We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culture and history in abundance!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craigard House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I recently visited Campbeltown on a business trip and was booked into this wonderfully converted mansion house. On arrival i was greeted with a warm welcome and sumptious breakfast, Which i thoroughly enjoyed. on entering my room i was pleasantly surprised, I found it to be spacious, comfortable and rather luxurious. Ater meeting the owners Roger and Lori, whom I found to be very inviting, I sat down to a wholesome meal, which again was delicious. Overall I cannot fault this lovely place and if I was to visit Campbeltown again I would be certain to stay at the Craigard!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Craigard. We know that your work takes you to many places, and are pleased you found our hotel welcoming and homely, and the food to your taste. We look forward to the pleasure of your company in the future. Many thanks for this kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Craigard House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here whilst in Campbeltown on business and booked through Laterooms! Glad I did!

Very welcoming reception by the lady owner, and offered fresh milk for tea/coffee in my room. I stayed in Room 9, and was impressed by the quality of decor and furniture. The provision of free wifi throughout the hotel was an added bonus too. Plenty of towels, dressing gown there if you want to use it and a large selection of toiletries too.

Guided into the lounge where given the menu, I was able to relax with a drink whilst my meal was being prepared. Sadly the Scottish weather did not allow me to enjoy what must be breathtaking views over Campbeltown Bay from the panoramic windows in the restaurant, perhaps a summer re-visit might be in order!

Food was of the highest quality, and the "house" Merlot was superb! Breakfast the next morning was of similar quality!

Check out was handled by the waitress from the Restaraunt and was handled proficiently. During my stay, any members of staff were courteous and very professional in their attitude towards me and could not be faulted in any way!

I will be back!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed your brief stay. We are always happy to offer fresh milk for the rooms, and know that the provision of free WiFi in rooms and public areas is an important requirement for many guests. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you again soon, and thank you for this much appreciated review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

I have no time to get into detail, but will never return, I am not happy to please, just so disappointed, staff so rude, never experience anything like it before, improvement needed in every area, I felt intimidated , I was so happy when my stay was over,

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank Toriu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

You were part of the same group as the previous reviewer. You and a group of colleagues were booked into our hotel by a booking agency. Your behaviour was such that we had cause to remonstrate with you directly. We have also complained to your employers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

By reading previous reviews I can totally agree very arrogant and rude staff would never recommend this place to anyone food was rubbish booked breakfast to be 5 minutes late to be told it was finished and I wouldn't be getting anything so more money out of pocket also really nasty smell of fish in the rooms can't locate the smell halls smell of pee don't know what class if people are there but honesty disgusted will NEVER visit again

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Weeman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Unfortunately, the unpleasantness of your review reflects your personality. You and a group of colleagues were booked into our hotel by a booking agency. Your behaviour was such that we had cause to remonstrate with you directly. We have also complained to your employers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was offering a good deal on one of the last minute sites and I'm glad that I did. Lovely atmosphere, like staying in a private house in some ways. Lounge was very pleasant to sit in and read a book whilst my dinner was prepared. Quality of the food was amazing. Very tasty. Friendly staff. Beautiful views out the huge windows. And the bill was less than half of what I would pay in Edinburgh for a similar meal.
Bedroom was fine, plenty towels, toiletries and I was pleased to find a dressing gown, a hair dryer and an iron when I opened the wardrobe door. Also impressed with the step by step guide to get the bedroom tv into satilite mode.
Would stay again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: My room (6) had a boring view view but was very quiet. And that is way more important to me.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

we went to this wonderful place called Campbeltown with 8 golfing friends; our stay was super, and Lori from the Craigard house hotel did all she could to make our stay the most enjoyable. we stayed in ths cosy hotel where they serve excellent diner at night ( compliments to the chef) and where the staff is very friendly and helpfull
we'll be back!

Room Tip: go for room nr 4, you'll love the view!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephaneB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel, having stayed there not long after it opened, and I experienced a bit of a mixed bag. I arrived after 9pm and, on arrival, was met by the Chef in the car park to ask if I wanted to eat in the restaurant (he had stayed on) which was a nice touch. The owner gave me my key, small talk not a strength me thinks, and directed me to my room which although large and clean was in the 'annex' of the hotel where everything felt a little bit lower in quality (shower too hot or extremely hot!) than the main building. Breakfast in the morning was excellent, wide range of both hot and cold, and the waitress was attentive and very pleasant. Overall this hotel is good, but could be better, and I would stay again but would ask for a different room and would have dinner in the restaurant as a way of thanking the friendly and thoughtful chef.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inverclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
80 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
576 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Douglas Hotel
The Douglas Hotel
#3 of 4 in Brodick
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
283 reviews
8.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
297 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Address: Craigard House Hotel Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range: $111 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing