We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally recommend staying here!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaklands Guesthouse

Oaklands Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oaklands Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Totally recommend staying here!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night just for a change of scenery. Lovely atmosphere and a lovely host. We had the ground floor double room which was really handy after having a few drinks in town. The walk into town is only 10 minutes and view over the bridge is beautiful.
We will definitely stay here again. Well worth the money!!!!

Room Tip: Ground floor if you don't like stairs after a few drinkies
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
7
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

my wife and i have just returned from the oaklands guesthouse in montrose scotland most enjoyable place with plenty to do in the town we had a double room which i must say was spotlessly clean with tea coffee in the room exellent shower facilites our host mario looked after us very well and ps u must try the breakfast large and excellent one more thing we will be back great value location and weather not to bad in july i taken this holiday from other peoples reviews go on give it a try we did samuel b

Room Tip: it does what it says on the tin room 4 very quiet looked out to the back garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this guesthouse for one night and it was very pleasant. The rooms and overall guesthouse was very very clean. The room was a decent size, and it was comfortable. It is very close to the town centre and beach. Breakfast was perfect. Would recommend this Guesthouse if staying in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelso, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed here for one night and will not be going back. Booked a double room but ended up in a twin room and got charged more. Confronted the owner but despite me having it in writing what i had booked and how much he was still denying it even though i had it in black and white. He even went and printed out his emails the same as mines and still wouldnt accept it. He moved me into a twin room without notifying me cos he 'needed my room for someone else' and 'thought it would be okay because i was on my own'. Room was very cramp. PAT testing was 18 months out of date. I dont recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leigh07Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Oaklands Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
My rates are clearly displayed upon entry and in e-mails. If you book a double room for double occupancy it's £30.00 pppn, or when you change your booking and want it as a single occupancy it's £40.00 a night. As the customer changed the booking for single occupancy before arrival, I changed the room into a twin for single occupancy. I even offered the customer to put her in a double room which was declined, I won't go any further in this as I've been in this business for 14 years and this is really the first complaint I had about that. And as a fact, my PAT was just reviewed in august 2012, as I have got a full licence from the Fire Brigade in January 2013 after inspection. So, better get your facts right before posting any lies...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've stayed here quite a lot on trips to Montrose and it is nice. Owner is very friendly. I think it'd be very biker friendly as the owner rides. Rooms are nice and clean and comfortable. Not far from the centre of Montrose and very close to the port. Private parking to keep your car or bike safe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Oaklands Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We chose to stay here for one night because it was the cheapest place we could find on the internet that was in or near Montrose. The guesthouse was easy to find, and there was parking at the front door. The host was very efficient, and was expecting us. The room was large and clean, with all the facilities you would expect, and the breakfast was great. Montrose centre was only a short walk away, and there is a bus stop right outside. I would recommend staying here if you need to stay in Montrose.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario M, Owner at Oaklands Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

This guesthouse was Ok and a good value but not memorable or charming. There was a comfortable lounge and free parking but very small. It was way out of the city center but close to friends' house, so convenient for our purposes. The rooms were amongst the smallest of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaSoucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
9.8 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
16.9 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands Guesthouse

Property: Oaklands Guesthouse
Address: 10 Rossie Island Road, Montrose DD10 9NN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oaklands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Oaklands Guesthouse Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing