We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Rowanlea Lodge. Early summer time.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowanlea Lodge. Early summer time.
Free parking for two cars. Private seating area. Perfect for a BBQ.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Rowanlea Lodge. Early summer time.
Free parking for two cars.
Private seating area. Perfect for a BBQ.
Spacious open plan living room/kitchen with wood burning stove.
Luxury furnishings with a Scottish twist.
Fully equipped kitchen.
Cosy Nights In.
Breakfast welcome hamper to get your stay off to a great start.
Pukka teas for all our guests.
Shower room. Orkney soaps and shower gel provided.
Double downstairs bedroom furnished in Harris Tweed.
Spacious upper floor double bedroom with seating area.
Open plan double bedroom with a further double sofa bed.
Autumn View.
Rack for outdoor boots.
View from the Lodge. December 2017
Snowing outside but so cosy in the Lodge.
Christmas Holidays.
Sunset at the Lodge facing west towards the Grampian Hills.
Pet friendly.
Herons feeding on Montrose basin.
Lunan Bay 20 minutes from the Lodge.
Glamis Castle.
Dunnottar Castle.
River North Esk. 10 minute walk from the Lodge.
Stonehaven Harbour. 20 minutes from the Lodge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Montrose, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hope p
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely home away from home”
Reviewed April 5, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The lodge was beautifully homey and spotlessly clean. Lovely touches like Lorna having a breakfast hamper (including lovely local meats for a cracking fry-up!) and setting the log-burning fire for our arrival. The lodge had everything we needed - cooking facilities, hair-dryer, lovely soaps and shampoo in the shower and had plenty chopped wood for us to light the fire ourselves. Was a beautiful place to go as a couple and would also recommend for family or small group. Would love to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2018
Thanks for the review Hope. Lovely to hear you felt the Lodge was a home away from home and you enjoyed the local produce provided in the welcome hamper.
I hope you visit Rowanlea Lodge again sometime. You would be very welcome. All the very best Lorna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 11, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2018
Delighted you enjoyed the Lodge Cathy. Thanks for your review and hope you visit again:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DeirdreD4...
Muir of Ord, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New year getaway”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Well what can I say, RowanLea lodge is a beautiful lodge, attention to detail is superb, four adults and 2 dogs stayed with ample room, Lorna the owner left us a hamper and essential’s in the fridge, cheese, eggs etc which made you feel special, there is a local pub within walking distance, they made us so welcome, would definitely recommend RowanLea, a beautiful place.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thanks for your review Deirdre. Delighted to hear you enjoyed the New Year Celebrations at Rowanlea Lodge. We use the local pub regularly and Teresa the owner always gives a warm welcome.
All the very best to you and your family in 2018.
Lorna:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelLov...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect log cabin”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would highly recommend staying here. The cabin is finished to a high standard and is nice and cosy. Lovely views of the countryside as well. Nearest town is only 10 minutes drive away. Had a great weekend and this is the prefect place to stay for a weekend getaway

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin_mcm...
Biggar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Searched all the usual sites looking for the perfect weekend getaway location. We were certainly not disappointed with 'Rowanlea Lodge'
From the minute we arrived (and of course on the lead up to our short break) Lorna was the perfect host. Supplying very useful information on what to do with our limited time in the area.
The Lodge itself was extremely well appointed, with all the small things included as standard to make our stay very comfortable indeed.
We would have no problem in a recommendation to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2017
Thanks for your review Colin. Delighted you enjoyed the short break. Hope you visit again sometime.
Best wishes
Lorna.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer65...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of quiet away from the hustle and bustle of urban life”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit (August 2017) and Rowanlea Lodge remains a magical holiday spot with stunning views of the Grampian Hills and “The Howe of the Mearns” to the West and less than ten miles from the wonderful coastline of NE Scotland including the sandy beaches at St Cyrus and Lunan Bay.

There are numerous interesting places in the area to visit – also a number of varied places to eat (Marykirk Hotel, Castleton Farm Shop/restaurant, The Creel Inn at Catterline,The Corner Tea Shop in Edzell, Balmakewan Farm Shop/cafe and others)

Lorna is a superb hostess and no effort has been spared to create this immaculate holiday accommodation. Although quite compact (roughly ten metres by ten metres) it feels quite spacious and is extremely comfortable with high quality equipment and furnishings.

Surprisingly Lorna allows dogs but, given the care and attention which she puts into maintaining her property to the highest standard, I would only take a well trained and well behaved dog.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montmia
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect gem”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

When we first stayed at Rowanlea Lodge a year ago it was just a few months old. One year on and Lorna has maintained her high standards so that everything still appears as if new. One useful addition is the secure bike shed which doubles as a log store at the rear of the building. The Lodge is warm and cosy whatever the weather and Lorna goes out of her way to ensure that her guests enjoy a perfect visit.
We look forward to our next visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2017
Dear James and Sandy
It was lovely to have you visit again. Thank you for your review and I'm delighted you have already booked your stay for August 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing