We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding - make the visit to Campbeltown for this gem of a hotel!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Bute
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding - make the visit to Campbeltown for this gem of a hotel!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at the Royal with a colleague on a work visit and felt like I was on a mini-break. The accommodation is luxurious, comfortable and immaculate - traditional but contemporary - it oozes quality and attention to detail. The service from all the staff we met could not be faulted. Dinner was a real treat too. This hotel really puts Campbeltown on the map as a desirable destination for business or pleasure. I would highly recommend it and intend to return with family and friends. This is a winner for Campbeltown and south Kintyre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    55
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
108
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Although our booking had not been received from booking.com, we negotiated a rate for four single rooms. Excellent decor, but hate all the cushions and the throw on the bed, what is that all about? Very comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast, but surprised that links sausage is half a sausage only. However, overall a pleasure to stay at the Royal and a compliment to Campbeltown. Also enjoyed having drinks outside on the patio.

Helpful?
Thank wysiwyg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lovely hotel with rooms of the highest quality. Very friendly and efficient receptionist. Had a beef and horseradish bloomer for lunch and the beef was melt-in-your-mouth. Delicious! 3 days after our stay, a parcel arrived containing a pair of jeans my son had left in the room. We had not realised we had left anything but the hotels customer service cannot be commende highly enough for taking the time and expense out to return them to us. Fantastic!

Would certainly recommend this hotel for anybody visiting Campbeltown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank si-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked two rooms for single occupancy over the second May Bank Holiday as I was running in the Mull of Kintyre Half Marathon and was taking my cousin with me for support and needed separate rooms. We could not have wished for a better hotel to accommodate our needs. It started with my booking experience which was handled quickly, efficiently and professionally. On arrival we were dealt with great care and checked in very swiftly. We were asked if we needed help to the rooms but as there was a lift we declined. We were allocated Rm 33 and Rm 21. We both went to Rm 33 on the top floor to view the room - On entry we were blown away as the standard of decor together with fixtures and fittings were of an exceptionally high standard. Then there was the view........ This room is turreted and from the windows you have a panoramic view of Campbeltown Loch and Daavar Island - It was a glorious sunny day so as you can imagine it was quite something. Rm 21 is located at the front of the hotel and has similar views but not just as fabulous. The overall appearance of the room is similar to Rm 33. We had dinner in the restaurant which offered a very varied menu and were served by very attentive staff. The Prices were a little high but this was reflected in the quality of the food. Breakfast was part buffet/part menu selection and was most acceptable. I had requested a late check out for one room which I was advised would be confirmed on the morning of departure. This was confirmed at a small charge but on departure the charge was overlooked as a gesture to my achievement of completing the run. Completely unnecessary but most appreciated. I asked one of the team of three very nice chambermaids if one of them could help me to reception with some of my luggage and was overwhelmed when the three of them took a piece each and assisted me to the luggage room located near reception. When I tried to offer them a tip they were most adamant that it was their pleasure and would not accept my offer.
What else is there to say? Nothing - except to emphasise that the newly refurbished hotel deserves to be well patronised as it is in the most prominent position in Campbeltown and all the members of Staff I encountered were a credit to the Management.
I will return........... Jamie McLean

Room Tip: Room 33 is absolutely fantastic in every way.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed whilst on business at The Royal Hotel.

Small carpark to rear of hotel, on-street parking also.

Rooms was one of the best I have ever stayed in. Tasteful decor and well appointed.

Food was superb in hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamelaW31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the perfect hotel for a golfer who wanted to take advantage of all of the beautiful surrounding golf opportunities in the area. However, even if you were not a golfer, the Royal Hotel is an outstanding place to stay. The rooms are beautiful, well appointed and the beds are big, cozy and comfortable. The dining room and bars are excellent and well priced. The staff is friendly,very professional and eager to make you happy. Fiona, at reception was especially accommodating! This is a great hotel in a town that I may not ever get back to, but I am glad I have had the opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fscotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just a 2 day break but on arrival the reception staff put us at ease as they were very professional in every manner. We had room 34 which overlooked part of the harbour and as it was on the main st we thought noise would be a problem ,this was not the case as the double glazing took care of that. The room was spotless as was the an suite ,a bed and pillows second to none so a good was assured. Recently refurbished it oozes quality and the breakfasts and evening meals we had were of the highest standard . The quality of care by all the staff was excellent. The walls of the hotel have a wonderful selection of photographs /prints of old Campbeltown which was interesting. The area is excellent for wild life walks and of course golf . We had a wonderful time at the Royal and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnicol12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.1 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
20.1 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
8.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of Campbeltown and just 8 km from the award-winning golf courses of Machrihanish, the newly restored Royal Hotel provides unrivalled luxury accommodation to the Kintyre Peninsula. Enjoy marvelously appointed guest rooms, fine dining at The Harbourview Grille and spirited good times at The Black Sheep Pub, all overlooking the picturesque Campbeltown Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing