We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenbank Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Montrose B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 weeks in December.
Owner was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great and was always served on the time that we requested.
The house is really nice and is kept spotless. The toilets were always spotless aswell and well maintained.
The B&B is situated in a quiet, pleasant cul-de-sac and is not far from the high street.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BW145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitzi8s, Owner at Greenbank Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for the great review, its much appreciated and we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us as well. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
43
25
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

After a hard days work, my colleague and i were just looking forward to a warm and comfortable place to lay our heads, and that is exactly what we got, and more. The rooms are extremely clean, comfortable and fresh. The bathrooms are always warm, clean towels every day and to start the day, a fabulous breakfast, enough to last you until the night. Our hosts were so accommodating, your every need is catered for. We will definitely stay again and wholly recommend this place for not just work, but golf, fishing or just for a break away.

Mike & Sam from Kendal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIKE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while i was doing a course at Petrofac. This is more like staying at a family members house than a b&b, Ishbel gives you a excellent welcome and tells you all you need to know about the local area. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station and a 20 minute walk to Petrofac, i would recommend this place to anyone who wants a spotlessly clean place to stay, with a great family run atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a superbly well-run place, with super facilities, convenient and serves great breakfasts. The proprieter works extremely hard and goes to no end of trouble. She is a great character and you will certainly get used to the sound of her voice before you leave.

I did feel nonetheless that it is a little overpriced compared with similar accommodation, and compared with what is stated on the website. As I was told I would be charged for a single room as being put in a family room was due to a booking error, I tremble to think what a family would be charged!

I fully understand the reasons for breakfast choices being asked for on arrival, but it would be nice to be able to wait till the morning to choose between tea and coffee.

One suprising piece of logic was that the "secure cycle facilities" mentioned on the website turned out to be a garage where the bike was fully visible as the door apparently cannot be closed. I would query whether the fact that no bike has so far been stolen means that it can never happen! Anyway mine was still there in the morning, so maybe there's something in it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwylasbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I've been out on the road a fair bit over the last few months with work. I've had the pleasure of staying with Ish and Duncan for over 4 of these weeks. This place is a haven when you are away. They couldn't be nicer or more helpfull, the place is spotless and the food is fantastic. Hopefully anytime I'm back in the area it's The Greenbank I'll be staying in. It's never easy being away from the family but your made to feel as if your part of the family while your there. Handy for the town at night and always a quiet comfy room for a great nights sleep. Don't take my word for it, read the other reviews. Thanks again for the hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithybhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We recently stayed at Greenbank for a weekend to attend a family wedding. Our family were fortunate to occupy all the rooms. Without exception, every aspect of our stay was excellent - spotless rooms which included everything you could think of and a smashing, massive breakfast, courtesy of Ishbel & Duncan, two of the most friendly & genuine people you will ever meet. Nothing was a trouble to them and we feel so fortunate in having found this lovely venue. We hope to return again in the not too distant future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Cannot recommend Greenbank highly enough. Ishbel and Duncan were extremely kind and helpful, the rooms were spotless and the breakfast huge! We visit montrose 4 or 5 times a year and will certainly be staying here again. location is very good for access to all the local amenities and Ishbel and Duncan are very knowledgeable about local resturants and other places of interest.
John & Sheena Kirby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cnocmoy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
9.4 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chapel House B&B
Chapel House B&B
#11 of 17 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenbank Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenbank Bed & Breakfast

Property: Greenbank Bed & Breakfast
Address: 50 Redfield Road, Montrose DD10 8TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Greenbank Bed & Breakfast Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing