We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scenic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked for one night originally but ended up staying two. Hotel is on the seafront and we were fortunate with the weather. We did not upgrade to a Links view room, ours over looked the car park and the beach. We enjoyed watching people tee off from the Restaurant in the morning. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice. We ate once in the Restaurant and once in the bar. Restaurant meal was very nice and we had no complaints. Food was slow arriving in the bar and a roll that was ordered when we received our meal didn't arrive until we had finished. Explanation was that orders are sequentially produced and so we had to wait even though we had our meal! As other guests have noted the Hotel is tired especially the wood. It looks like it could do with a varnish and there are water stains in places. This would not stop me from staying here again but these things should have been attended to before now. Our room was fine no complaints other than it needed a spruce up. We enjoyed the location and enjoyed visiting the surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flexiworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments.
Pleased that you enjoyed your stay and note each of your comments.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    465
    234
    120
    56
See reviews for
208
554
27
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is situated on the seafront next to the famous golf course. A lovely location for both golfers and non-golfers. This was our first stay at this hotel. We booked at short notice for an overnight stay. Nice modern hotel although the room we stayed in was beginning to look a little tired around the edges. We loved the leisure facilities although the steam room was not in operation. Breakfast was lovely and was cooked to order, which I prefer to the normal buffet arrangement. Overall, excellent value for money. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments which are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A four star hotel that may have fitted the title a few years ago but is now in serious need of a refresh. My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary, a short break, fairly close to home, so not too much travelling involved and we were dissappointed. On arrival we were advised that it was not possible to dine in the restaurant and taht the bar was all that was available. The room was tired with threadbare carpets and leaking windows. The bathroom had obviously suffered from water elakage and the mould growth was not acceptable in a hotel of this class.

The food was generally good but the service lacked considerably, soup came with a roll but no butter, even though teh waiter was going to be be 'back in a moment' with teh butter he never appeared and the roll would have served well as a golf ball it was so hard as to be inedible. The main course was good and worth remembering even if it was very slow in arriving. The desert course was again problematic. I asked what the scottish cheeses on the cheese board were and was advise one was blue, one was a goats cheese and one was brie, not what I had asked. It took three attempts to get the identity of teh cheeses which was teh question asked initially and yes, one of them was brie, a perfectly acceptable cheese but not a scottish cheese as advertised on the menu. This was teh pattern for teh weekend and as such i will return to carnoustie for the Station Hotel restaurant which was excellent and the coffee shop on the High street (Fazio's ?) which is also fantatsic. I have no intention of staying at the golf hotel again.

Room Tip: 'Ocean View' room look out to teh North Sea, pretty but the windows wouldn't stand up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beardyhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion and note each of your comments.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carnoustie hotels

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed at the Carnoustie Golf Hotel many times in the past, but this was our first visit since March 2012 (and since the hotel has become part of the "bespoke" chain). We came specifically for the Dunhill Links Championship and thoroughly enjoyed being so close to such a high profile event.

We had dinner in the hotel on both evenings and found the selection to be varied and imaginative, and very well presented. The staff in the bar & restaurant were all friendly and attentive and we never felt neglected despite the busyness of the restaurant.

The room we had was spacious and comfortable, with commanding views across the golf course - it was a wonderful bonus to be able to watch the golf from the comfort of our room!!

While we agree with a few of the comments from previous contributors about the overall "tired" appearance of some parts of the hotel, we understand that plans are being considered for upgrading, and we commend the management & staff for their forbearance.

Our thanks to Gordon MacKintosh (General Manager) for making our stay so enjoyable and we look forward to returning again sometime over the next few months.

Room Tip: Worth paying the upgrade for a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queenshill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, much appreciated and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

First time my family and I have stayed here. It was a 1 night stay before watching the Dunhill Links Golf the following day. Warm welcome from reception to begin. We booked a family room for 2ad 2ch it was huge! 2 king size beds and a comfy sitting area at the window with balcony looking into the practice putting green. Used the pool that night which was immaculate then had drinks in the lounge bar afterwards. Very friendly staff. Breakfast the following morning was amazing. Everything you need was hot and tasty and again a warm welcome when you entered the dining room. Even check out was pleasant. Very nice staff. Will definitely be back here with the family and highly recommended. Decor in the hotel was suited to the location and being on the first tee of the golf course. Great!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luckieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Carnoustie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Here for a family occasion not residential....I know it's a fancy hotel at a top Golf course but for the life of me I can't see why the prices are so high it's not that fancy...A nice enough entrance to the hotel but the bar is no different from other hotels...To charge £2.45 for a small bottle of Coke, £4.35 for a pint, I'm sorry absolutely no need, the meal was nice but again £10 for a plate of Chilli and Rice...no.... why do they do this, no plans to return.....shame.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidlaw09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Disappointed to read your comments, but believe our pricing structure is in line with our markets.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I could not agree more with mrralston. Ii have just returned from this apparent 4 star golf and spa hotel that I went to with my wife. On arrival we found that the spa bath was not operational and the pool was 21 degrees. Having only booked the break the evening before going I phoned my booking agents who knew nothing about any spa problems. The agent in return contacted the hotel to confirm what I had said and was offered an upgraded room. Having seen the upgraded room I would not like to have seen a standard room. The furnishings were appaling with torn seat marked walls and filthy skirting boards. we asked at reception regarding a residents lounge to be told there was not one and we had to use the Calders Bar. This place was shoddy at the best and certainly not fitting of a 4 star hotel. The seats were stained and ripped. The kick boards of the seats were badly damaged and one of the columns was obviously water damaged. I do have photographs of the aforementioned and will be sending them to the hotel owners, Scottish Tourist Board and also the Scottish PGA given that a prestigeous golf tournament is about to take place. This hotel is riding on the back of the golf course and does not put Scotland in a good light to foreign visitors. to be fair the evening meals was of a reasonable standard but poor ambience and to be charged for a coffee in our final bill was shocking given that my wife asked for a coffee in lieu of her sweet.I have already mentioned these poor standards to professional golfers who will in turn relay the message across the network. Like MrRalston I will not return to this establishment and perhaps OXFORD INNS should take cognisement of the poor reviews and act accordingly.

Room Tip: Just Don't Go
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonappetitFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review.
As communicated direct, I apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing