We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Forfar
Post
Inbox
Search

“Great Brunch”

Cashleys Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Forfar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $26
Description: Cashleys At The Cross, set in the absolute centre of Forfar, offers delicious dining from the best Angus produce, cooked with skill and flair to produce exciting menus. Open to club members and to the public, from breakfast through until evening meal, our menus cater for all tastes and dishes range from crowd pleasing family favourites in our bar, to refined modern Scottish cuisine with a twist in our Restaurant. So sit back and enjoy delicious local cuisine whilst soaking atmosphere and people-watching from our window seats.
Restaurant details
Description: Cashleys At The Cross, set in the absolute centre of Forfar, offers delicious dining from the best Angus produce, cooked with skill and flair to produce exciting menus. Open to club members and to the public, from breakfast through until evening meal, our menus cater for all tastes and dishes range from crowd pleasing family favourites in our bar, to refined modern Scottish cuisine with a twist in our Restaurant. So sit back and enjoy delicious local cuisine whilst soaking atmosphere and people-watching from our window seats.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Delicious food, great friendly service and good value for the excellent quality. Looking forward to trying the evening menu too!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank lyndac891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedWell, Owner at Cashleys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Lynda. The new evening menu starts this week and I'm sure you'll love it as it has a number of new and exciting dishes on it. Hopefully we will see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went midweek for a birthday celebration, we decided on the tartan tapas menu. The tapas is served over 7 delicious courses, we were asked our likes and dislikes, and each course was explained to us in detail. The first course we tried was triple cooked chips, with 3 types of jams; bacon, chilli, and beetroot. You really have to taste the bacon jam, it’s just amazing. We then had haggis spring rolls, the pastry on the spring rolls was one of the best I’ve ever tasted, I could’ve eaten them all night. Next came Angus ribeye, cooked to our exact liking with parsnip and blackberry, all the different flavours made this dish taste brilliant. Next we had a venison bridie with beetroot ketchup, my other half just loved it. Cod loin and creamed leeks came next, cooked and seasoned to perfection and the perfect amount for a tapas menu. Next we had pork fillet, with harissa spice on a bed of chick pea and chorizo, again cooked really well and just the right amount for a taster. Finally we had sea bass pico de gallo, I can honestly say this piece of fish was the best tasting sea bass I’ve had in a very long time. We were offered sorbet pallet cleanser between courses which is a nice touch. The staff are pleasant and attentive, and the restaurant is clean and it’s great that it’s open plan as you can watch the chef create your dishes. We had wine for our meal, and some lovely decaf coffee with the birthday cake we brought ourselves and they kindly put candles on for us and sang happy birthday to the birthday boy. The staff let us see the other menus they also offer and we can’t wait to try them all out. I highly recommend you try this restaurant, we didn’t take any pictures as the food wasn’t on the plates long enough, though we did get a “selfie” with the extremely talented chef. We can’t wait to go back.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank JenIgma29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedWell, Owner at Cashleys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That's great to hear Jenlgma29. We are extremely proud of our chefs and the Tartan Tapas really lets them show-off their skills and passion. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cashley's very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Lovely food. Nice, refreshing and healthy menu options compared to other very limited Forfar offerings!
Think wine choices a bit pricey tho ... would be more inclined to return if more reasonable house wine on offer by the glass, especially for lunchtime as makes it expensive .... for a quite casual lunch!!
Nice relaxed feel, though. Liked the healthy menu and received great service.
Think they need to get the aircon sorted tho as my family all had stinging, watery eyes due to open kitchen and poor ventilation!!
Dont let that put you off .... still well worth a visit!!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank lindalennon16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedWell, Owner at Cashleys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the feedback lindalennon16 and we are of course delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much. We have had a recent problem with the ventilation which the engineers are trying to get to the bottom of and so should hopefully be back to full working order soon. I am also going to look at the wine pricing for lunches with our front of house manager and see what flexibility there is there. We hope to see you again soon. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

Very friendly staff, warm welcome on arrival and very attentive throughout the meal. Good menu: food prepared from scratch, carefully presented, delicious. The squid starter was tender and well spiced. The ribeye steak was tasty with a stunning wild mushroom sauce. The seabass was beautifully fresh and delicately cooked. Puddings were great all round, fantastic: epic chocolate delice and sticky toffee pudding, huge cheese boards with wonderful cheeses (and served at the proper temperature, soft ripe brie not fridge-cold!)

This is an ambitious restaurant striving for a really high quality experience. There are a few slightly unpolished edges (young staff perhaps learning their craft a little, food can take a while to be served, decor and lighting could be a little warmer) but these are minor gripes.

Good value, delicious and ambitious food in an unhurried setting. This place deserves to do well.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Tim_Vandraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedWell, Owner at Cashleys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a considered and thoughtful review. We are of course delighted that you enjoyed your visit and recognised that as a brand new restaurant we are still finding our feet in places, but working really hard to make every dining experience a memorable one for all the right reasons. We hope to see you again soon. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019

Visited here today for lunch. Waited a while for our order but did not mind this whatsoever as food freshly made. I ordered vegetarian Cashleys Stack. Once it arrived I started to eat upon realising it was sprinkled with black pudding pieces! Worst food ever for a vegetarian. Upon complaining they did offer to make a fresh order but we didn't have time.
Customer service from waiting staff was excellent and my partner's curried chicken sandwich was enjoyed.
I would return but just hope that the chef team understand what a vegetarian actually eats! It didn't seem to be a one off mistake since the table sitting next to us overheard and said the same had happened to them in the past.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank rossstirling81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FedWell, Owner at Cashleys Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ah that's a real pity rossstirling81. The fault I think lies with our menu wording which I am correcting today! Each of the dishes listed CAN BE MADE VEGETARIAN if asked, but I appreciate that this is not very clear by the wording and people may read that these are always vegetarian dishes. The reprint of the menus should resolve this issue and of course we are glad that everything else was to your liking. Kindest regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cashleys Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cashleys Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing