We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Craigard House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The evening meal was to die for absolutely gorgeous the breakfast was outstanding the room and view was perfect the host's were very welcoming and friendly all in all a fantastic experience and I would highly recommend. Peter and Tracey Whitaker from Leeds.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pettc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay here. Our food is often complimented and we are very happy that you had an excellent dinner, followed by a great breakfast. Your stay was only overnight, but you seem to have made the most of your trip, and we are pleased that our welcome contributed to your enjoyment. If you get the chance to visit Campbeltown again, we would love to see you. Thanks again for this very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    63
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
24
93
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at Craigard House between 4th July and 10th July 2012. Excellent service from Lori, Roger and all the staff. We had dinner on 5 evenings and all meals were of a high standard. We had 2 nights in room 4, Bheinn Ghuilean and then moved to Room 3 as Bhein Ghuilean had been pre booked for these nights by another party prior to our booking. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others, and hope to return for another visit in the future.
This was a nostalgic return visit to Campbeltown for Peter for the first time in 50 years. Our stay at Craigard House ensured that this was a memorable and enjoyed holiday.

Room Tip: Bheinn Ghuilean is certainly worth the experience if your budget stretches to it. Views from this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are very grateful for this very positive review - it is always a pleasure to make our guests feel welcome and cared for. We're sorry you could not stay in Bheinn Ghuilean suite for the whole of your stay - but, as you discovered, it is a very popular room with a spectacular view, super king four poster bed and many other benefits. It was good to share your enjoyment of the food when you were here, and we look forward to the possibility of welcoming you once again to Craigard. Many thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was the most wonderful internet "find". We were made so welcome by Roger and Lori and their staff - nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is a "one of". Cosy and comfortable - a special place to relax. The food was very good - local suppliers are used wherever possible and the breakfast bacon and eggs proved that in colour and taste. Porridge was made from real oatmeal and was perfect. The dinner menu changed every day and the food was superb. Hasbar is a first class chef. Susan and Louise served our breakfasts and dinners with fun and efficiency. We intend to return to Craigard to be pampered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are delighted you felt pampered when you stayed here - that is the ultimate accolade for a hotelier! It is strange how different people have a completely different view of the same hotel!
We were very pleased that you enjoyed your room and the wonderful views, along with the dinners and breakfasts provided by our willing Chefs. Our staff work hard to create a friendly ambience at both dinner and breakfast, and we are very pleased that the menus created from local produce, and the personality of our regular staff, were to your satisfaction.
If you get the opportunity to return to Kintyre, we would certainly love to see you back. Many thanks indeed for this very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Location - excellent. Craigard is on a quiet road along the side of Campbelltown Loch, about a mile from the town centre but far enough away from the noise of local pubs etc. It's set above the road so the views from front facing rooms (including the restaurant and residents' lounge) are superb. The flip side of this is that the driveway is very steep with a hairpin bend halfway up. The owners were civil enough without being particularly friendly. The dog offers a "free guest-walking service" which you will love or hate depending on your attitude to dogs. Our room was clean and comfortable enough and a decent size. One problem was that as soon as you switched on the bathroom light (and you had to as there was no natural light) an extractor fan came on that was loud enough to be heard on the Mull of Kintyre - and it stayed on for ten minutes after you switched it off. The TV in the bedroom was the most complicated I've ever tried to use, took two remote controls to get anything much and offered about 20 regional variations on BBC1 all showing the same programme but didn't have many of the channels I get on my cheap Freeview at home. Admittedly you don't go to Campbelltown to watch TV. There again we didn't go to Campbelltown to listen to Radio 4 either but at breakfast we had no choice. Is it just a pet hate of mine, or is loud "background" speaking on the radio even more antisocial than loud music? It would definitely put me off going back here. I thought about mentioning it at the time, but having read some other reviews I'm maybe glad I didn't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigellachie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We are sorry you found aspects of your stay unsatisfactory, and find it unfortunate that you were not able to articulate this at the time. The morning radio is one of those things that if one guest makes a request, it then becomes difficult to adjust. But obviously all guests are entitled to an opinion, and we would happily have retuned it, or turned it off had you asked.
In respect of the TV, the digital TV works in just the same way as any other and has a similar number of channels - only needing one control. The digibox was available for guests before we converted to digital, and was very popular at that time, but perhaps has outlived its usefulness and could be moved. (Although it still has some channels not covered by Freesat and that is why it remains).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level Contributor
243 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This review is just for the food, NOT the hotel itself,

We were staying just outside Campbelltown and this place was recommended as the best place to eat in the area. If this is the best I would hate to see the worst. To be fair two of us ate, one had no complaints the other thought it was pretty mediocre at best. To be honest I thought it was terrible.

This place is in the heart of Kintyre and Scotland has a lot of water so why do they need to buy theirs in from a major national catering wholesaler who has it bottled in Shropshire? Particularly as their menu bangs on about their use of the wonderful local produce. This of course begs the question, what else do they buy in from this same catering wholesaler?

I had a crab salad with a very peculiar taste, quite cheesy, overpowering the flavour of the crab and bitter and quite unpleasant. I asked if the dish had cheese in it and on the third time of asking was told no but the chef added a ‘secret ingredient’ which he was not prepared to divulge! I don’t think the hotel owner was too pleased when I suggested it be taken out as it ruined the dish. Anyway, how did the chef know I was not allergic to this ‘secret ingredient’? He would have looked a bit stupid if I’d foamed at the mouth and died of apoplectic shock. Would he have told the inquest the ingredient was a secret and he would not tell what it was?

The surf and turf looked a good menu choice, rump steak with langoustines and scallops, yummy. Regrettably my shoes were quite new so did not need to be re-soled or I could have made use of the steak. I manfully chewed my way through as much as I could before the muscles of my jaw cried for mercy so I gave the wife a chunk; she had three or four chews and gave up, it landed back on my plate in much the same state that it left it. The langoustines were over cooked and rubbery in contrast to those I had at The Douglas Hotel on Arran the night before, which were cooked to perfection and were soft and almost creamy and to die for. The scallops were OK, nothing to write home about but were at least not ruined.

The hotel boasts three stars from the Scottish Tourist people so should have guessed the food would be only three star at best, I can only assume they eat out when they visit or they don’t rate the food as part of the overall star system.

In contrast and in the interests of balance, my wife had scallops with bacon to start and the sea-food medley as a main and had no complaints at all, an achievement with her as she is a frustrated chef.

It looks as though this place is a case of ‘you pays your money and you takes your chance’.

By the way, be careful on the driveway, the potholes are deep enough to break a cars suspension.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Well I am sorry we could not please you on this occasion, but we are happy your wife enjoyed her food. I am as sorry as you are that you did not enjoy your starter and, as you will remember, I reduced the cost of your meal - but I am surprised you did not mention at that time that you had not enjoyed your main course either. Incidentally, you can be assured that if there was a spring water bottling plant in Kintyre, we would be buying from there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel is a converted mansion with lots of old world charm but some minor issues. Room was huge and clean for the most part, except for stains on ceiling in one area. Mattresses and bed linens were a worn and could stand to be upgraded/replaced. Room was also very cold compared to public areas of hotel but the bathroom was warm, large, and very well maintained. DId not have dinner but breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Also appreciated the free wifi. Not a bad place to stay but not as nice as expected for the money.

Room Tip: Nice view of Campbeltown Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RivkaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori S, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, but will strive to improve. The maintenance issues you mentioned have now been resolved and new linens purchased.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Travelling with my mum and we stayed here for 2 nights in the Sanda room, which had excellent views over the loch and gardens. Very good as it has both a bath and a standalone shower cubicle, which my mum prefers.Also a double and single bed. Food excellent, mum wanted a prawn cocktail starter which was not on the menu and the staff could not have been more helpful in ensuring her needs were met. The langoustines were to die for. Lounge was most comfortable with a good range of reading materials including local guide books. The only slight downside was the driveway to the hotel had some potholes. Will certainly return if I am ever in this area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beanie100, Owner at Craigard House Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
This is the third time I have responded to this review - but for some reason the system has not picked up the response. Many thanks indeed for this very kind review. We are delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your trip to Campbeltown. The Sanda room has wonderful views over Campbeltown Loch. It is a spacious, superior room with a grand bathroom. Regarding the Prawn Cocktail - we are delighted at any time to amend our menus to please our guests. If anyone has a special favourite, or would prefer a different sauce or accompaniment to a dish, then - if we have the ingredients - we will happily change the advertised dish for the guest's preferred choice. We feel that this is the natural thing to do - as the guest is the important one in the equation! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to the possibility of welcoming you again. Many thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
77 reviews
11.2 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
8.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#13 of 19 in Campbeltown
11 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Property: Craigard House Hotel
Address: Craigard House Hotel Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing