We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kintyre Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Campbeltown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kintyre Cottages
Cumbria
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Beautiful Coach House, overlooking the sea. Nice and clean with good quality fixtures and fittings but some things not quite right eg the kitchen sink did not hold the water. Small things which did not really detract from our stay. Very quiet and great fun watching the goats at the back of the house eating the leaves from a high tree! Will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank branleyite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
20
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Coach House Cottage. The location is excellent with sea views from the living room and master bedroom. We spotted seals and lots of birds on the beach at the end of the lane. The cottage is spacious and very clean. I loved the huge bookshelf! The farm manager (I think that was his title), John, was very friendly and even let us watch a lamb being born which was a wonderful experience! There were lots of useful information leaflets in the cottage too which we used. The kettle blew up while we were there and was replaced within hours.Just a couple of niggles..the tv was really small (but then we have got 46 inch tv at home so maybe I am a bit spoilt), a pint of milk would have been appreciated after such a long journey too. All in all, a great holiday home and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Archie's farmhouse....tastefully decorated, very clean, lots of space and lovely fittings. We're super fussy when it comes to accommodation and this passed with flying colours! Cate was really friendly and efficient when booking. The cottage has been thoughtfully decorated and very contemporary. Some niggly things here and there with the cottage not working but nothing that impacted on our holiday. We loved the space and would highly recommend it to anyone! We'd DEFINITELY come back

Room Tip: My only tip is to remind future guests that this cottage is most definitely on a working farm....Arc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Squizzmoths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Spent a delightful Spring week on Davaar Island in the Lookout Cottage. Beautiful location. The Lookout is a World War II lookout station that has been thoughtfully converted into excellent cosy accommodation.

As the name suggests, the views are breathtaking. Peace & quiet, and wake up to goats grazing outside the window. Great variety of bird life. Otters leaving their breakfast of sea urchins on the slip. Fishing boats going in & out of Campbeltown Loch.

I had been looking forward to a few rainy days where I could catch up on my reading in comfort. Instead, the weather was glorious for the entire period, with views across the Firth of Clyde to Ayrshire & beyond; can't have everything!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinuachdrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Absolutely idyllic location. Clean accommodation. efficient booking and helpful welcome upon arrival. The very attractive new owner/manager was an added bonus!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Beautiful cottage in an excellent location yards from and overlooking the sea. Views to Davaar, Arran and the Ailsa Craig.

The cottage was well provided for, the highlight being the cosy living room with a stove.

The cottage is an excellent spot to study the bird and aquatic life. Great Northern Divers, Seals and otters were seen.

Another plus is the close proximity 3-4 miles to the town of Campbeltown which is of great historical interest. - The town at the beginning of the last century had the highest per capita income in Scotland from Distilleries, Fishing, Coal Mining etc. This has resulted in buildings of stature and fine architecture. Local golf courses are also a great attraction at Southend and Machrihanish..

The town is currently going through a resurgence with a large amount of finance being spent on the refurbishment of a large hotel with a parallel hotel at close by Machrihanish going through a similar rebuild.

There is also a fast passenger summer ferry to Ireland.

Taking everything in I wholeheartedly recommend the cottage and the area.

Room Tip: There are a number of cottages in the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonaldDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed for a week in the New Orleans cottage in August 2010 (altough the date drop down doesn't go back that far? . We were the very first people to stay in the cottage following its extensive renovation, which prior to its refurbishment programme had laid empty for several years. We felt very special to be the first people in decades to experience the wonderful atmosphere and surroundings connected with New Orleans cottage.

Although the external grounds were not quite complete (the only down side - hence we received a slightly discounted rate) we simply loved the cottage, its stunning secluded location right on the coast, the quality furnishings and decor and the homely feeling made it a wonderful relaxing place to get away from the hussle and bustle of city life. Our days were spent walking along the coast line and our evenings were spent staring out to sea totally mesmorised by the sealife and wildlife..

New Orleans cottage is the perfect gettaway, and the best bonus, we could take our dogs. The only downside for us, is the price, however, the location is idyllic so can understand the premium rate. Sadly we cannot afford to make regular trips which would be our desire. We will definitely go back - perhaps in low season.

Highly recommended.

John, Julie, Oscar & Tobi

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MammaPig, Manager at Kintyre Cottages, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Hi - many thanks for your glowing review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed New Orleans Cottage despite the fact that it was so newly renovated back then. The garden is now completed, a fence to keep dogs in/livestock out, and plenty of spots outside to sit and enjoy the views and general peace & quiet etc. We would obviously welcome you (and your dogs) back (contact me about rates!) so please do get in touch if you fancy a trip our way again, many thanks once again - Kintyre Cottages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbeltown
2.6 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
2.2 mi away
Craigard House Hotel
Craigard House Hotel
#7 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Machrihanish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
12.7 mi away
Dunvalanree
Dunvalanree
#1 of 6 in Carradale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kintyre Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kintyre Cottages

Property: Kintyre Cottages
Address: Mull of Kintyre, Campbeltown PA28 6RE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Campbeltown
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Campbeltown
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kintyre Cottages is a family-run enterprise comprising of 9 self-catering holiday cottages on Kildalloig Estate, a 4,000 acre farm on The Mull of Kintyre. These cottages provide the perfect place to relax, unwind and enjoy all that the estate and surrounding area have to offer. Set against the rugged beauty of the sea and the wild landscape of the Kintyre peninsula, Kintyre Cottages provide an idyllic sanctuary, offering modern amenities and historic coastal charm. Surrounded by unparalleled natural beauty and sea views, each self catering cottage is comfortably furnished and provides wonderful character and history. For families Kintyre cottages provide the classic Scottish seaside holiday spot – with an abundant number of pristine sandy beaches (see activities) all within 5-15 minutes drive. All of the cottages have been thoughtfully and comfortably arranged to perfectly accommodate visiting couples, honeymooners, families, golfers, hikers, birdwatchers and other visitors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kintyre Cottages Campbeltown, Argyll And Bute

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing