We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View up the path open plan kitchen/dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View up the path
open plan kitchen/dining area
sitting room
double room
twin room
living room, wood burning stove
from the gate
tennis court available free, on site
Ping Pong hut next to tennis court, and BBQ
entrance to walled garden
Masses of amazing plants in the surrounding gardens
Castle Stalker is 5 minutes away. ( photo taken by Hugh Edwards)
Castle stalker and the Morven Hills
The Old Gardeners Cottage- Laich Cottage, situated in its own private sunny garden.
Plenty of logs for the stove, and a bike shed for bikes!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Appin, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
S1F
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed March 29, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife two young kids and I stayed Friday till Monday and would highly recommend it. The cottage was perfect for us. Very quiet, clean and had everything you could possibly need. Fiona really does go all out to make you feel at home. On arrive there was even fresh flowers, tea, coffee and cooking oil supplied. It's a fantastic base 15/20 mins away from Glencoe and Oban. The hot tub was a great way to unwind at the end of the day. We will definitely be back next year.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2017
Thank you for a great review! Really pleased you had such a good break and enjoyed all we had to offer you! We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossana_g...
Province of Trieste, Italy
1 review
“We felt like home”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great cottage with everything we needed, very well equipped, We felt like home
It was bad weather but we also enjoyed the Appin coast, Oban and Glencoe!

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2016
Thank you for a great review! Hope that next time you have better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janebland
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a fantastic location”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great cottage with everything we needed, the tennis court and table tennis were an extra bonus that we really appreciated. We had amazing weather and were able to eat outside, but would have been happy to stay in if it had rained! Location was perfect for an action holiday, cycling, walking, climbing, swimming, we loved it!

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Thank you for a great review and glad you enjoyed your holiday here! Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca J...
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Appin”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks and loved it. The cottage is very cosy, we loved the wood burner. There is loads to do in and around Appin- we did sea kayaking which was amazing. Fiona and her family are very welcoming and create a wonderful relaxing atmosphere . We will be back.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2016
Thank you for the great review! Glad you had such a good holiday, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon! Kind regards, Fiona and Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyFD
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Everything you could possibly need!”
Reviewed July 27, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This a a fabulous cottage in a wonderful setting. There is everything you could possibly need from towels and linen to salt and pepper and even weighing scales for baking. Unfortunately, Fiona and Alistair couldn't control the weather, but we had great fun baking scones and playing with the many board games on a rainy day. As soon as the rain stops, there are great walks all around. There's a tennis court with equipment available for family tournaments and many swings and play equipment around for younger guests,including a magical tree house. We live in a city, so my teenagers had a great time watching sheep shearing and feeding the animals and we felt very welcome. It's also a horticulturalists dream with a huge variety of local species, as well as some of the more exotic. There are a few restaurants and shops within walking distance, but Kinlochlaich is also well positioned between Oban and Fort William for touring farther afield for the day.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Convenience and facilities
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you for your review and glad the girls enjoyed meeting the sheep! Hope you had a good journey back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weejen21
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for getting away from it all!”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Laich cottage for 2 weeks in July. It was a great location being so close to Oban Fort William and Glencoe. Despite pretty bad luck with the weather, there was lots to see and do around the area even in the rain! Castle Stalker is only 20 minutes walk away along a lovely cycle path and there are great pubs/cafes very close by as well. The cottage itself was very well equipped and peaceful. The garden was beautiful and very private. Fiona and her family were so helpful during our stay and were always so happy to help and even lend us baby toys! We hope to come back here in the future.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 27, 2016
Thank you! Hopefully next time you will have better weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing