We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Value”

The Gable Restaurant - Aboukir Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Restaurants in Carnoustie
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Aboukir Restaurant also known as "The Gable Restaurant", is just a 5 minute walk from the Carnoustie High Street and it seats 45 people comfortably. Our larger tables can accommodate groups of up to 25 people.Our range of fine wines are sourced from Matthew Clark, who are suppliers of fine wines from around the world. Our cuts of beef are prepared on the premises ensuring that the best cuts are always served to you the customer. The cuts will be cooked to your liking and served with our classic steak garnish.While we have set menus we also have a selection of vegetarian dishes and a kids menu available along with our tasty daily specials which you will find on our boards or just ask a member of staff.Our friendly staff are always at hand to answer any questions you have about our food and services so please feel free to contact us at any time.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this hotel at the far end of Carnoustie on the last day of our short break. If we had found it earlier we would have returned. Food was perfect and really reasonable. Fantastic - a must if you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Macb2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    16
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Supposed to be good - and it was”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Aboukir Hotel in May on our way back from the Highlands to continental Europe and consequently had dinner at “The Gable”.

It is supposed to be one of the better restaurants of Carnoustie and it sure was busy that night. Still, there was nothing to complain.

Being vegetarians, we found enough options on the menu, the food was good and tasty and the service was attentive, despite the busy place. Good value for the money.

It was a bit noisy, but with a full house, including the pub area, that is not really a surprise.

We would eat there again without hesitation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Food was good, prices reasonable. The waitress was less than enthusiastic. We will return as it's the best local restaurant we have found. Childrens menu wasn't just your usual chicken dippers or pizza. It was proper food which makes a nice change.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, Berks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last orders at 7.45pm!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Four of us were staying in Carnoustie and booked to eat here at 7pm. The boys were late in from the golf so we phoned to ask if we could slip the booking to 7.15pm. We were told that wasn't possible as there was a party of 12 expected then. We then asked if we could book for 7.45pm instead and were told no because last orders were 7.45pm. We cancelled the booking and ate in our hotel instead.

Last orders at 7.45pm in a golf resort in May? These people don't deserve to do ANY business at all. Shoddy and lazy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank corajose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good food, very clean premises and friendly staff. Would not hesitate to go back or recommend to friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottishdancer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gable Restaurant - Aboukir Hotel also viewed

 
Carnoustie, Angus
Carnoustie, Angus
 

Been to The Gable Restaurant - Aboukir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing