We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamis Castle or Bust”
Review of Glamis Castle

Glamis Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$198.95*
and up
Glamis Castle and Bonnie Dundee Tour from Dundee
More Info
$198.95*
and up
Glamis Castle and Bonnie Dundee Tour from St Andrews
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Glamis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Come and visit the finest castle in Scotland, winner of the best attraction award for the UK 2015. Enjoy the history and spectacle of Glamis Castle. Take a guided tour with one of our expert guides and soak up the atmosphere of a thousand years of history. Browse in our Gift Shop or just pop in for Lunch or Afternoon tea in the Victorian Kitchen Restaurant. There are events all year round so come and have a great day out!
Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Glamis Castle or Bust”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

One of the places my grandson really wanted to see in Scotland was Glamis Castle. He had seen it on a Craig Ferguson late night show. The castle did not disappoint. It was beautiful inside and out. There were steps, of course, that had to be traversed, but even my mobility challenged husband was able to use them. It was a guided tour of the castle, but we had plenty of time in the gardens, which had plaques periodically explaining the areas we visited. It is a great spot for taking pictures. It was also a place where we got to see "Coos" close up. We will return to this historical attraction on a return trip to Scotland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ankiesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    681
    266
    53
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Chris+ sue”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This visit was a day trip organised by Lochs and Glens.
The castle is normally closed at this time of year but Lochs have a special
arrangement with the Castle so we were allowed a visit.
This castle is not like the castles we see in England but is very similar to a French Chateau
The interior is fantastic with rooms as they were years ago
with family portraits on the walls and artifacts on display.
This Castle was the favourite place for the Queen Mother while she was in Scotland
There are many photos and portraits of her and family members on show.Well worth a visit

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hated having a guide!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was one of the most amazing castles we've ever seen and we would have spent hours visiting it, reading everything we could have about it's history. Only problem, and it's a big one, they will only let you visit the castle with a guide. And the tour takes about 50 minutes. So when you are part of a group of 30 or 40 people and you are rushed from room to room as if you're in a race, you just don't have to time to take it in. I still don't understand why they won't let people visit at their own pace, like they do in most castle.

This could have been, and should have been, the highlight of our trip to Scotland. Unfortunately, i will always think about this day with a sour taste in my mouth.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KetchupKetchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This castle has a very impressive entrance drive, and the architecture and furnishings are amazing, and the tour was excellent and full of interesting historical stories. However, we were surprised that so few rooms were on the tour. The grounds and gardens are interesting, but the condition of the gardens was definitely past prime, probably because of being late August.

Overall, this castle was only average and overpriced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BulldogUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited Glamis Castle recently with our teenage son we all thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Our guide Linda was a joy so knowledgable but not at all dull, she made our tour so interesting. A must for all ages. Will return some time to see the gardens when the weather is a little kinder.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkie069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glamis Castle also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Kirriemuir, Angus
 

Been to Glamis Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing