We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Links Hotel(Montrose)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corner Hotel(Carnoustie)
$81
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marykirk Hotel(Marykirk)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveler rating
134
111
57
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
111
57
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathstaff were pleasantbuffet breakfastlast visitground flooron arrivalplenty choicetwo night staydb bpoached eggslovely hotelwaiting staffdining roomtop classhigh teabar areafirst class
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 335 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Park Hotel for two nights ,it was last minute booking and we were lucky to get the last available room.The lady on reception was very helpful .The room was clean and comfortable .The food was very reasonably priced ,the scrambled egg at breakfast was the best I have ever had .would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triptales123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stay at The Park Hotel for two nights recently along with my in-laws.My Father in Law booked it. First impression as you arrive is that the hotel has seen better days, it is shabby and tired.Our room was nothing like any of the photos displayed on tripadvisor.It was very small,dark ,and the only window over looked the back kitchen delivery area,and totally uninviting.The bathroom was a disgrace very old, dirty and small,one good point is it did have a bath which I had requested.The bed was comfortable and the linen and towels were spotless.There was no do not disturb notice, and although we did not want our room serviced while at breakfast we could not get the room maid to understand as she didn't speak English.At breakfast the first morning the waitress was extremely rude to another of our relatives who was sitting at our table, raising her voice and giving her opinion in a aggressive manner, although our relative only asked if the tea bag could be put in the pot instead of being given it separately.The same evening after we had all attended a funeral, we ate dinner in the restaurant as the bar area had TV on and we wanted to talk and relax, also my Father in Law has a hearing problem which makes communication difficult when they is a lot of background noise, there was some music playing in the restaurant but at an acceptable level,During our meal this was turned up and I politely asked the same waitress who served us at breakfast to turn it down.She did not, and my Father in Law became very upset, during the following argument we were told she was unable to turn it down, but after we had asked to speak to the manager, a supervisor did turn the music off and served us the rest for the evening and the following morning at breakfast.Although the supervisor was friendly and efficient the waitress continued my make us feel very ill at ease and unwelcome, even giving me a dirty look at breakfast.I am very disappointed in the Park Hotel and although the family have used it for many years I will not return and could not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Try and get one in the photos they look a lot better than the one we had!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andersjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkHotelMontrose, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

The main part of the hotel was built in the late 1800's and has a couple of extensions added - not in the most sympathetic style but unfortunately, we are in a conservation area and cannot paint or harl the frontage to enhance the buildings appearance.
Our room images are supplied both by us and guests who have stayed at the hotel and represent a reasonable cross-section of the rooms that we offer but with 57 rooms, we cannot supply images of every one. The bathroom is is due to be replaced in a couple of weeks.
Every room has a "Do not Disturb" notice in the guest information folder but if you did not see it, had you phoned Reception, we would have told you where it was or had one delivered to your room.
You mention that one of our staff was rude at breakfast - your relative asked for weak tea and the waitress brought out a pot of hot water with a teabag separately so the lady could decide how strong she wanted her tea. This was clearly not acceptable to her and ten minutes later she asked to have a fresh pot with the tea bag put in first which was done. The waitress that did this was simply trying to point out that the way it was served the first time was our normal proceure to this request and if it came across as her being rude and aggressive - I apologise.
You also do not mention that one of the staff saw the lady struggling to peel an orange and the waitress offered to have it peeled for her. While this was being done, the lady commented to another member of staff that "the knives are blunt and don't work because you put them in the dishwasher".
The music was turned up following a request from some residents in the bar. Your father-in-law asked for it to be turned down and the volume was reduced. It was also explained to the guests in the bar why it was being turned down again. Your father-in-law then shouted very loudly and aggressively "turn it off" at our waitress who explained that it had been turned down. The shouting was heard by, and commented on, by guests in the bar yet when you spoke to the Duty Manager, any shouting was denied.
The waitress was on duty the following morning but because of the upset the night before, went for her break as soon as your party came in for breakfast. One of the ladies in your group came into the restaurant as the waitress was leaving and when she said good morning, the lady looked at the floor, said nothing and walked past her.

I am sorry that you are so disappointed with your stay but at least a couple of issues could have been resolved while you were here. If you had told us that you were unhappy with your room, we would have offered an alternative straight away. You were also asked when you checked out if everything had been all right and the only comment that was made was about the music.

We do care about our guests and we want everyone to enjoy their stay with us but there are very rare occasions where things do not go right. When this happens, we are always willing to take fair criticism but would rather have the opportunity to put things right while the guest is here.
Posting a review tells the world your side of the story but gives us no opportunity to make amends.
I am also sorry to read that although you have been visiting us for many years and presumably been happy with our rooms and service, you have decided not to return or to recommend us as another stay may have been enough to restore your faith in us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked the hotel for a mini conference, delighted with efficiency of the reception, meeting room perfect for our needs, refreshments provided quickly (we had had no lunch so hungry!) hotel rooms compact but ideal for our needs. had dinner in the restaurant, all very happy with the quality of food and service, stayed late in the bar (very pleasant bar staff) and then were served latterly by the hight porter (willing and accomodating) Breakfast the next morning was an excellent assortment but would like my eggs freshly made. Check out smooth, accurate and efficient. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oceanvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Home-style food at VERY reasonable prices! £5.95 for one course, £7.50 for two. You rarely, if ever eat so cheaply in Aberdeen. Service was efficient with friendly staff. Plenty of parking which always helps. My parents will go back as the food was perfect for them and soooo cheap!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ccindxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

A quick visit to Montrose and with memories of bar lunches with my parents, the Park Hotel with its decent car parking space was the place to chose to meet up with my friend, the minister. The friendly staff at reception were happy to take in my luggage to their storage space. Sit anywhere was the invitation and the place was not as crowded as I had expected on a Friday lunchtime. We chose the haddock and chips from the extensive but realistic menu with a halfpint of one of the wide choice of draught beers - the Belhaven Best. The fish and chips were £9.50 each. We did not have a pudding and the final bill with the beers was £22 or so. Still the place for lunch in Montrose.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank themacrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews