We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a makeover”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
White Hart Restaurant & Bistro
Ranked #16 of 22 Restaurants in Campbeltown
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This place is really a tired old lady that used to be good but now with other places being modernised it needs major investment.

1  Thank BillH41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is the second time in as many months that we have enjoyed the '2 pizzas and a bottle of wine for £20' at the White Hart. I have to say the they were both enjoyable experiences. The service was helpful and friendly and the pizzas were really delicious. The only fault on both occasions was that 2 pizzas would have been enough for our party of 4, as they were enormous. That was no problem for the staff though as they provided 'doggy bags, for us to take home our leftovers. I'll certainly go back to this hotel when I return to Campbeltown.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We went here one evening whilst staying in campbeltown , the food was lovely and big portions. The service was excellent and nothing was any trouble.
We have been to Campbeltown a number of times as we have family there and each time we try somewhere new but on our next visit will definalty go back to the White Hart.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shelleypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a great time with new friends after the events in the Victoria Hall during the Campbeltown Music Festival.

Thank JacquelineC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Visited Campbeltown for the 17th Mull of Kintyre Music Festival with a few friends. Lots of bands playing day and evening including The Wee Toon Tellers, Alex and Archie McAlister who were all terrific and real crowd pullers. On Sunday we decided [a party of 10] that we would have our evening meal in the White Hart........big mistake.....the food was awful, we had to send the lasagne back to the kicthen twice as it was cold, the curry was, well not curry, don't mention the fish!!!!! the staff were trying their best as the place was very busy. Get rid of the chefs and get more staff. One table had to wait an hour between courses. We were not the only one's complaining. Come on management, get a grip of the situation.

    • Service
9  Thank Gateside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davideaton, owner at White Hart Restaurant & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2009

I am very sorry you and your party had such a poor experience.
All I can say is that this was possibly the busiest weekend of the year with several hundreds of visitors more than we would typically expect.
We had engaged additional staff but obviously these were largely inexperienced. As to the Kitchen I can advise that none of the staff then present are with us now.
Our current Chef is highly experienced and has maintained two rosette status on his own as well as working for several years till recently with Nick Nairn.
I hope that if you return you will try us again with a more satisfactory outcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Hart Restaurant & Bistro also viewed

Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to White Hart Restaurant & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing