We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent very nice place.”

Peggy Scotts Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 54 Restaurants in Forfar
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: This restaurant / cafe is on the A90 Nr.Forfar Scotland. It has been refurbished to a high standard, and a godsend if trawling the A90, which has miles and miles of nowhere as convenient as Peggy Scotts
Troon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent very nice place.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here on a break from motorway driving. Fantastic food and very reasonably priced. I have to reccomend the giant truffles. Absolutely fantastic! If I'm passing by again, we will definitely be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zac-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    80
    47
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Ideal pit-stop”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stopped here for a quick lunch en route to visiting our niece's new baby in Aberdeen. The restaurant was busy with customers of all ages. The staff were very friendly, a varied menu and the tables spotless. The lentil soup was excellent as were the coffees. Toilets tidy and clean. Perfect for what it is and would recommend it highly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank granPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Eat before you get near here.”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This place is going rapidly downhill on quality and up in price - £8.75 for a Chilli baked Potato is one example - slow service is another trait which had developed - they need a good jolt to see improvements.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmack4646Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Never go to this restaurant! The prices in this place were an absolute joke for the quality and quantity of food you receive. Everything tasted frozen and looked it too, i'm sure most people would not be able to afford to eat there, I had a problem with swapping something and asked too speak to the owner, she was rather rude and dismissive and was extremely nasty too me and my family and I noticed too other people as well. The only saving grace was the waitresses, this was a saturday afternoon and the three young waitresses were some of the politest young ladies I have ever had the opportunity too speak too. They went out of there way to help myself and other customers. They also kept the restaurant very clean! 5 stars to them! This place could do with a new owner!! I have realised that it is up for sale, it's about time!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel-Jam8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An oasis in a storm!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Recommended by a friend, this was a pleasant surprise on a tedious journey in lousy weather. A friendly welcome awaited us. Food was good with a very varied menu, which catered to all tastes. We sampled the stovies! The restaurant was clean and tidy, and staff directed you to cutlery etc. The shop was also stocked well with gifts, food items, newspaers etc. If you are passing by "drop in" and be amazed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weemac52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peggy Scotts Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Peggy Scotts Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing