We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite 4 Star But Good 3 1/2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Mid Calder
1 review
“Not Quite 4 Star But Good 3 1/2”
Reviewed January 11, 2009

Booked a good deal on the Hotel Website for a weekend - £40 per night per room bed and breakfast - great value.
Hotel all non-smoking which made a joke out of booking a smoking room? The restaurant was good value at £20 per head for a first class 3 course meal served by friendly staff.
Leisure facilities in the swimming pool, spa and steam room were very good and the Leisure Club manager was very helpful. Had to ask for robes but were supplied no problem, pity they did not have slippers?
5 star drink prices in the lounge which was comfortable but I would have expected more for my £8.00 than a pint of lager and a glass of red wine.
Overall an enjoyable and relaxing experience in a good sized bedroom with adequate facilities!
Would have been the 'find of the year' had they had they gone that bit extra to earn the 4 star rating.
Definitely a visit that would be repeated as a deal but not full price!

  • Liked — leaisure facilities and restaurant
  • Disliked — non smoking
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MidCalderLadygolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    476
    241
    121
    56
See reviews for
212
560
29
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We have just returned from spending Christmas at this hotel.
The dining room was very busy on Christmas Eve and we had a table right in the path of the waiters and waitresses. On complaining we were assured that we would be given a better table on Christmas Day and that it would not be as busy, as the guests were split between the Function Suite and Dining Room. True to his word, the Head Waiter gave us an much better table overlooking the Golf Course. The whole meal on Christmas Day was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
Unfortunately we can't say the same for the rest of our stay. As it was advertised as a Gala meal on Boxing Day, we expected something special. This was not to be. We ended up having the reheated leftovers from Christmas Day and not what was on the menu at all as they had run out!!.
We appreciate that there had been unexpected problems in the kitchen but it was not really acceptable to serve reheated food
from the day before.
If the problems concerning the food can be rectified then this could be a very good hotel. It has a fantastic position next to the sea and golf courses. The staff were doing their best under difficult circumstances and the quality and size of the suite we had, was first class.

  • Liked — our suite
  • Disliked — food on Boxing Day
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehonesttraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2009
We are disappointed & apologise that the meal served, on the one night of three, was not to our more usually high standards & appreciate the positive comments raised on the other aspects of the stay highlighted.
Our recently appointed new Head Chef, 12/01/09, has and will continue to monitor and improve inconsistency issues in the future and going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carnoustie hotels

Cumbria
Level Contributor
259 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We stayed at the Carnoustie for a couple of nights between Xmas & New Year and found it excellent. We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package, and the food quality was excellent. The staff were really pleasant and friendly. Rooms are reasonably sized, and have everthing, although try and get a room overlooking the sea or the golf course - ours overlooked the car park (although the staff did move us to a room with a nicer view, with no problem at all).

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good food.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We have just returned from a Christmas break at Carnoustie - never again.
Having stayed at this Hotel before on numerous occassions and recommending it to Friends, this time has left a very bitter taste and would certainly not come back. It has been a great disappointment and totally spoilt our Christmas. The food was awful, you could not even describe it as 'Pub Grub'. Entertainement which was advertised did not happen.
We did raise our comcerns with the 'Duty Manager' who seemed very indifferent to our comments, even though we did say that on previous occassions the Hotel and Food were 1st Class.
We feel that unless things change the Hotel will loose it's 'Top Class' reputation

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank ChristmasEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2009
The hotel apologises that you did not find our service to its more usual high standards which you state you have experienced on a number of prior visits.
We will review your own comments in addition to those positive ones received from other guests over the period and endeavour to improve in those areas you have highlighted.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

I am slightly surprised at some of the negative reviews this hotel gets, we booked the hotel on it's own website and got a great deal for bed and breakfast. Yes the breakfast is self service but what is wrong with that, you take what you want thus reducing food going to waste. The service we received at breakfast time was first class, waiting staff were there as soon as you arrived to provide tea or coffee and a tray of freshly made toast arrived soon after. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and they are a credit to the management. My only negative, and it is just a small one, is that it is about time the hotel invested in some new televisions. There must be some good deals out there at the moment with flat screens especially when buying the number required for a hotel and with integrated freeview on most flatscreens there would be a greater number of channels available, but don't allow this to put you off this hotel as it has a lot more to offer than that.

  • Liked — The overall standard
  • Disliked — The outdated televisions which was not in keeping with the rest of the hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank John181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We got a very good DBB deal with Superbreak, paid before arrival. A frustrating start to our long weekend break as the Receptionist seemed a bit glaikit and insisted on taking the pre-authorisation off the credit card for almost the full amount that we'd already paid, despite our protestations. Management next day was equally puzzled.

Hotel decor is an odd mix of boutique and gentlemen's club (e.g. faux antique furniture, big sofas). Ice machine on each floor, ice bucket in the room. Bedroom fairly spacious, good quality toiletries, towels changed daily, crisp bedlinen. But the bed was too soft or saggy for me - my husband is heavier than me and I kept rolling back down into the middle, didn't sleep well at all.

Spa was excellent , one of the best we've been to, and the only reason we'd come back. It was well supervised; was open long hours; gym had a good range of equipment; pool was the right temperature, steam room was very effective with peppermint oils included, jacuzzi almost too bubbly!

Dinner was very disappointing for a 4 star hotel because the menu was identical for all 3 nights. Some local provenance, which is commendable. But our main gripe was this - each main course comes with either potatoes or vegetable, not both. You have to pay over the odds for these as extra side dishes if you want them. My husband chose the roast pork belly - this is a very cheap cut of meat, but the portion was ludicrously small (2-3 inches square, and thin); a huge profit mark-up! And I fail to see why cheese and biscuits should carry a (hefty) supplement. And it's no good at all for vegetarians.

Breakfast was standard fare, help yourself, and very busy on Sunday - the dining room seemed too small; the queue had to snake round the room between the tables, and it can't have been pleasant eating with folk standing over you all the time.

The hotel does not accept dogs so ours slept in the car. The nearby beach and links are excellent for dog walks, with plenty of poo bins. The adjacent golf is good - there are 3 Carnoustie courses served by the same starter's office (the pricey Open Championship course, the Burnside and the inexpensive Budden), but they're nothing to do with the hotel despite its proximity; rates are halfed in winter. The Angus Glens to the north provide the nearest mountain scenery and hill walking opportunities with a good pub for lunch near the top of Glen Clova. Nearby Glamis is an interesting castle to visit, whether or not you're a fan of the Royal family.

  • Liked — spa facilities
  • Disliked — unjustified supplements at dinner, and the saggy bed.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank FMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

My wife and I have just returned from the Carnoustie Golf, we travelled with two friends and based on some previous reviews I was slightly worried about our choice of Hotel.
The worries were soon dispelled, check in was easy and friendly and our allocated room was excellent, looking on to the 1st tee and 18th green of the golf course. The room itself was very spacious and clean.
The package we were on allowed a complimentary bottle of wine in the room on arrival, no sign of the wine when we arrived, I spoke to reception and very shortly afterwards a chilled bottle of wine along with ice bucket and glasses arrived at our room, well done.
We ate from the set dinner menu and we found the food and service excellent and drinks in the bar reasonably priced.
Whilst breakfast was busy the staff were well organised, quickly clearing tables as they became vacant keeping delays to a minimum, the food was tasty and plentiful.
All in all we had a very enjoyable stay and would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to other travellers.

  • Liked — Good size
  • Disliked — Bathroom furniture perhaps needing updated
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Latchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
127 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,058 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
5.4 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing