We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter skills course”

Glentrek Hike and Bike - Day Tours
Ranked #8 of 20 things to do in Forfar
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glentrek offers year round guided hiking and biking day trips in the beautiful Eastern Cairngorm mountains in the Scottish Highlands. Whether it's a climb up a spectacular Scottish 'munro' in winter or a guided walk in the lower slopes of the Angus Glens, we have a walking trip to suit everyone. Scotland is renowned for mountain biking and our easy guided biking days are enjoyed on scenic forest tracks in the southern Cairngorms National Park
Arbroath
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Winter skills course”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I did an advanced winter skills course with Glentrek at Glenshee. Very friendly and knowlegable staff and good instruction. I'm very happy and I would use the company again. I have also had a number of friends who have also used the company with good reviews.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winter Walking Day”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Really enjoyed the experience and Mike was really knowledgeable and ensured everyone got a lot out of the day. Would definitely recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Windy experience”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My winter walking experience with glentrek was a really worthwhile experience. Mike the instructor was very knowledgeable, friendly and ensured everyone got the most out of the day. All kit that was provided, was in good condition, and the venue leant itself well to learning and experiencing winter walking. The weather became quite extreme at times with the wind knocking one of our party off her feet. It's this experience that highlights the validity of going on days like these before venturing out on the hills during the winter. I would thoroughly recommend the company and their experience days to everyone. Excellent!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathkinness
2 reviews
“Expert instruction from a friendly professional instructor, on some of the finest Scottish hills, great day out.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A winter walking experience with glentrek was a very pleasant and worthwhile experience. Mike the instructor was very knowledgeable, friendly and ensured everyone got the most out of the day. All kit that was borrowed, was in good condition, and the venue leant itself well to learning and experiencing winter walking. I would thoroughly recommend the company and their experience days to everyone. Excellent!

Helpful?
Thank azwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

As my wife and I are in our early sixties, although reasonably fit, we were a bit apprehensive about being able to cope on the day of winter skills. We shouldn't have worried as Mike was very informative, extremely knowledgeable, and paced the day for the six of us in the group. Mike's enthusiasm relaxed everyone, and that allowed all to enjoy trying everything that was offered to us.Came away with a good basic knowledge that will make us more confident and comfortable that with the right equipment a day in the mountains in winter is not beyond our capabilities.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glentrek Hike and Bike - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Glentrek Hike and Bike - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing