We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Food is a disappointment”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Food is a disappointment”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my second stay in the Royal over the past two weeks, I could not fault the rooms, which are to a very high standard and the staff, however, because I was there with business and on my own I ate in the restaurant each night, which is fairly expensive and for those prices you expect a high quality which it sadly is not. I sampled a number of items on the menu and there was nothing that was exceptional. I did mention this to the staff in the restaurant but was sadly dismissed. This element lets this otherwise excellent hotel down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg S, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your continued patronage of The Royal Hotel. We appreciate your compliments on the quality of our accommodation and are sensitive to the fact that you have continued to have disappointing experiences in our food outlets. It is our goal to offer the same high quality of food and service and share your frustration that we have not achieved that objective during your recent stays. We have reviewed your comments with the relevant culinary, service personnel and management and taken steps to improve our quality in food and service. Thank you again for your review--we hope that you will come back and give us another try in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    58
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
111
8
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My mate and I stayed here for one night during a golfing weekend on the Kintyre peninsula. From the moment we arrived, we knew the staff cared about the hotel and their guests as we were treated exceptionally well. The room was newly refurbished (as they all have been, I believe) and was to a much higher standard than the price suggested it would be. I've stayed at 5 * hotels which weren't as comfortable as the rooms here.
We dined in the on-site restaurant, where again the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the fantastic food on offer (the wine list was pretty decent too). We also popped in to the bar afterwards, which was busy (but not bouncing!) and had a well-stocked bar, again with very welcoming staff.
Over all, the stay could not be faulted. The room and bathroom were generous and finished to a high standard. Dinner and breakfast were both excellent, and the staff could not have been more friendly or knowledgeable. They even posted a shirt and charger that had been left behind with no prompting or sign of inconvenience.
Definitely a great place to stay in Scotland, especially if you're in this neck of the woods! We'll be back!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra few pounds to upgrade to a superior room - very spacious and well-appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiperDougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for a couple of days. This was our first time in this hotel and we weren't disappointed. We had a double room overlooking the harbour, the room was elegant and had everything you would require. Our stay was made more pleasurable by the the staff, especially Francis on Reception, who was extremely helpful with arranging bus times and ferry timetables for us - nothing was too much trouble for her and a joy to encounter someone so enthusiastic ! Keep up the good work, we will be returning soon I hope !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buttons159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Level Contributor
160 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Royal Hotel commands a magnificent position in Campbeltown overlooking the loch. What a pleasure to return to the "wee toon" and find it totally refurbished. We decided to have lunch and we were astounded by the changes. A lovely entrance and the servery for lunch v ery tasteful. Staff were excellent and a simple of lunch of fresh soup with a panini, coffee and a glass of wine was fabulous. Very fresh food and a really good experience. We have told all our family and friends in Campbeltown and I wish the hotel every success. Keep up the standard of service!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinLivingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was my first stay in the hotel and it was excellent. The hotel is tastefully decorated throughout, the staff are most friendly and welcoming, the food is excellent, and the bedroom was first rate. The hotel reopened last year after an extensive and expensive refurbishment. It has a lovely position overlooking the harbour and I immediately booked it again for my next visit to the town.

Room Tip: You need to be aware that the hotel is almost in the town centre, with a main road in front, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Best room Ive stayed in in years, it was massive, amazing view as its right on the harbour front. i had the best steak Ive had in years in the grill. the rate for the room was so cheap we've booked again to come in March. This Hotel is a reason to come to Kintyre!

Room Tip: they all have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on Boxing Day for two nights...the hotel is wonderful with very friendly staff. Amazing room, the comfiest bed iv ever slept in. Breakfast was great and all at a great price. The only niggle and one which they recognise but can't really do much about is the constant circling of noisy cars...our room overlooked the roundabout which didn't help but much to my surprise they didn't keep me awake, maybe thanks to luxurious bed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mairi1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.1 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
77 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
209 reviews
8.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#13 of 19 in Campbeltown
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of Campbeltown and just 8 km from the award-winning golf courses of Machrihanish, the newly restored Royal Hotel provides unrivalled luxury accommodation to the Kintyre Peninsula. Enjoy marvelously appointed guest rooms, fine dining at The Harbourview Grille and spirited good times at The Black Sheep Pub, all overlooking the picturesque Campbeltown Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing