We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Splendid!”
other travelers have booked this property
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
49 reviews
Beautiful listed building in a quiet lane in the centre of town and close to all Angus has to offer.
Large lounge seats 10. Ornamental ceiling, free WiFi, games, books and hand carved oak fireplace.
Part of the Heritage Trail this 19th century Home is full of quirkyness and charm.
Newly fitted kitchen, fully equipped, includes d/washer, w/machine and fridge freezer.
New units and worktops, include various dried goods, and larder staples.
We cater for guests visiting for special family occasions.
Special Occasion? We will bake you a cake.
Large entrance hall with maps, local information and carry out menus.
The ground floor family room has double bed, cot and adjacent single room with single pine bed.
This suite sleeps 2 adults, and baby cot, and small room off with adult size single pine bed,
Newly fitted WC and wash hand basin adjacent to the Green Room.
White porcelain 2 piece suite, with mains mixer tap.
Balcony landing with stained glass window.
Large first floor bedroom with antique wardrobe, king size bed and views to Balmashanner Hill.
Another upper floor bedroom sleeps 3, with bunks.
Bathroom with over bath shower. Complimentary toiletries. Shower stool and bath seat provided.
Large basement games room, sleeps up to 3, with pool table, table tennis table and table football.
This has 3 windows opening to the rear, and incorporates its own bathroom.
Roomy bathroom with 4 piece suite and a sit down shower.
View from our upstairs lounge.
Drive easily parks two vehicles. At a push 3.
Paved, gated, and fully enclosed garden.
BBQ Patio and gazebo.
Bike storage.
Blossom in Spring.
Apple tree.
Lovely park not 5 minutes away.
Forfar Loch - a nature reserve and playground. Sailing, canoeing and a leisure centre.
A friendly town where you can explore this lovely area. We look forward to welcoming you xxxx
Our Local pub, antique shop, fish and chip shop and sweetie shop leading through to the town centre.
All ready and dressed for our Festive Guests. We can do other celebrations too.
The Balmashanner monument stands over Forfar, and can be seen, over rooftops from the Blue Room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Forfar, Angus, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Mark P
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Splendid!”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Glenisla in August for the AC/DC festival in nearby Kirriemuir.
A beautiful cottage in the lovely town of Forfar, run by a very warm and charming Scottish lady (Anne) who I am now happy to call my friend :-). She catered for our every need and truly made our stay that little bit extra special.
As for the cottage itself - Very spacious, spotlessly clean, fully stocked with all the essentials with the odd treat thrown in (local cheese and bacon, traditional oatmeal cakes and home made patties!).
A perfect base situated at the gateway to the magnificent Scottish Highlands - Glenisla gets a genuine 10 out of 10 from me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about my stay was just great!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was lovely having you all to stay, and we are glad you enjoyed Bonfest. We would be delighted to see you all next year.. Maybe for a little longer perhaps so you can see all the other things there are to do in Angus. Haste ye back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette19...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth a look”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Myself and 2 friends stayed there during Bonfest in August. Anne was lovely, very helpful and the house was clean and tidy. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again for next year's Bonfest!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2014
Thank you! It is great to welcome guests to Bonfest! You were charming and considerate guests... And we would be glad to welcome you back .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda B
Dunbar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous time had at Glenisla which is centrally located and very spacious.”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed at Glenisla for two nights in September 2014. There were 3 couples and our son who is thirteen. We had great weekend break and the house felt like home from home. The welcome we received from Anne the owner was excellent and she supplied us with lots of local knowledge which was very useful.

We would highly recommend Glenisla for a break away and we will be back!!!

The welcome pack provided came in very handy and was a lovely extra.

Thank you Anne for a memorable stay.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2014
Dear Linda...thank you so much for your lovely comments. Our wee team does try its best x We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATH2A
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A little gem in the middle of Forfar”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This little cottage has loads of character and charm and is packed full of history. It's like the Tardis !!! .Lovely high ceilings and original features a plenty..Spotlessly clean and everything you need .Opposite the front door is a lovely little garden where we were able to enjoy coffee in the morning. Whilst being in centre of Forfar and close to shops, we still enjoyed peace and quiet..

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2014
It was a pleasure to have you both stay, and your comments are much appreciated.. we would be delighted to see you all again, and it was lovely also, to be able to share a few moments in the garden with you.. I hope your photos turned out successfully.. Kind regards Anne x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dippoldiswalde, Germany
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the piano and the
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2014
Thank you so much! Our wee team do work hard. It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and we would love to have you back. The cellar is well on the way to completion for Easter. We are looking forward to setting up the table tennis and pool tables. Kind regards Anne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 21, 2014
It was a privilege to have you both stay x the Angus coastal route is particularly pretty and next time you should visit Lunan Bay,when it is a bit warmer. So pleased you enjoyed our welcome pack.. We do strive to be that wee bit better xx looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing