We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Appin Holiday Homes
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Views to die for”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here in September 2011, took 2 days to get there, and from all of the reviews I was hoping for something different. The views over the loch are really something, if you can manage to loo k past the trees. If your looking for a holiday in a timber lodge, you may find it here, we didn't. The bedrooms had a musty smell to them, couldn't really tell where the smell was coming from, but ended up spraying the whole room with air freshener. Nothing wrong with buildings, just a tired look to them.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
We are sorry to hear 9 months after your visit that things were not as good as you expected. Your title says views to die for yet you then state that you could not see the view for trees so I am slightly confused! All our upper level lodges have fab views and we have lots of returning customers who return because of this. It is always better to raise a complaint when here as we are very accommodating and would have endeavoured to improve things for you if we could whilst you were here. If guests appear to be having a good time and say nothing and then wait 9 months before airing problems there is not a lot we can do. We are sorry you did not enjoy your holiday with us but wish we had been told at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
58
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

After a very last minute change of plan for a few days off work my husband I came accross Appin Holiday homes. Julie & Jim have a very beautfiul spot and cracking accomdation, there are a variety of lodges cottages and caravans.
We stayed in a lodge which could easily accomodate a family/group of friends however we enjoyed loads of space for just the two of us. Our lodge had obviously just been updated and was excellent, had absolutely everything we could possibly have needed.
The stunning views across the loch and the hills when you wake up and look outside your window are utterly priceless.
Appin is a cracking place for being in easy reach of some fantastic walks (Ben Nevis being the biggie) and bike riding trails and Jim has loads of advice as to where we should go next time. If your looking for an active few days then its a perfect base.

There is a lovely pub called the Creagan Inn literally five mins walk away which has a great deck to sit out on to enjoy the sunshine (we were lucky with the weather). We didnt eat there but all the food looked amazing.

For a peaceful few days close to everything you could want in that part of Scotland would whole heartidly recommend it.

We are already looking at our calenders as to when we can go back!
Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review and we do agree that we are very lucky to have such fab views! We are also blessed with some stunning walks and cycle tracks close by and it appears you made the most of them whilst here as well as enjoying some time at the local inn it is nice to sit out on the decking there on a hot day. So pleased to hear you are planning a return visit so see you next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Why go anywhere else, it's a treasure hidden away. Yes the lodges are in the process of being updated and when completed will only add to the enjoyment. Jim & Julie are a delightful couple who cannot do enough for you. Now the local pub has reopened you could not ask for anything more. Celebrating New Year here was tremendous. Looking forward to returning April/May. Thanks Jim & Julie for a truly relaxing break

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We have just returned from a week break in these lovely cabins and we loved it,in fact we loved it so much we are going back in may (hopefully the weather will be better) the owners are so nice and friendly and helpful with thing to do and see, the view overlooking the loch are beautiful especially in the morning, on our arrival mr weir had the place nice and cozy for us getting there late at night I know that doesn't take much but it's little things like that,that makes you feel welcome and at home

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scottnlouise2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review of our lodges and we are glad you enjoyed the views. We do try our best to make people feel at home and switch on lights and heating when required so everything is ready when you arrive. So pleased you are returning we have a lot of return visitors so hope that we are doing something right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The lodge we stayed in had an awful bed very small and uncomfortable.Needs new windows as they are mouldy which isnt very nice. However think they are in the process of updating the lodges and some of them had new windows. Living area was ok. Good view of loch but across an A road. Very good cycling around here lots of cycle paths. The laundry room was very poor, cold and dirty didnt feel I could do my washing there so came home with loads! The games room and children facilities need updating. But all in all was ok considering the price.

Room Tip: All lodges are above an A road and the loch is across this road so if you want just a loch view with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied when here. The double beds are all a standard size 4ft 6" so don't understand your comment about the bed being small? We have however replaced the mattresses in the upper level lodges with new memory foam replacements which are proving popular. The lodge double glazing has now been fitted to all units you will be pleased to hear we were sorry it was not completed by the time of your arrival. We were very busy until the end of September so could not start work until October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Appin hoilday homes are a little scottish treasure,and they are a credit to represent our tourist industry,They are a true and rare beauty.Discovering this idyllic place, we find ourselves filled with a yearning to linger here, where time stands still and beauty over whelms you,we have been going now for 7 years and we have a lot of the most wonderful family memeriors here in our photo albums, no price can be put on that, nor can you put a price on the warmth and kindness and wonderful welcome we ge tfrom juile and jim,Its the most picturesque beautiful place where you can just lose your self and relax,Its clean tidy and cosy with stunning views and a unique charm of its own.It is a Place that just gets better and better its enchanting where you see natures colours brighter the air softer and the mornings more fragrant its cleans the mind and soul a true hoilday in a beautiful place ! 10 out 0f 10

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Have returned here for years and have seen improvement upon improvement although it was always perfect for us. This is primarily down to friendliness cleanliness and the personal care displayed by Jim and Julie. They have always gone that extra mile to ensure that all needs are met. This time my husband was recovering from a heart attack and they ensured that I was met, assisted with loading to the caravan, given all medical contact numbers including their own (with 24/7 contact). This made me feel secure in the knowledge that they care about their individual holidaymakers (which I have witnessed with others) but are not intrusive. I suggest that if you visit here you will return because as well as being attractive to all ages and groups it gives individual attention something I have found lacking even in parks graded 5*.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank criticalmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottie67, Manager at Appin Holiday Homes, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Many thanks for your review it really means a lot to Jim and I. See you when your hubby is better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appin
10.3 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
133 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Pierhouse Hotel
The Pierhouse Hotel
#2 of 2 in Port Appin
604 reviews
4.2 mi away
Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
Airds Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Port Appin
501 reviews
8.9 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
866 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hawthorn Cottages
Hawthorn Cottages
#5 of 6 in Benderloch
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appin Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appin Holiday Homes

Property: Appin Holiday Homes
Address: Appin, Appin PA38 4BQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Appin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Appin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self catering Lodges & cottages on the West Coast of Scotland overlooking stunning sea loch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Appin Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Appin Holiday Homes Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing