We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Yet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinnettles Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kinnettles Castle
Ranked #2 of 14 Forfar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Kinnettles Castle, lovely welcome from Morag on our arrival, shown to our room with information on meal times etc. We had a very large room, comfortable bed, also couches and a lovely chair set into both turrets. We would have been delighted with this but we also had a Tv room again tastefully furnished. The bathroom was warm and beautifully decorated, had two large shower cubicles, twin sinks and very nice toiletries. The only thing for me was the room was not as warm as I am used to, but it was a very cold night. Dinner was delicious, breakfast was amazing, lovely staff, all added to the lovely memories we will have of our stay there.

Room Tip: We did state at time of booking we did not want to share facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    30
    13
    8
    8
See reviews for
27
105
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I went with friends to stay. The hotel is so beautiful with attention to detail at very turn. Staff are so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The decor, food, rooms all fantastic. We love the games room where you can play snooker on a full size table or try your hand on the roulette table or play a board game from a good selection offered. This is the second time my partner and I have stayed and I can't wait to go back again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

From the moment we walked into this hotel, we knew it was of a very high standard. The decor , the carpets, the finish , the upkeep of such an old property, very very clean and well cared for indeed. The grounds were very well looked after as well, considering the wild weather we have had !!! By mistake I ended up in the kitchen, but couldnt help noticing how well exquiped this was as well, very well run.
The Castle Experience Dinner was just great, meeting up for drinks and canapes before hand, and having coffee and chocs. after in beautiful sitting room, huge log fire. We cruise a lot and always have a table for two, so wondered how we would like eating with another 8 guests ......it was very good fun, we may just have been lucky with the company, but really enjoyed the evening, the food was of a very high standard and the service was excellent, same with breakfast. The best of all are the staff, so nice and helpful, nothing too much trouble, they seem very happy working here. This has got to be one of the best Castles in Scotland, we will be back. Thank you all very much.( and the whole Castle was SO Cozy)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzie142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberlour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

we received a two night stay at Kinnettles as a gift.
what a wonderful place to stay. 5* all the way. Accomodation, food and service was fantastic and the staff were warm and friendly. Nothing was to much bother.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

Visited the Castle last Sunday 26th Jan through a travelzoo deal. Have noticed that no matter where one goes, reviews do reflect another persons experience at that time and thank god..we are all diff! :) First impressions..WOW! loved this castle from its look outside and the decor and style lavished on the inside! Were met by the friendly lovely staff M, J & M and as room not yet ready, we wondered around the castle and in the marquee, was a bridal open day, which was great fun chatting to the people there. Room 7 was well appointed but you did have to share a separate bathroom! [other room was unoccupied!] Large flat screen TV with free wifi. We had to be in the main bar lounge for 1900hrs for sparkly and nibbles and meet the other guests pre the dining experience! 12 staying that night and everyone mixed well and the dining room accommodated us all at a huge long table for our 4 course meal. breakfast similar seating. Overall, we both enjoyed our time there and staff made stay enjoyable too and brilliant log fire in the main bar lounge. Would have liked draught beer rather than bottle though!

Room Tip: Confirm that the room you book has an ensuite if not happy putting on suppled white robes to go to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We arrived at Kinnettles Castle on 3rd January 2014 for my daughters wedding the following day. On arrival we were greeted and welcomed by Jackie the manager . Throughout the weekend we met other staff members who were equally as welcoming. The venue was amazing, grounds wonderful and well maintained. Inside has to be seen to be appreciated. Although situated with views and scenery, the hospitality and dedication from the staff make this the dream castle to spend time. History lessons also part of the service. Relaxing bar and lounge area. Downstairs , games rooms suitable for everyone. The marque , perfect for any larger celebration . A faultless day in absolutely every way, was had by everyone on such a special occasion. Thank you to everyone at Kinnettles Castle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDBrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were invited for Sunday lunch by friends, the surroundings are excellent, the food was very good, maybe the roast beef was a little on the thick side for the ladies (1" thick).
The big problem was lack of staff, only two people on duty to take orders, man the bar, serve the courses for 24 people! which meant there was no wine waiter! the host had to serve the wine which is not expected.
Having had a presentation on Kinnettles at a local club meeting, how good it was and how they pride themselves on customer service, they need to read and put into practice their own blurb.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forfarian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
11.1 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
5.2 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
17.3 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brechin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
7.4 mi away
Forbes of Kingennie
Forbes of Kingennie
#7 of 31 in Dundee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinnettles Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnettles Castle

Property: Kinnettles Castle
Address: Forfar DD8 1TR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kinnettles Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinnettles Castle is a truly magnificent boutique castle hotel offering 3 luxury bedroom suites. This stunning boutique castle hotel is set in the heart of the Angus countryside. Located just 25 minutes from Dundee airport, and not too far from Edinburgh and Aberdeen airports, Kinnettles Castle offers luxury accommodation, beautiful grounds and plenty of entertainment opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Kinnettles Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinnettles Castle Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing