We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find !”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and i stayed here for a couple of days. This was our first time in this hotel and we weren't disappointed. We had a double room overlooking the harbour, the room was elegant and had everything you would require. Our stay was made more pleasurable by the the staff, especially Francis on Reception, who was extremely helpful with arranging bus times and ferry timetables for us - nothing was too much trouble for her and a joy to encounter someone so enthusiastic ! Keep up the good work, we will be returning soon I hope !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buttons159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 283 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Royal Hotel commands a magnificent position in Campbeltown overlooking the loch. What a pleasure to return to the "wee toon" and find it totally refurbished. We decided to have lunch and we were astounded by the changes. A lovely entrance and the servery for lunch v ery tasteful. Staff were excellent and a simple of lunch of fresh soup with a panini, coffee and a glass of wine was fabulous. Very fresh food and a really good experience. We have told all our family and friends in Campbeltown and I wish the hotel every success. Keep up the standard of service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinLivingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was my first stay in the hotel and it was excellent. The hotel is tastefully decorated throughout, the staff are most friendly and welcoming, the food is excellent, and the bedroom was first rate. The hotel reopened last year after an extensive and expensive refurbishment. It has a lovely position overlooking the harbour and I immediately booked it again for my next visit to the town.

Room Tip: You need to be aware that the hotel is almost in the town centre, with a main road in front, and the...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Best room Ive stayed in in years, it was massive, amazing view as its right on the harbour front. i had the best steak Ive had in years in the grill. the rate for the room was so cheap we've booked again to come in March. This Hotel is a reason to come to Kintyre!

Room Tip: they all have sea views
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on Boxing Day for two nights...the hotel is wonderful with very friendly staff. Amazing room, the comfiest bed iv ever slept in. Breakfast was great and all at a great price. The only niggle and one which they recognise but can't really do much about is the constant circling of noisy cars...our room overlooked the roundabout which didn't help but much to my surprise they didn't keep me awake, maybe thanks to luxurious bed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mairi1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is our second stay in the Royal Hotel, beautiful rooms, friendly, attentive staff and lovely food. Having stayed at many five star hotels, this small hotel is a match for most of them. The staff are excellent, very welcoming and made our stay very special. Well worth the journey !

Room Tip: Worth having a superior room, very spacious.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 819kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in the Royal Hotel with friends to bring in the New Year. The room was great and the staff were more than helpful. Food was good but a maybe a wee bit expensive. There was a good band playing and the pipes were on hand to bring in the bells. All in all we had a great time even better that breakfast was served till 11.30am the next day. Well done the Royal

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank argyllgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.1 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
11.9 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
20.3 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
229 reviews
8.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Main Street, Campbeltown PA28 6AG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: $148 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The crown jewel of Campbeltown and just 8 km from the award-winning golf courses of Machrihanish, the newly restored Royal Hotel provides unrivalled luxury accommodation to the Kintyre Peninsula. Enjoy marvelously appointed guest rooms, fine dining at The Harbourview Grille and spirited good times at The Black Sheep Pub, all overlooking the picturesque Campbeltown Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing