We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome, excellent package!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigard House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Craigard House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Campbeltown B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, excellent package!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

This beautiful old house has been brought back to life. Just across the road from Campbeltown Loch, there are lovely views and nice rocky beach walks, with or without the resident dog. The lounge and dining room are very nicely decorated, and the stained-glass stairwell is amazing. There are lots of books and sightseeing ideas available. The bedroom and bath were small and not particularly exciting, but were clean and well equipped. We stayed on a fall package that included a 3-course dinner along with B & B, and our dinners were exceptional! Appetizers included fresh scallops and langoustine lobster. The Sticky Toffee Pudding for dessert should not be missed! The hosts were great about calling for golf reservations. We loved staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the water if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_Traveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    61
    28
    13
    12
See reviews for
24
86
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Craigard House. Our room (number 4, which we HIGHLY recommend) was absolutely gorgeous. We enjoyed the luxurious bed, the magnificent view, and the attentive staff. The food was delicous (both breakfast and dinner) and the location was great to explore all that Campbeltown had to offer. We were in Campbeltown for business and pleasure. We had our 16 month old daughter with us and she enjoyed exploring the town as much as we did. She had a highchair during meals and a travel cot/child bed was provided as well. We would love to return to the area and stay at the Craigard House. ps. I highly recommend the Onion and Thyme soup and the Halibut with prawns!

Room Tip: Room # 4 is breathtaking!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandBenHan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
357 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Had an evening dinner having booked for 7:15pm (not 7:30, either 7:15 or 7:45!). Our host welcomed us and invited us to relax in the longe as we browsed though the menu, as were a half-dozen other people. It was kind of like being in a waiting room, but very confortable and intimate.
Some time after drinks and ordering we were kindly invited through to the dining room, were a delicious dinner was served. Great atmosphere, soft and warm feeling.
Very very special.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My two sisters and I booked in at the hotel when we went home to Campbeltown to visit family this month and we all enjoyed our stay. The owners, Roger and Lori are friendly and attentive and responded positively to any request we made. Food is good and the staff helpful. It is a 3* hotel and that's reflected in the furnishings and fittings, however the stunning views over the loch and the retention of building's original features give it that something extra. My room was a bit dusty, but the bed was comfortable, the linen and towels spotlessly clean and to be fair I didn't complain about the cobwebs and the couple of spiders I found. I'm sure if I had, the owners would have responded positively and quickly to ensure my issues were dealt with without delay.

Overall, we had a good experience staying at the Craigard and as it used to be the local maternity hospital, one of my sisters found it really novel that the room she was sleeping in was the same one where years previously she had given birth to her children!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finlaysathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had 5 nights at Craigard House and had an excellent time. Extremely friendly owners who were very attentive and happy to advise on local facilities and make arrangements, where requested.

Breakfast and evening meals were all superb - as was the wine and drinks menu.

This is a family-owned establishment and all the better for it, in my opinion. We had an excellent room, overlooking the loch and whilst some of the furniture was a little old and 'creaky', that did not cause us any problem. Equally not all of the outdoor area is manicured lawn but there was still more than enough to sit out in the evening and enjoy the stunning views across the loch (weather permitting).

Definitely a special place and somewhere we would very much like to re-visit in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sloveniadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights. Probobly not much better to choose from in this area. Breakfast was very good. Freshly cooked and not greasy. Served by a very busy but very friendly waitress. Room was rather shabby. Typical of an old hotel which has become a money pit. Grounds and hotel could do with some major updating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seashell51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in the room with the bay window looking out over the lock and were pleased to have glorious sunshine to be able to appreciate it! Wonderful!

The staff (and owners) are friendly and helpful. The food is of a good standard.

The room we had, although lovely at first glance, was a little tired and could do with a spruce up (worn out arms on the sofa etc)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
0.7 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
11.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
BEST WESTERN Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#3 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Braefoot Guest House
Braefoot Guest House
#15 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigard House Hotel

Property: Craigard House Hotel
Address: Craigard House Hotel Low Askomil, Campbeltown PA28 6EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Campbeltown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Craigard House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An imposing 1882 Italianate Mansion overlooking Campbeltown Loch on the peaceful and beautiful Kintyre Peninsula. Stunning scenery, wildlife, quiet roads and beaches - and 13 comfortable rooms to come home to, all with bath, shower,huge fluffy towels, Neutrogena toiletries, bathrobes, Free WiFi and satellite TV. Enjoy the informal and intimate atmosphere of the Lochside Restaurant with lovely sea views and wonderful food. We specialise in local seafood, shellfish, meat, produce and game - as well as a comprehensive and welcoming Wine and Malt Whisky list. Classic Links Golf at Machrihanish GC, Machrihanish Dunes and Dunaverty await you. Lori and Roger look forward to welcoming you... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Craigard House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigard Hotel Campbeltown
Craigard House Hotel Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing