind words about our hotel and staff. At Machrihanish Dunes, we work very hard to provide the best accommodation, guest services and amenities possible – and we never stop looking for ways to improve. So your comments are greatly appreciated, and rest assured -- every comment is acted upon. We’re glad that you enjoyed your room, lunches and dinners – and that our cooked Scottish breakfast met your expectations. Many guests have told us that its quality is among the best they’ve enjoyed in Scotland. We are also happy that your daughter enjoyed her birthday celebration with us. Doing little things like making sure someone has a nice cake for their birthday is what we’re all about. We’re sorry to hear, though, that the continental breakfast didn’t meet your expectations. For the record, we try each day to offer a wide range of continental breakfast item choices ranging from cereals and pastries (croissants and Danish) to fresh berries, bananas, yogurt, coffees and teas. It is possible that we had run out of some of the items I’ve listed by the time you’d arrived. That does not happen often at all, but on unusually busy mornings or on days when our suppliers have sent us less than we’ve ordered, it is possible. This is a situation that we are looking at closely with an eye toward completely eliminating it, because we want everyone’s stay with us at Machrihanish Dunes to be perfect and to be the best hotel experience you’ve ever experienced anywhere. We will continue to welcome any and all feedback and to make adjustments until we exceed the expectations of each and every guest. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. I hope you will come back to Machrihanish Dunes soon and give us the chance to make your next visit even more enjoyable than your last.

Sincerely,
Greg Sherwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel situated at the end of the main street, and looking on to the famous Campbeltown Loch.

The staff were really helpful, the food was delicious and the actual bedroom was one of the nicest we have stayed in in the UK!The walk in shower was a dream, they supplied bath robes however they were too luxurious to walk about in. It was sheer luxury.

If you want a change from the hotel try the lovely cafe opposite the tourist information for the best fish we have tasted in a long time.

If you have an extra day or so why not take the kintyre ferry (no vehicles but do take bikes!) over to Ballycastle in Northern Ireland. £60 per return and well worth a visit. The pilot was a wealth of information on the entire trip. Go on Go on Go on!!

Room Tip: Room 111 has triple aspect.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryCan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews