We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northern Glory”
Review of Finavon Hotel

Finavon Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forfar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finavon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Forfar B&B and Inns
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Northern Glory”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I frequently stay at the Finavon and the quality never varies. The quantity and quality of the breakfast is unparalleled and the evening menu a delight - if pondering what to eat cannot go wrong the splendid steak pie.
The staff are friendly and helpful, and Dave has a dry, lugubrious sense of humour.
I suppose it would not be top of your list if looking for exciting night life, but I guess there is always the lure of Forfar if you want to hit the town. Personally, once inside I am happy to stay there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estragon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
20
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Have eaten here several times. Menu caters for everyone with huge choice of food. Everything from the traditional steak pie to fajita's. Served quickly by very attentive but unobtrusive waiting staff. Portions are large and couldn't manage a pudding unfortunately! I have never been disappointed with the food here. It is consistantly good. Staff are very pleasant and friendly.Prices are very reasonable. Despite being busy it is not at all noisy. Would recommend this hotel as a place to have a lovely home cooked meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaydee841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Had a lovely night at the Finavon Hotel, which we used as a stopover, clean and spacious room, very friendly pleasant and helpful staff. Room was at the rear of the building so we had no traffic noise.
Evening meal was delicious home cooked fare and a huge breakfast set us up fror the day and didn,t have long to wait for either, would highly recomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilaAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I have stopped at this place many times over the years and everytime we go are not disapointed.

Food is what I would call homemade, wholesome quality produce. (highly recomend the bacon rolls). The bar /restaurant is always busy with diners and the staff are extremely welcoming and polite. Can't understand previous review, one of the best things about this place is their staff!

I have stayed overnight once in the hotel and it was very pleasant. Rooms are clean, tidy and what you would expect for the price you pay. If you get a room at the back of the building you will not hear the road noise.

If you like big corporate chain hotels with no personality then Finavon hotel is probably not for you. If you like character, charm, consistantly good food and very friendly staff then you will certainly like this charming little hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdeendaytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I drive up and down the A90, so this place is a godsend. Very good coffee and a good selection of cakes and pastries. i always seem to arrive when the scones are fresh so can recommend them! Good food other than coffee and cakes too - soup, sandwiches, bagels and suchlike. Always pleasant staff in the coffee shop and it's kept clean.
I have eaten in the bar but that was fairly standard bar food.
The only grip I have is that the coffee shop closes at 6pm. After that, going into the bar is the only option and they either can't or wont do a decent coffee after 6...
Overall, very good if only for the coffee shop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davethegeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently. It was hugely disappointing to say the least and was only made worse by the attitude of what appeared to be the manageress. We pointed out our concerns and her answer was more or less to say that if we were not happy, we did not have to stay. What about a good Scottish welcome? I am surprised by the positive feedback on the tripadvisor reviews. The accommodation requires a lot of repair work to be carried out and refurbishment. We had no complaints with the quality of the breakfast though the same lady served us and again with an unfriendly manner. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay at the front of the hotel with bedroom facing the main road as it is very noisy with hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marilynmacdonald3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stopped off for coffee and cakes while travelling North. Welcoming, friendly staff serving great cakes and coffees. Meals were available all day, good car parking, clean toilets. What more can you want.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forfar
11.4 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
3.9 mi away
Airlie Arms Hotel
Airlie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kirriemuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
10.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Lodge at Lochside
Lodge at Lochside
#1 of 6 in Kirriemuir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
Chris Horsburgh's B&B
#10 of 14 in Forfar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kinnettles Castle
Kinnettles Castle
#2 of 14 in Forfar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finavon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finavon Hotel

Property: Finavon Hotel
Address: On A90, Forfar DD8 3QH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Forfar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Forfar
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Finavon Hotel Forfar, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing