We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up !”
Review of Westbank House

Westbank House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Westbank House
Ranked #10 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Boonton, NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up !”
Reviewed December 6, 2007

My wife and I stayed at this comfortable guesthouse for 1 night only, the opening night of our Scotland-Ireland vacation and both felt it was one of the best accomodations of the entire trip. The room was spotless with a nice view over the town and harbor, the location was just a short walk from the heart of town and the breakfast was excellent. Best of all were the owners, very warm and helpful. Ask to see Bob's portfolio - he is an excellent photographer and has a lot of great pictures from the area.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boontonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    12
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
14
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We booked here after seeing reviews on tripadvisor. The others were so good I thought they might have been planted. Compared to an awful lot of Scotland's poor quality overpriced accommodation this was a gem. Large, comfortable, clean room with lovely view on to the owner's immaculate garden. Campbeltown itself has little to offer but it's a good point from which to explore Kintryre.

  • Liked — Room quality
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sno4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2007

warm welcome, excellent room with a nice view. very good breakfast and they even organised good weather!

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suyfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

This small bed and breakfast is ideally situated for the centre of Campbeltown, you can walk down the cul de sac into the main part in less than five minutes. If you want to use the car for exploring this part of Scotland, no problem and no problem parking upon return. It is a lovely house, with generous sized rooms. Pleasant breakfast. The staff were very helpful and allowed us into the room in the late morning to change clothes and leave our stuff, it made a difference to us. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavement-Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2006

The room was spacious and spotless, and although I am not usually a fan of floral decor, at Westbank it was tastefully done.
The bed was comfortable and I had a good nights sleep.
There is a residents lounge.
The owners were friendly.
The only minuses were that the shower did not have much pressure and that there was a carpet in the ensuite.

Overall - good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishTravellWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2004

Our stay here was made pleasant and comfortable by the very friendly owners , Mr & Mrs Goodman. Our room was immaculate and breakfast was excellent. I hope to return soon.
It is an ideal base for exploring the Kintyre area and seconds from the town centre. Very good value for money.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 14, 2003

A wonderful place to stay in Campbeltown while on vacation. The owners are so wonderful and kind, and they take great care of everyone who stays there. A+ service!!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.2 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#8 of 19 in Campbeltown
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#12 of 19 in Campbeltown
17 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbank House

Property: Westbank House
Address: Dell Road, Campbeltown PA28 6JG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Westbank Hotel Campbeltown
Westbank House Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing