We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

The Carlton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed at the Carlton Hotel in August 2012 and had a great time food was delicious always piping hot and plenty of it .Graham and Natelie the owners were very helpful and freindly will be going back again and its really central a short walk to shops

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank connieflett36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

II stayed At The Carlton Hotel Januaryry 2012. I Stayed In Room # 5 Which Was Huge In Today's Terms. I Did Observe That All Room, Eertainly On The Sacand Floor appeared double for single occupancy, the food could not be faulted, the chefs andy and Johnny were prepared to cook anything out with the menu, the owner Graeme and Natalie were excellent hosts,
Good honest hard working people.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Trip Advisor lists this as one of the top hotels in Montrose. All I can say is there must be poor room selections in the town. The rooms was minimal, the amenities were almost non-existent and there was no one else in the hotel. I think they must have known more than we did. The owner was mostly helpful, but I cannont recommend this as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcc144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fifield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2011

great hotel ,good food hotel owners ,and natalie could not do enough for you,food superb chef good extremely fine portions , good family hotel atmosphere if you wanted anything greame and staff would do utmost to acces it for you would recommend for anyone staying at best hotel for value and service in montrose

Room Tip: near museum and high street for shops and local it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david123red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I went on a golfing holiday and we elected to stay centrally in Montrose, which the Carlton certainly is. Graeme & Natalie Lamb who own and run this small hotel are perfect hosts and went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable. We were provided with a large spacious family room which was very clean and comfortable. The food was of a very high quality and the breakfasts were whatever you wanted. The hotel is a listed hotel with Magnificent large high ceilinged rooms, and is extremely comfortable. Graeme certainly went out of his way to ensure our stay was memorable and I would have no hesitation recommending their hotel but book early.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

We were completely casual visitors to Montrose knowing absolutely nothing about it or its facilities. We walked the length of the High Street looking for somewhere nice to lunch then we spied the Carlton. Although the entrance was off-putting, as soon as we entered it was clear that this was no dump. The service was friendly, helpful and prompt. The food was spot on; lovely battered fish and the boiled potatoes gorgeous, obviosly chosen with care. The salad came with a dressing which was just perfect. The chocolate fudge cake with cream and ice cream was heavenly. The house red was eminently quaffable. All in all, we were happy bunnies.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rehaylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

When in Montrose the Carlton Hotel and the George Hotel restuarants were recomended. We tried both and we were pleased with both - see earlier review of The George Hotel. The menu at theCarlton was more erudite that the George menu - more continental choices. The food we ate was superb - spouse had lamb, I had mussels. Both superbly cooked Service was excellent (altho there was only 1 other couple in the resturant the Tuesday evening we visited) and the meal and drinks very reasonably priced. This is a restuarant I would vsiit again when (if) in Montrose in the future

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
1 Thank scscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montrose
0.2 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
310 reviews
7.4 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
0.2 mi away
Coutts Court Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
The Hillside Hotel
The Hillside Hotel
#9 of 18 in Montrose
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 139 High Street, Montrose DD10 8QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Montrose
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Montrose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Montrose
The Carlton Hotel Montrose, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing