We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and cozy cottage in a fabulous...”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View up the path open plan kitchen/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View up the path
open plan kitchen/dining area
sitting room
double room
twin room
living room, wood burning stove
from the gate
tennis court available free, on site
Ping Pong hut next to tennis court, and BBQ
entrance to walled garden
Masses of amazing plants in the surrounding gardens
Castle Stalker is 5 minutes away. ( photo taken by Hugh Edwards)
Castle stalker and the Morven Hills
The Old Gardeners Cottage- Laich Cottage, situated in its own private sunny garden.
Plenty of logs for the stove, and a bike shed for bikes!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Karen C
Berkeley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cozy cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed October 27, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for three autumn nights and could not have been happier with our choice. We tromped all over the property; took in the fantastic views; met the local sheep, chicken, and donkeys; and relaxed in the hot tub under the stars. We were delighted with all the sights to explore, such as Dunstaffnage Castle (great condition and not overrun with tourists), the Oban Distillery, and of course Glencoe. This is a place you will want to stay for weeks and weeks.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2017
So glad you enjoyed yourselves so much and explored some of the many attractions and things to do in the area! Kind Regards, Fiona and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca J...
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday ”
Reviewed August 4, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for two weeks which was great. There is so much to do around Appin. Our high light was the wildlife boat trip from Easdale. We saw dolphins! Our favourite places to eat were the Old Inn and the Pierhouse. We loved the hot tubit was easy to manage and the fresh water was wonderful- being in it under the stars was magical. Fiona, Alasdair and their family are very welcoming and helpful. We would totally recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you for a great review and so glad you enjoyed the Hot tub! The dolphin experience must have been amazing!! Kind regards, fiona and alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe I
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage in a great area”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We booked for 4 nights from Monday to Friday as a wee break after our wedding nearby on the Saturday. The cottage was clean, tidy and in a great location, it has shrubs/trees giving it a nice amount of privacy, Fiona was very nice when we arrived and helpful, though we had everything we needed and didn't need any assistance with anything through the week! There is a great guest book with loads of good local info in the cottage.

The Port Appin and Oban areas are stunning with lots to do and the scenery is amazing, as is all of the West Coast.

The log burner and log burner hot tub are brilliant, and we had a fire inside 2x nights and the hot tub working on 3 out of 4 nights. One piece of advice, out temperature outside was 15 degrees on the first day and down to 10 or 12 degrees C overnight - the tub took a few hours to heat up and initially needs a bit of attention to keep it burning. Once up to temperature it only drops 5 to 8 degrees in 18hrs roughly and then needs maybe a half hour of burner time to heat it back up. That was in May, so in the summer it may need even less time to heat & re-heat.

Great place, will stay again :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you for the great review! So glad you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and we look forward to having you stay again!
( Great tip re Hot tub- with the insulated cover the temperature doesn't drop much over night- but we recommend fresh water every 24 hours- so you can get 2 nights then need fresh water- there's no chemicals involved!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hideaway heaven”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We used this cottage as our base for an amazing 4 night stay in the area where there is so much to see and do, next time we would stay longer.
The cottage is very well equipped with everything you might need including a thoughtful complimentary bottle of wine and a cake. We lit the stove at night although in truth we didn't need to as the heaters kept us warm enough but it made a nice focal point.
The fact that it is discreetly situated alongside the family's garden centre was the icing on the cake for us as plant lovers and there is an extraordinary large selection to choose from.
We took our own bikes and cycled to watch the sunset behind Stalker Castle on the first evening and also used them to explore on two beautiful local islands Lismore and Kerrera, accessible by regular ferry services. There was the added attraction of delicious lunches available on each island. We visited Glencoe and Craerae the NT Himalayan Glen enroute. In Oban we enjoyed an evening out at Skippinish Ceilidh House (every Thursday I think) and ate at some of the local pubs. This time of the year rhrododendrons and azaleas steal the show and that is why we went but it would be beautiful any time of year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
Thank you for the great review and so glad you managed to see the gardens at their best! ( The Autumn colours are another good time!)
Thank you also for the great tips and comments you left in the See and Do Diary for future guests!
Hope to see you again!
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hum4
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed May 21, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I booked a last minute short break which was well worth it as a birthday treat for my husband.

The location was beautiful, surrounded by flowers, trees and mountains. Plus there was a beautiful garden with nursery and tennis courts just on the doorstep.
The cottage was clean and well presented even with basic cooking items like oil and salt and pepper which was a nice touch.
Fiona was very helpful and there was plenty of information in the cottage about where to go. So much to see and two days was not enough time but we still managed a quick road trip around Skye, Fort William, Oban and a few other areas, we hope to be back some time again.

Happy memories ...thanks Fiona!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2017
We were so glad that you had a good time and an explore! We hope to see you again, kind Regards, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodhi Sat...
1 review
“A Highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I stayed in Laich cottage, beautifully updated and very comfortable, with a well-equipped kitchen. The area is simply beautiful, starting with Fiona's amazing garden center and extending to the landscape and cultural/historical context... We enjoyed our stay immensely. A particular highlight was renting bikes and exploring the Isle of Lismore in Loch Linnhe. The wood-fired hot tub was a learning curve (getting the temperature right), but what could be better than soaking in naturally heated spring water?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2017
Thank you for a great review, and so glad that you had such a good time, especially with the amazing weather you had. Lismore is a great island to explore. Come and stay with us again sometime!
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S1F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife two young kids and I stayed Friday till Monday and would highly recommend it. The cottage was perfect for us. Very quiet, clean and had everything you could possibly need. Fiona really does go all out to make you feel at home. On arrive there was even fresh flowers, tea, coffee and cooking oil supplied. It's a fantastic base 15/20 mins away from Glencoe and Oban. The hot tub was a great way to unwind at the end of the day. We will definitely be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you for a great review! Really pleased you had such a good break and enjoyed all we had to offer you! We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing