We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Haven B&B

The Haven B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Haven B&B
Ranked #10 of 17 Montrose B&B and Inns
edinburgh
2 reviews
“A real Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

The Haven is a warm, very comfortable bed and breakfast, quiet, and clean, close to absolutely everything, secure and private. Parking a van was not a problem at any time across the road.

Terri, the owner, is a genuine and sincere proprietor who goes that 'extra mile' to make the stay memorable. The food was excellent, with fresh muesli, cafetiere coffee, fruit juices and wholemeal toast and a cooked breakfast at any point, if requested.

The Haven supports recycling,and has a honest professional, homely feel which is an incredibly difficult balance to reach in a B and B.The Haven has this special quality 'fine tuned'. I would go back at any point gratefully and for long stays if needed.

  • Liked — The quiet, and privacy in close proximity to the town.
  • Disliked — The heating was turned off at night late, when it was snowing outside.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dorothyinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

I stayed at The Haven a few days ago and it was excellent. Terry was helpful and very friendly. The room was comfortable, warm and spacious. If your looking for a B+B in the Montrose area you would be hard pushed to find a better place to stay. it's worthy of more than 3* trust me. :)

  • Liked — simple! The service.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

It was a real 'haven' for the six nights I spent there...I absolutely think the place helped me to connect with the loved one...felt at home there, Teresa left no stone unturned in the presentation of our room, it was of a very high standard.
Certainly recommend it all and sundry!!!

  • Liked — Clean and very well presented
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Romanticfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Have just spent a long weekend at The Haven. Wonderful welcome, Teresa and Laura are so friendly and knowledgeble about Montrose and the area. Suggested lots of places to visit.

Bedroom was very pretty, spacious, warm with lots of little extras.
Great choice for breakfast, ( fab porridge) all freshly cooked. Breakfast Room real cosy with soft lighting and candles.

Town Centre just minutes away and walked down to the promenade and beach in 20 minutes. The views are to die for, saw the snow capped Cairngorms, marvellous!

Try Roos Leap, a great Aussie style Restaurant next to Montrose Golf Club. Fun place with good food.

In all a lovely relaxing break. will definitely visit again in the Summer

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Guest House Grey Harlings
Guest House Grey Harlings
#4 of 17 in Montrose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coutts Court Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven B&B

Property: The Haven B&B
Address: 8 Lowerhall Street, Montrose DD10 8JW, Scotland (Formerly The Banks)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Haven is ideally situated in the beautiful coastal town of Montrose, Scotland. The train station, shops, bars, cafes and restaurants are only a stroll away - and the Cairngorm mountain range are within sight across the Montrose Basin. We offer you a very warm welcome, and a cosy, comfortable retreat with a great choice of breakfast tailored to your specifications and using local organic fare wherever possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Haven B&B Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing