We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Finavon Hotel

Finavon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finavon Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Forfar B&B and Inns
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude Owner”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a young guide dog in training, initially no problems with pleasant young waiting staff. Boss then turned up and rudely told us no dogs were not allowed, despite us explaining the situation. I felt his manner was unpleasant, and he made a condescending comment about dog owners in general. Food was decidedly average, wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RobertLockhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
20
Solo
0
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have stopped at this road-side, whitewashed, small hotel on several occasions, latest was on 31.8.13 to break a round trip journey from Aberdeen to Glasgow. Always used the coffee shop part and have never been disappointed. Today, had a very generously filled smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich, leek and tattie soup, daughter had ham, cheese and pickle panini - all delicious, quickly served, soup piping hot and brought to our comfy sofa by the pleasant staff. In the past have had freshly cooked bacon rolls, home baking etc. Coffee lovely, I always take it black, and many well-known coffee houses offer you bitter tasting stuff - not at Finavon.
Do pull into this little gem when needing a break you won't be disappointed and don't get it confused with the larger premises a few yards further away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosGlenmarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hubby has now had two meals in the restaurant of this hotel - both very good. one meal when the place was really busy the other when the place was very quiet. One for business the other meeting up with friends. Good choice on the menu and nice friendly atmosphere with attentive staff. Not sure what the rooms are like but would stay if needed to based on their customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family love this place and we have been many times before. I visited with my daugher as we were returning from the highland show in edinburgh on route to aberdeen. The location is perfect and it breaks the long journey. The staff are just lovely and very welcoming. The restaurant was very busy yet we got a nice corner table (and we had not booked). Food was fantastic as always. I had pork belly - lovely. My daugher had a venison burger and it had the best chips I have ever tasted!

Will, as always, be back when I am heading south.

Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Trollydolly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

The wife and I popped in past there on our way 2 Dundee, place was dead took the wee man out to the so called play park was mingin(dirty). Ordered 2 sirloins very average, usually u can't go wrong with a steak,16.50 which is quite cheap to be honest but very basic and disappointing.staff were pleasant, tables were greasy tho, overall opinion run down and average at best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed her overnight on business and I really can't fault it. Lovely room, staff friendly and welcoming - exactly what you want after a day at work. Breakfast service was quick. Happy to make whatever you would like and served with a smile. A great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SazJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I live local to here so its an easy option for me
Excellent choice of food from cafe and restaraunt is generally very good not quite five stars but better than average for the area
worth a try especially if your travelling on the a90

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hotelhalfmylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
11.4 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
3.9 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
10.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#9 of 14 in Forfar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 14 in Forfar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finavon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finavon Hotel

Property: Finavon Hotel
Address: On A90, Forfar DD8 3QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Finavon Hotel Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing