We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great home from which to explore Scotland from...”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
54 reviews
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Part of the Heritage Trail this 19th century Home is full of quirkyness and charm.
Newly fitted kitchen, fully equipped, includes d/washer, w/machine and fridge freezer.
New units and worktops, include various dried goods, and larder staples.
We cater for guests visiting for special family occasions.
Special Occasion? We will bake you a cake.
Large entrance hall with maps, local information and carry out menus.
The ground floor family room has double bed, cot and adjacent single room with single pine bed.
This suite sleeps 2 adults, and baby cot, and small room off with adult size single pine bed,
Newly fitted WC and wash hand basin adjacent to the Green Room.
White porcelain 2 piece suite, with mains mixer tap.
Balcony landing with stained glass window.
Large first floor bedroom with antique wardrobe, king size bed and views to Balmashanner Hill.
Another upper floor bedroom sleeps 3, with bunks.
Bathroom with over bath shower. Complimentary toiletries. Shower stool and bath seat provided.
Large basement games room, sleeps up to 3, with pool table, table tennis table and table football.
This has 3 windows opening to the rear, and incorporates its own bathroom.
Roomy bathroom with 4 piece suite and a sit down shower.
View from our upstairs lounge.
Drive easily parks two vehicles. At a push 3.
Paved, gated, and fully enclosed garden.
BBQ Patio and gazebo.
Bike storage.
Blossom in Spring.
Apple tree.
Lovely park not 5 minutes away.
Forfar Loch - a nature reserve and playground. Sailing, canoeing and a leisure centre.
A friendly town where you can explore this lovely area. We look forward to welcoming you xxxx
Our Local pub, antique shop, fish and chip shop and sweetie shop leading through to the town centre.
All ready and dressed for our Festive Guests. We can do other celebrations too.
The Balmashanner monument stands over Forfar, and can be seen, over rooftops from the Blue Room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Forfar, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Theresa12...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great home from which to explore Scotland from Edinboro to Aberdeen...”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Forfar and the surrounding area is beautiful and welcoming. The history of Scotland starts right there and Anne can help you find everything from the ancient to modern working Scotland, to the fun of the local pubs... drive into the mountains or to the shore, the location can not be better.

Glenisla House itself is lovely and comfortable, with a well stocked kitchen, game room and courtyard to just relax and enjoy the day... truly we found it a perfect base for a vacation

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2016
Thank you Theresa. It was wonderful to have you stay with us and be able to share this lovely part of the world. Your photos that you sent us were much appreciated, and we look forward to your return visit. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puckinell...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous for famelies, groups, dog lovers”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

wonderful house, very well equipped, perfect for a large family and a few wee dogs. Ann is an extensive source of local information. For dog owners, the enclosed yard, tiled floors, largely soundproof games room, supplied dog crate, local dog friendly pub and anns tolerant attitude are just perfect. For the family, the numerous bedrooms, pool table and ping pong, wii console, Piano (surprisingly everyone has a go), comfy rooms and extra bedding options (games room) are added value, and House of Dunn is not to be missed. Everything you need for self catering including walking to asda.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: very well set up for dogs.
Liked least: having to cross the lane to get to the yard.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2016
Dear Eve, It was lovely having you all to stay ... We really appreciate your comments and the fact you enjoyed the piano. Well behaved dogs are welcome and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westiegeo...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“great house and location”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I am a Forfarian who was visiting friends but as a family plus dog this was an ideal place for us to stay. House has everything you could want, even a games room. Located in centre of town, one of the best pubs is only 2 mins walk from house and is dog friendly. Take note that the property is in a narrow Lane and you do have to drive into the parking space opposite the house as opposed to reversing in. There is free council parking opposite the entrance to the lane on St James Rd. if you would prefer, our friends parked there when visiting us.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2016
Dear Irene and family, It was a pleasure to have you all stay. Our wee team does try hard to make your stay the best we can.. No one is perfect and your kind suggestions have been put in place. We are pleased that you felt at home here, and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob B
Peak District, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A peaceful oasis in the middle of Forfar town”
Reviewed November 28, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Spent a few days at Glenisla house catching up with family and celebrating our parents diamond wedding anniversary. We were made very welcome by the owner Anne and enjoyed a real home from home experience. Glenisla house is situated in a quiet lane, yet is only a two minute walk from Forfar's High street. Our pets were also made welcome which made our time there a proper family occasion. Thank you Anne - we hope to be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and Anne's welcome pack
Liked least: The drive is tight for a large 4*4 car
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2015
Dear Rob, Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our Wee Team appreciate feedback from our Guests. We felt honoured to be part of what was such a special occasion and wish your parents all the best here in Forfar. We will be delighted to see you again next year, and in the meantime wish you all the best for the festive season. Kind regards, Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHH25
1 review
“Lovely big house.”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely big house! Tastefully decorated & very comfortable, like a home away from home. My husband & I stayed with our 3 young kids & they LOVED it! Great idea having a Games room in the basement.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2016
It was brilliant having you all stay. An absolute pleasure. Your 3 children are Wee Gems. Please come again... regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natalie C
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 25, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My fiancé and I came here for a few days and we felt so comfortable and welcomed. Anne is a very hardworking, thoughtful hostess and helped us with everything we needed to know. Location is central and house is certainly big enough for large families. Will definitely be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Dear Both, It was great to have you stay. It is good to pass on appreciation to the others who work so hard. We do look forward to a return visit. We have had wedding guests before x A wee honeymoon?? Good luck to you both. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire S
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION, FAB STAY”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Glenisla House in Forfar is in a great location, few minutes from centre,local shops and supermarket. Swimming pool end of street great for the kids. Loads of parks nearby to take the dog especially Reid Park and Steel Park , Loch 10 minute walk with football and rugby pitches ideal for the kids. Forfar is famous for its bridies best place to buy McLarens and your cream cakes from Saddlers, lovely butchers Kennedy`s fantastic meats especially the venison.
Glenisla House if ideal for large families as 3 bedrooms and space in the games room for more. Kids loved the table tennis table and pool table. Kitchen fully equipped, even welcome pack left by owner Anne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location - near to relatives
Liked least: sound from church bells
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 22, 2015
Dear Claire, Thank you for your lovely comments! Our wee team are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are really looking forward to your return stay next year.See you then. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing