We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“boutique hotel with excellent staff (and seals!)”
Review of The Putechan Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Putechan Hotel
Ranked #13 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a nice surprise after a week on Kintyre! A really modern hotel with touches of design. The staff is especially kind and after the well-being of the guests.

The rooms are equipped with large and comfortable beds. The bathroom is stylish with a good shower/bath.

The restaurant is excellent, both in quality of the preparation and in presentation and offers a nice view to the ocean. A big difference with the traditional Scottish food we came across a some occasions. The staff goes out of its way to be helpful and accommodate your individual requests,

A 15 minutes walk brings you to a location with seals. The hotel owner guaranteed us that we'd see seals, or otherwise he'd pay us a drink. No drinks for us, 'cause we got to see the seals!

An unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for The Putechan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 201 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I booked through 5pm deal. The hotel was all we had hoped for, The location was great for exploring the Kintyre Peninsular, the staff were excellent, and there was a reasonable selection of whisky. We stayed in room 4 which was really well decorated and had a balcony from where you could look over to the isle's of Islay, Jura and Gigha. Watching the sun go down, and taking in the ever changing views across to the islands, while sipping a lovely single malt whisky is my idea of heaven, It was just so peaceful we loved it and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms 2,3, and 4, all are elevated and face out to the Islands, however you do pay a small premium f...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you drive past this lovely Inn you're missing one of the loveliest eatery/sleepery/drinkeries on the West mainland of Scottish ....... You won't be disappointed. Warm welcome, modern comfortable rooms, views over the ocean to Islay and beyond not to mention the friendly accommodating staff. Never has black pudding eggs benedict before but will make sure I have them again.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank LORNA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After a long day travelling from Isle of Arran down the west coast of Kintyre and a back breaking walk down to bottom Mull of Kintyre, this charming in was an oasis for a tired tourist. Very easy to find right off the main hwy north. It has wonderful views over the water, lovely rooms and the owners were extremely warm and welcoming, even showing me pictures of the major renovations they undertook. They even made a good Canadian breakfast for me, tons of pancakes.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlander36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked through 5pm deal. The hotel is small but lovely decor and rooms comfortable. I stayed in a standard room as I travelled with my husband, my 15 yr old son and my lab Hugo and these are the rooms that take dogs. The hotel faces the sea and you can see the isles of Jura Islay and gigha. The weather was nothing short of fabulous and the sunsets were breathtaking. We ate in the hotel both nights after exploring each day and the food was very good.

We went seal spotting just 500 yards along the main road and watched them sunbathing. At the pier in Campbeltown my son and husband enjoyed squat lobster and fresh prawns before watching the fishermen and we watched the world go by. First time in this area but will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimmii0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Set by the side of the road on the western coast of Kintyre The Putechan overlooks a rocky beach and The Isles beyond. It offers comfortable accommodation with good size, modern furnished, rooms and huge beds. For a small extra premium the upper rooms have the advantage of better views of the breakers crashing over the rocks.

The restaurant provides a wide range of modern Scottish cooking using locally sourced ingredients, many of the dishes being prepared in quite an inventive way. Some of the more conventional dishes might be seen as “ordinary”, steak and chips is after all just that, although they did find a very nice twist with the haggis, neeps and tatties. Generally it would seem the more adventurous the dish the better the result, there were a couple of dishes that would not be out of place on the menu of some of Edinburgh's finer establishments. The wine list isn't extensive but perfectly adequate.

There might be (slightly) better food available in some city based Michelin starred restaurant, with fancy prices and over-attentive staff, but here you can eat well in a relaxed way and watch a setting sun daub a golden-red streak on The Atlantic. Really rather lovely.

Room Tip: Go for the upper premier rooms
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insidelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Putechan Hotel, which we got on an internet deal. The hotel was a pleasant surprise and more than lived up to the web information. I was very impressed by the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of all staff. We chose to eat at the hotel for both nights of our stay and were impressed by the fresh food available, particularly the seafood. Particular thanks to the chef who cooked the mussels off-menu to our requirements.

Our room was upstairs and has a lovely balcony overlooking sea, sunset and stars. We appreciated the comfortable beds and high quality sheets.

The gorgeous weather was the icing on the cake, however I would not hesitate to recommend either The Putechan or Kintyre as a great short break destination at any time of the year.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. Lovely views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magsy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
1.3 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
7.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
297 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
291 reviews
1.8 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 19 in Campbeltown
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Putechan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Putechan Hotel

Address: Bellochantuy, Campbeltown PA28 6QE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: $80 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Putechan Hotel is a former Duke of Argyll’s hunting lodge dating from 1872. It lies on the western edge of Kintyre facing the dramatic Atlantic Ocean with stunning views of the Isles of Islay, Jura and Gigha, together with incredible sunsets. It is surrounded by rugged grounds with an amazing pebble beach, strewn with giant rocks for our customers to enjoy. Take a walk along the beach or perhaps a BBQ while looking out for the dolphins and minke whales. The hotel, now under new ownership, has been extensively refurbished and extended, and can now offer a variety of bedrooms to suit different tastes and pockets; from the bridal suite with roll-top window bath looking out to Jura and Islay and balcony facing the ocean, our 1st floor premier rooms with balconies, ground floor doubles with sea views and a linked disabled room. We can also offer more budget accommodation in our rear facing rooms and ‘bunk rooms’. We also have a fully refurbished and extended Venue catering for a variety of events from weddings (up to 120 seated). Attached to the south wing is the sensational ‘Rock Room’ with one whole wall formed by a massive rock with French doors to the rear and front with stunning views over the ocean. The room seats around twenty and could be used for meetings, smaller intimate weddings, yoga/fitness work-outs, business meetings, or an exhibition hall for local artists. Tell us what event you want to run and we will make sure it is one to remember. The south-facing courtyard is a natural sun-trap and looks over onto the private beach. With practically no light pollution, and clever outdoor lighting systems the Putechan enjoys fantastic stargazing on a cloudless night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Putechan Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing