We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word - dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craigard House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2009

could not guesstimate the last time the bathroom or bedroom was cleaned. If you like to stay in hotel rooms that have thick dust everywhere, dead wasps on the carpets, dont mind the previous occupants rubbish in the bin, and enjoy sitting in a lounge getting covered in dogs hair, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank weekender017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 234 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

We had booked the superior room and it was huge with fantastic views across the harbour. The room had a sitting room area which was really comfy. The bathroom was a good size too with a bath big enough for two.
The four poster bed was good but it lacked drapes, it had all the rails for them, this was a shame. The room had several radiators and plug in heaters, and a chest full of extra blankets, which suggested that it was cold in winter? Being July it was warm enough without turning the heaters on.
We had dinner both nights of our stay and it was excellent both evenings, the wine was reasonably priced but the whiskeys were expensive. Breakfast was fine.
Being family run it had a nice atmosphere with games in the lounge and a very friendly resident dog who was happy to take guests for a walk!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahflattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Having stayed twice at the Craigard House Hotel I would recommend it to anyone. It's not a glam, modern, multi-national chain hotel, but that is exactly what makes the hotel so warm and charming. Each room is uniquely decorated, the lounge has a homely feel to it and the restaurant serves a range of high quality meals with a stunning view of the bay. The staff are friendly and obliging. The hotel excelled when asked to provide packed lunches for our business trip they supplied us with a more than adequate meal, such personal service that is very difficult to find in many large chain hotels. Great job!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0405386m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We booked this hotel with a bit of hesitancy based on some of the horror story reviews, but we were pleasantly surprised upon arrival. We stayed in Room 15, which was newly finished in June. Perhaps some of the rooms in the older portion of the hotel are below this standard, but we have no complaints about our room (and wonder if they could really be as bad as some say they are). The only 'problems' were a streak on the bathroom mirror and two bulbs being burnt out. We did have a strange dripping noise on our first night, but we told Lori about it the following morning and there was no trouble the second night. The room was stylishly done and very clean. Roger apparently has plans for a set of new rooms and if they are done up to this standard, they should be very nice indeed.

The lounge was comfortable. We sat and enjoyed a dram of whisky and played a board game after dinner. It was very relaxed. We ate dinner both nights in the hotel and while the food was not gourmet, it wasn't home cooking either. For instance, on both nights, our fish was slightly overcooked and perhaps a bit over-seasoned, but the wine selection was good and the range of food options as well. Still, it was nice being so near to our room when dinner was over.

The hotel feels caught between being sleek and modern and being a charming updated maternity hospital. This is not a criticism, just a comment. It was very comfortable and worth a visit. The loch view is wonderful in the afternoon sun.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We booked the Craigard House Hotel after a recomendation. We have been to Campbeltown before and were really excited to be staying there as it looks beautiful from the outside. We are a young couple with a 5 month old baby.
We arrived and were made to feel as if we had intruded into somebody's house....the greeting was not very welcoming at all, we were told our room number and that was about it, no mention of meal times or breakfast. My husband asked if we had to sign in and we were told there was no need. This rang alarm bells to me as you need to sign in for fire and safety purposes.
We were given room number 9 Gigha and we knew it did not have a sea view but the view was to their courtyard which was like their dumping ground. The room was very dated and in need of a good clean, there was thick dust at the side of the dressing table and the toilet was manky....there was a toilet brush there so why don't they use it??? Oh and not forgetting a discarded apple in the corner!?!
We went down to dinner at 6.30pm and went into tthe lounge which felt like and old living room and then went through to the restaurant.....food was awful felt like it had come out of a tin! Now the fun starts...
We went back to our room to feed our baby and get her down for the night. We had the window open as the room was very hot and just as we had finished feeding our baby we saw some of the kitchen staff going out onto the hill outside our room to start a bonfire to burn some of the old furniture, suitcases etc that were lying there. The fire was started just outside the caravan where some of the staff were staying and to our absolute horror there was a calor gas cylinder 2 metres away...anyone remember what happened at Glasgow Airport two years ago???? This was also about 4 or 5 metres away from our fire exit. I immediately went downstairs to notify them of what was happening and asked them to extinguish the fire and explained that if they didn't I would have to report this to health & safety. Roger told me the fire was being extinguished and that it was near the caravan and it was none of my business and maybe I should leave......I went upstairs horrified, I was not leaving with a 5 month old baby and I explained this to my husband. I took a photo of the extinguished fire and Roger was shouting up to our room that he would like the two of us with our 5 month old daughter to leave and this was at 9.30pm. There was no raised voices by either of us but the reaction by Roger by uncalled for, he is such an agressive man. From then on everyone in the kitchen was staring up at our room and then Roger came out and was taking photos into the room....why?? We thought we should skip breakfast in the morning after threats from Roger saying "Remember I will be cooking your breakfast in the morning".
After a very bad night's sleep, wondering if they would start the fire again we got up and checked out at 10am missing breakfast of course.
I am absolutely horrified with this. My husband works away through Scotland and when he is away at weekends my daughter and I go along with him and I have never experienced anything like this.
This is being reported to the Fire Safety Officer, the tourist board and Trip Advisor.
Thanks for reading this and please do not stay at the Craigard..........

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank GEMC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

Oh just where do you start.
Roger is an excellent host - his team are professional, friendly and warm. The food is fabulous - the ambience of the old maternity hospital is just brilliant - so peaceful and calm. Then there is the Craigards location - stunning views over the Loch - amazing, the rooms are lovely. Its idyllic, Beanie is a wonderful dog - take her for a walk she will love you forever. Roger many thanks, Mike

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkerpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Our stay was wonderful. The spacious 'round' room (#4) we were in, on our 2nd night, was amazing. The king sized bed was positioned so that one could look directly out over the water. The atmosphere was inviting and relaxed.

Roger and Lori showed us great hospitality. Cocktails before dinner in the 'lounge', wonderful food served in a beautifully restored dining room and a dog and cat to make the picture complete. No wonder we stayed up until the wee hours chatting with them and the other guests.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seat_2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Campbeltown
84 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
594 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#16 of 19 in Campbeltown
20 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Address: Craigard House Hotel Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: $108 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing