We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zoar Guest House and Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zoar Guest House and Inn
Ranked #15 of 16 Forfar B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

First of all, we felt less than welcome by the hosts. Maybe we caught her/them on a bad day, but if it hadn't been so late in the day, we would have left.

The room was clean, the bathroom was adequate. But both had such strong Air Wick scents, I asked them to be removed. I could hardly breathe! Thankfully the window opened. Made me wonder what smell was being covered up.

It's on a busy street, but we found parking with no trouble. The room was quiet.

All I had for breakfast was toast so I can't comment on that, really, except to say that it was just white bread and not real butter. My husband had eggs and they were fine. The host was more conversant at breakfast, which warmed things up a bit.

The location was great. It's a short walk into town with nice shops and good restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StDenisGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

I was sorry to read of your problems at the Zoar Guesthouse,I do remember your late arrival and at that time the bar was very busy and we may have seemed a little stressed this is no excuse for you feeling that we dont care,so we have taken note .Im sorry that you felt the room had a strange odour but we are not hiding anything the choice of air freshner was obviously not to your liking,as for breakfast we only use lurpack and it is in small sealed containers so if its not real i dont know what is and as for the white toast you only asked for toast not brown toast as if you had you would have been given it.Once again im sorry you were unhappy but we do try hard to please all and obviously we failed this time we do apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 19 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a lovely guest house with clean, fresh, modern rooms and comfy beds. Next door to the pub but no nosie and the pub is really nice. Great hosts and awesome breakfast.
Couldn't fault the place. Best accommodation in Forfar!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased you were happy.

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for one night, the room was small and smelt quite damp. the tea and coffee had been there for a while. You get what you pay for I suppose, we would probably stay at one of the numerous farmhouse bed and breakfast next time we're up there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

I am sorry hat you feel that your stay at the Zoar was not of the quality that you expected and if you felt the room was to small you should have brought this to our attention and going by your ratings you have our cleanliness marked down i find this extraordinary as we are known as one of the cleanest places in forfar and it is commented on regularly as for Tea/Coffee this is fresh daily if required but always weekly,and as far as I know our ensuites are 2nd to none.Again i am sorry that you were not happy with your stay but i do wsh you had drawn these items to my attention whilst you were here so mas we could have looked at it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here recently with the family whilst attending a family wedding in the 'toon'.
Comfortable rooms,good location and great breakfast.
Highly recommended.
Don't be put off by the fact you are next to a pub-see it as a distinct advantage as the Zoar is a friendly easy going pub-and you are very unlikely to be bothered by noise etc.Can't see it somehow! .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faeforfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your comments they are much appreciated.

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The room was very modern, very clean, comfortable with all the usual stuff, tea/coffee making etc.
Parking was easy and the hosts could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was huge, freshly cooked and delicious. Can't wait to stay there again !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarelyathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks these make the long hours worthwhile.

Ben & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I am staying here on business and stay mon-fri. Nothing is too much trouble for Val and Ben propriorters. The accommodation is true 5 star and comfortable. now a little about Ben, what a chef food is absolutely fantastic, i am informed he is an ex military chef" wow". The locals make you feel extremely welcome and encourage you to participate on nightly themed activities i.e. kareoke, poker school (controled and managed)

Room Tip: My room had two singles with an exceptionally presented ensuite. All rooms are on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R33MUF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

We thank you for your comments and your long term custom maybe we will see you in the future if your work brings you this way again.

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Zoar Guest House and Inn is located in a little town of Forfar and it was one of the only places around that we could find good reviews on that was close to the Glamis Castle. The town of Forfar is very lovely. Make sure you try the famous Forfar Bridie - it's a half-moon shaped pastry filled with different fillings - usually ground beef and onions. It's delicious and it's been a Forfar tradition since the mid 19th century.
Zoar Guest House was a gem. We paid about 80 pounds for 2 single beds room, and as you can see by the photos, it was very good value. The beds were super comfortable, the bedding was soft, and it was hard to get out of bed in the morning :) We also had a TV in the room with a selection of DVDs to choose from. The bathroom was very nice and clean as well. One thing to note about the shower in the bathroom is that the water is shut on and off by pulling the little string close to the door that hangs from the ceiling. I made a mistake and pulled on this once when I got into the bathroom thinking that maybe it was a light switch, and then when nothing happened I didn't really think about it after until there was no way to turn on the water later in the shower (and only the shower).
The guest house is connected to the Zoar Inn and Bar, where the breakfast is served in the morning (included in the price of the room). You are served full English breakfast that is cooked fresh (eggs, toast, sausage, haggis, bacon, oatmeal, potatoes, croissants, coffee, etc). We usually didn't need to eat lunch after such big breakfasts.
You can also have a dinner in the bar, since the hotel is not very close to downtown Forfar, although we came by car, so this wasn't an issue. The Inn itself doesn't have parking but you may park on the street in front for no charge.
Overall, this is a very very nice inn and I would recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben2426, Owner at Zoar Guest House and Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

This is a lovely review and im sure very helpful for potential customers, it is nice for us as it makes our efforts feel appreciated.

Ben & Valerie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Forfar hotels
4.6 mi away
Drumshademuir Caravan & Camping Park
0.5 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#7 of 16 in Forfar
9 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 16 in Forfar
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Balmashanner Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 16 in Forfar
21 reviews
1 mi away
Rose Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoar Guest House and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoar Guest House and Inn

Address: 42 Brechin Road, Forfar DD8 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Zoar Guest House And Inn Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing