We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed February 8, 2009

Stayed for 2nights at this hotel after receiving an excellent deal for B&B.

Checking in at reception was pleasent. We asked for a room with a golf view we were firstly told none were available but the kind lady moved someone else who had not checked in yet.

All staff we met during our stay were very kind and pleasantly mannered and for a 4 star hotel this is what you'd expect.

Nice and quiet when we stayed which was great no noisy guests to disrupt our stay.

No complaints lovely hotel

  • Liked — Pleasant and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Quiet village not much to do out of golf season
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wkd08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    477
    242
    121
    57
See reviews for
212
562
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed on Saturday 27th and Sunday 28th December. Saturday was excellent and just what we had expected but Sunday night in the restaurant was very poor. The menu had 4 choices of main course, 2 fish dishes, a mushroom risotto, and Pork Belly. Two of these dishes were obviously leftover from the previous night, as were half of the starters and desserts available from the menu. Having decided what to order we waited nearly 1 hour for our starters to be served and when our main courses came they omitted to serve us with any vegetables or potatoes. At no point during the meal did anybody come to ask if everything was OK and we were offered very little in the way of an apology when we did complain, when our plates were cleared.
Breakfast on Monday morning was also a big let down. We waited nearly 10 minutes to be offered a seat and when we were, we discovered that we then had to wait for the table to be reset. We then had to chase the waiter for milk and sugar for our coffee and then we realised there was no butter for our toast. We intended to bring this to the Managers attention when checking out, but at no time during check out was i asked if we had enjoyed our stay so i didn't bother mentioning it. These incidents spoiled what may have been a good weekend in a lovely hotel.
I sent an e mail to Oxford Hotels re the above and they passed it to the Hotel Manager who, 3 weeks later, has not had the courtesy to respond to our comments/complaints.
Very disappointing!

  • Liked — Location and room
  • Disliked — Menu and restuarant service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berril2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2009
The hotel has been in contact with this guest whom has confirmed he is looking to return at some future point where the hotel will demonstrate its more usual professional service and standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carnoustie hotels

Fife
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My daughter had booked this one night spa break for us as my Christmas present. We have a thoroughly marvellous time at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel. The twin bedded room was spacious with great views over the golf course. The swiming pool was a good size as hotel pools go, and really warm. We opted for the hot stone massage which was very relaxing. The spa surroundings were tastefully decorated, and the staff very attentive. Our dinner in the evening was again lovely, despite the limited choice on the menu. I suppopse many diners would consider the portions meagre, but they were sufficient for us. I would thoroughly recommend the spa breaks on offer at the hotel, they are excellent value for money. In fact 2 friends have already made bookings.

  • Liked — swimming pool and apa facilites
  • Disliked — Bathroom cabinet bit shabby
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardtoplease52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Calder
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Booked a good deal on the Hotel Website for a weekend - £40 per night per room bed and breakfast - great value.
Hotel all non-smoking which made a joke out of booking a smoking room? The restaurant was good value at £20 per head for a first class 3 course meal served by friendly staff.
Leisure facilities in the swimming pool, spa and steam room were very good and the Leisure Club manager was very helpful. Had to ask for robes but were supplied no problem, pity they did not have slippers?
5 star drink prices in the lounge which was comfortable but I would have expected more for my £8.00 than a pint of lager and a glass of red wine.
Overall an enjoyable and relaxing experience in a good sized bedroom with adequate facilities!
Would have been the 'find of the year' had they had they gone that bit extra to earn the 4 star rating.
Definitely a visit that would be repeated as a deal but not full price!

  • Liked — leaisure facilities and restaurant
  • Disliked — non smoking
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MidCalderLadygolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We have just returned from spending Christmas at this hotel.
The dining room was very busy on Christmas Eve and we had a table right in the path of the waiters and waitresses. On complaining we were assured that we would be given a better table on Christmas Day and that it would not be as busy, as the guests were split between the Function Suite and Dining Room. True to his word, the Head Waiter gave us an much better table overlooking the Golf Course. The whole meal on Christmas Day was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Unfortunately we can't say the same for the rest of our stay. As it was advertised as a Gala meal on Boxing Day, we expected something special. This was not to be. We ended up having the reheated leftovers from Christmas Day and not what was on the menu at all as they had run out!!.
We appreciate that there had been unexpected problems in the kitchen but it was not really acceptable to serve reheated food
from the day before.
If the problems concerning the food can be rectified then this could be a very good hotel. It has a fantastic position next to the sea and golf courses. The staff were doing their best under difficult circumstances and the quality and size of the suite we had, was first class.

  • Liked — our suite
  • Disliked — food on Boxing Day
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehonesttraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2009
We are disappointed & apologise that the meal served, on the one night of three, was not to our more usually high standards & appreciate the positive comments raised on the other aspects of the stay highlighted.
Our recently appointed new Head Chef, 12/01/09, has and will continue to monitor and improve inconsistency issues in the future and going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
259 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at the Carnoustie for a couple of nights between Xmas & New Year and found it excellent. We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package, and the food quality was excellent. The staff were really pleasant and friendly. Rooms are reasonably sized, and have everthing, although try and get a room overlooking the sea or the golf course - ours overlooked the car park (although the staff did move us to a room with a nicer view, with no problem at all).

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good food.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We have just returned from a Christmas break at Carnoustie - never again.
Having stayed at this Hotel before on numerous occassions and recommending it to Friends, this time has left a very bitter taste and would certainly not come back. It has been a great disappointment and totally spoilt our Christmas. The food was awful, you could not even describe it as 'Pub Grub'. Entertainement which was advertised did not happen.
We did raise our comcerns with the 'Duty Manager' who seemed very indifferent to our comments, even though we did say that on previous occassions the Hotel and Food were 1st Class.
We feel that unless things change the Hotel will loose it's 'Top Class' reputation

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank ChristmasEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2009
The hotel apologises that you did not find our service to its more usual high standards which you state you have experienced on a number of prior visits.
We will review your own comments in addition to those positive ones received from other guests over the period and endeavour to improve in those areas you have highlighted.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
127 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
5.4 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
21.5 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing