We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daughter's birthday meal. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel Restaurant and Bar

The George Hotel Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #6 of 45 Restaurants in Montrose
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a family run hotel with 25 bedrooms, situated on 3 floors. We do not have lift access to bedrooms. Breakfast included in all room rates. Food is served daily Mon - Thurs 12 - 2.00pm, 5 - 9.30pm, Fri, Sat & Sunday all day from 12 noon through to 9.30pm. Dining and function room available for private functions. We can cater for large or small functions including Hen Parties, Weddings, Christenings, Cocktail Parties, Birthday's.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Daughter's birthday meal. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Five of us. Starters to share which were very good. Main courses all varied all pleased with.
I had the chilli cheese burger. Most enjoyable.
House White was nice.
We had some desserts and coffees to finish.
Service very good and it was full house.

All in all an enjoyable early evening meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaybe_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    54
    23
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went for a family meal myself my partner and our 1 year old child..server sat us a table which was for 8 people when there were only three of us..asked the server when I ordered our drinks if we could order our kids meal first..the male server gave us attitude. When her meal arrived it was boiling hot and had to leave it half an hour to cool down..in the children's meal deal it is £7.45 for main meal a dessert and a drink..she never got offered a dessert or a drink and when we came to pay (which at this point nobody had even bothered to come and clear our main meal plates)I explained this to the grumpy old man behind the bar who basically said tough you still have to pay full price! This same grumpy old man and another male server had been mouthing off behind the bar about one of the workers phoning in sick and a lot of bad language was used about this..in front of my one year old child and many other kids who were dining in the restaurant..absolute shambles of a place..employ some staff with manners and who can serve with a smile! Won't be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just awful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night. Preordered food. Having read reviews played it safe with salmon fillet. Seriously over cooked, dry even with a dressing.
Waiter cleared table by stacking dirty dishes on top of each plate in front of diners, seriously??
Waiting staff all rude or disinterested. When asked to pay bill separately we received the reply: " really? Do you have to?" accompanied with a sigh and roll of the eyes.
There was no redeeming feature at all. Plain awful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bloggsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Terrible !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Service awful and food very average. Waiting Staff were rude and as some our party decided not to attend, we were charged a service charge for them not attending. Was not happy about this and complained, but waitress said that Chef had demanded this and as it was a special occassion we couldn't really go anywhere else at short notice, so had to pay it!!
Would not go back or recommend to anyone else.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleneD69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

On arriving we let our waiter know we were waiting on another, while being sat and asked for our drinks order we were almost demanded the others drink "what's the other one having when they come" we felt we had to decide on a drink due to the tone of his voice.
When the other had arrived we were given a very short time before being asked for our food order, the waiter was obviously not happy that we asked for more time to look.
One of us had to call the waiter for another drink and without finished her order the waiter walked away whilst saying yes, not asking if any of the others would like a drink!
After our meal was finished our plates were cleared and we waited at least 20minutes before calling the waiter for the dessert menu - as we were not offered it after our meal - to which we got back "well do you know what you want" - we hadn't even been given the menu!
Really appalled at the services this older gentleman gave! Certainly is not a people person so should not be working in a culinary environment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MontroseGirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Hotel Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The George Hotel Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing