We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting treatment”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

The Carlton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I was due to stay at this hotel in July for a week although i had to cancel the booking. However i today received an email from the hotel manager not having realised i had cancelled my booking. This in itself was not a problem it was the way he wrote to me assuming i was still booked and indeed to others who probably have booked and also received the same email.

He wrote to advise me that the 2 rooms i have booked for July were cancelled as a large oil supply company had block booked the hotel for most of this year. Graeme Lamb the Manager in his email did not apologise but just said in a very matter of fact manner the rooms were cancelled.

It has to be the most disgusting way of treating a potential customer and assume to anyone else booked.

It is clear he has put the big company booking ahead of all others so be warned. If you book you run the risk of being bumped out if Mr Lamb gets a better offer. Entering into a contract is clearly not something the Carlton considers when taking bookings.

I will not stay there and would not advise anyone to book the Carlton regardless of how good the reviews may have been as your booking is not a booking.

I just hope that the big company who has booked cancels as this to me seems divine justice to Mr Lamb if that is how he treats his customers.

Do not book.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
3  Thank robbie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glamber24, Management at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2010

After investigation with the management team, lack of communication proved to be the concluding factor with the party involved. The in-house issue has been resolved.
We are a small family run hotel with a great team, and an excellent reputation, although we are far from perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for The Carlton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

The owner of the hotel could not have been more helpful. Hospitality second to none - you are really made to feel at home. Excellent accommodation, location and food - well done to all!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Stayed two nights and found the location ideal for exploring the town, which we thought really nice. The place has been substantially refurbed and the update has not yet ended according to Graham, the "major domo". He and the staff were helpful, unfussy (i.e. sincere) and ticked all the boxes as hosts.

The rooms are lovely albeit the shower/loo arrangements have had to fit the very old building, rather than effect major reconstruction of the entire edifice. The obese may want to give room 5 a miss though, as far as the shower cubicle goes! Also bear in mind that the hotel has no ground floor, nor a lift.

Breakfast was freshly made with quality ingredients and all in all the Carlton, and Montrose, were a delight to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Had the pleasure of staying at the Carlton Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my visit. Staff are very friendly and efficientt, always willing to go the extra mile. Standards at the Carlton are exemplary. Its easily the best hotel in town.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EdinburghNeilW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2009

Stayed at the Carlton for my wifes 40th, great food & the kids were made welcome by Graham & Natalie.
The rooms were clean & well presented, the food was excellent & the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was a memorable one.
Well worth a visit, whether on a course in Montrose or visiting, the Carlton will be our first choice.
Having stayed in a few of the hotels in Montrose due to attending courses, I would have to put the Carlton at the top of the list.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank robbiebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2008

The hotel is situated perfectly at the top end of the High Street. All shops, hairdressers, bars, restaurants, jewellers etc are within 2 minutes MAXIMUM walking distance.

Our room was spotless, spacious and comfortable, The food is a credit to the chefs, but sad to say the puddings are absolutely delicious YUM YUM :o)

The management and staff cannot do enough for you and work tirelessly to ensure your stay is PERFECT.

I look forward to the next time I visit this wonderful wee corner of Scotland.

Thank you The Carlton Hotel

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lize1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I was visiting Montrose for a professional developement course lasting two weeks. During my stay at the Carlton, nothing was too much trouble for Graeme and Natalie,the proprietors. My first experience of Montrose hospitality was superb. I would not hesitate in recommending the Carlton to anyone wishing to locate a comfortable and extremely flexible base for a visit to this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bobrfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 5 in Montrose
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
557 reviews
7.4 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
241 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 139 High Street, Montrose DD10 8QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range: $86 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Montrose
The Carlton Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing