We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best B+B I have ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 36 The Mall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montrose
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
36 The Mall
Ranked #7 of 17 Montrose B&B and Inns
The Hague, Netherlands
1 review
“Best B+B I have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

A former manse, beautifully renovated and maintained, within walking distance of the town centre; parking available in the street outside. What struck us here was the attention to detail, the orderliness, cleanliness and obvious concern for the guest's comfort. Cooked breakfast delicious; room and beds comfortable. Very complete array of tea/coffee/chocolate etc. on the tray in the room, with a note to say that fresh milk is available on request; and - crowning touch - a small decanter of sherry to welcome you on arrival! Mr. and Mrs. Dick, the proprietors, are as friendly and helpful as you could wish. We are unlikely to be visiting Montrose again, but if we were, this is undoubtedely where we would stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

We received excellent service and hospitality, the room we had was very clean, plenty of space, wonderfully quiet and had a wee surprise offering in a glass decanter. A lovely touch! The choices for breakfast were really good and the quality of the cooked breakfast of the highest standard. I would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B anybody.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crassus25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

My husband stayed here previously whilst on business in Scotland & was very impressed. We spent a leisurely weekend in Montrose & thoroughly enjoyed our stay, Mrs Dick made us very welcome, the house is beautiful with interesting collections & artwork. Our room was immaculate, spacious & comfortable and the full Scottish breakfast fortified us for the rest of the day. It was an ideal base for our visit to Montrose tennis club where we were also made to feel most welcome. A very relaxing break, the surrounding area is beautiful & we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrybeeIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

Mrs Dick has made No 36 as good a B & B as you could expect to find anywhere. The Room was spacious and along with the ensuite shower room was immaculate. The quality of the breakfast with its excellent choices including fresh raspberries and strawberries exceeded our expectations. The welcome and attention to detail given by Mrs Dick means that we would have no hesitation in recommending No 36 The Mall to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHappy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ritchwork, Owner at 36 The Mall, responded to this review, May 22, 2010
Thank you.
I appreciate your comments,it makes my efforts so much more worth while.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was a superb experience. The house itself is a gorgeous 19th century villa, sympathetically restored and furnished with taste and flair. There are MacIntosh Patrick watercolours and prints, superb pottery all put together from an amalgam of styles that somehow combine to one overall ambience. The en-suite rooms are large, comfortable and squeaky clean. Breakfast was of the expected high standard and the welcome was excellent. Mrs Dick does B+B and after decades of doing so, continues not because she needs to;simply because she loves doing it. That attitude shines through every aspect of the operation. Very occasionally have we experienced its equal: never anything better. This is as good as it can get.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ugieb151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

My husband and I spent about 5 days in this lovely home. As hosts, Mr and Mrs Dick are excellent. Always ready with advice and assistance. The breakfasts were wonderful, their home beautiful and the location ideal. The best B & B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macisback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montrose hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 5 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Guest House Grey Harlings
Guest House Grey Harlings
#4 of 17 in Montrose
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chapel House B&B
Chapel House B&B
#11 of 17 in Montrose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 The Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 The Mall

Property: 36 The Mall
Address: 36 The Mall, Montrose DD10 8SS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 The Mall, standing in its own ground, is well established in the Bed & Breakfast portfolio of Montrose. No. 36 Provides high standards of accommodation and catering within a homely atmosphere. The property is well furnished with decoration and furnishings in keeping with the character of the house. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
36 The Mall Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing